social marketing roi - yes, you can!

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Unraveling the Mystery of Social Marketing ROI Paul Gillin, author The New Influencers Secrets of Social Media Marketing Social Marketing to the Business Customer

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Anything that can be measured can be used to calculate ROI, and that includes social media. Many people say the ROI of social marketing can't be measured, but I beg to differ. Here are some guidelines for measuring the value of a visitor, a community and even a tweet!

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Page 1: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Unraveling the Mysteryof Social Marketing ROI

Paul Gillin, authorThe New InfluencersSecrets of Social Media MarketingSocial Marketing to the Business Customer

Page 2: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Is it

Return on Investment

or

Risk of Inaction?

Page 3: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

It’s Simple, Knucklehead

ROI = COST OF INVESTMENT

(GAIN FROM INVESTMENT - COST OF INVESTMENT)

Page 4: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

A. Revenue

Types Of Financial Impact

B. Costs Avoided

Anything that leads to A or B,But only if you can directly

equate its value to an action

Page 5: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Website Visitors

Click-throughs

Store visits

Press coverage

“Buzz”

Employment applications

Retweets

FaceBook friends

Blog comments

Video views

Twitter followers

Impressions

Friends

Coupons distributed

These are NOT ROI

But if you can quantify their financial impact, you have ROI!

Page 6: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Historical Metrics

Excellent CRM Tools and Practices

Clearly Understood and Applied Web Analytics

What You Need

Page 7: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Basic Business Metrics

Lifetime Value of a Customer = (Longevity * Revenue) * Margin 𝐂𝐨𝐧𝐯𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐑𝐚𝐭𝐞=

𝐍𝐞𝐰𝐂𝐮𝐬𝐭𝐨𝐦𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐕𝐢𝐬𝐢𝐭𝐬 /𝐋𝐞𝐚𝐝𝐬

Value of a Lead/Visitor = Visitor * Conversion Rate * Lifetime Value

Page 8: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Okay, Let’s Make it Real

Typical customer Moe spends $10,000/year with you

Moe is with you for five years

Your profit margin is 10%

Lifetime value of Moe is($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000

Page 9: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

CRM EssentialsMust be used by everyone who touches the customer

Must document online, offline and landline communications

Must span the engagement lifecycle

Must enable segmentation and grouping

Page 10: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Web Analytics

Must track individual visitors

Must document paths to desired destinations

Must identify referring sources

You must use them

Page 11: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Applying ROI: Value of a Visitor

Monthly Visitors 10,000Conversion Rate .5%Lifetime Value $5,000CalculationValue of a Visitor $25

Page 12: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Value of a Blog

Monthly Search Traffic 3,000Estimated Traffic w/Blog 4,000Value of a Visitor $25Monthly Value of a BlogMonthly Blog Expense $6,000ROI () 316%

Page 13: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Value of a Tweet You send 50 tweets a month… Generating 1,000 visitors to

your website… 2% of whom become leads… 5% of whom become

customers.

Therefore, the value of a tweet is:

(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100

Page 14: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Cumulative ROI: the Eye Chart

Year Item Annual Cumulative

1Forum Administrative costs $ 35,000 $ 35,000 Savings $ 70,000 $ 70,000 ROI 100% 100%

2Forum Administrative costs $ 17,500 $ 52,500 Savings $ 105,000 $ 175,000 ROI 500% 233%

3Forum Administrative costs $ 7,000 $ 59,500 Savings $ 140,000 $ 315,000 ROI 1900% 429%

You want to launch a customer support forum to reduce your costs of telephone supportEstimated admin costs: ½ FTE yr 1, ¼ FTE yr 2 1/10 FTE yr 3Estimated savings: 1 FTE yr 1, 1.5 FTE yr 2, 2 FTE yr 3

Page 15: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Lift Studies

Store visits

Headline Counts

Employment applications

Speaking Invitations

Net Promoter Score Coupons redeemed

Measuring the Immeasurable

If You Can Measure It, You Can Calculate Its ROI

Page 16: Social Marketing ROI - Yes, You Can!

Thank You!

Paul Gillin

508-656-0734

[email protected]

Site: gillin.com

Blog: paulgillin.com

Twitter: pgillin