social media 101

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Social Media 101 Presentation to members of Downtown Halifax Business Commission March 29, 2010 Maria McGowan Internet & Marketing Specialist Greater Halifax Partnership

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This is a presentation that Greater Halifax Partnership's Maria McGowan delivered to member of the Downtown Halifax Business Commission on March 29, 2011

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Page 1: Social Media 101

Social Media 101Presentation to members of

Downtown Halifax Business CommissionMarch 29, 2010

Maria McGowanInternet & Marketing SpecialistGreater Halifax Partnership

Page 2: Social Media 101

The Social Media bubble will burst

• There is no bubble

• The tools will change, the platforms will evolve

• We’re hard-wired to be social

• We did not grow tired of the telephone, television or the

internet

• It’s value is too great to give up

• Mobile technology is the game changer

Page 3: Social Media 101

Anyone can do that job

• Just because someone spends time on Facebook doesn’t

mean that he/she is qualified to be an online community

manager for your organization

• Not as simple as managing a personal social media account

• Set criteria, guidelines and even a strategy

• This is a serious, legitimate activity

Anyone can do that job

Page 4: Social Media 101

Have a plan

Page 5: Social Media 101

• Listen

• Keep RT’s to a minimum

• Share original ideas (be inspired by best practices)

• Be creative, clever and find angles

• Be positive

• Keep at it and ditch the corporate speak

• Handle negativity on an individual basis

• Don’t be a parrot

Be yourself

Page 6: Social Media 101

Set guidelines

Page 7: Social Media 101

Know how you’ll speak to your followers

• Know your target audience

• Quality vs quantity

• Don’t add to the noise

Page 8: Social Media 101

How we use social media

Page 9: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

Page 10: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

Page 11: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

Page 12: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)

Page 13: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)

• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)

Page 14: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)

• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)

• Newsroom environment

Page 15: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)

• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)

• Newsroom environment

• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones

Page 16: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)

• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)

• Newsroom environment

• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones

• Senior exec’s are tweeting

Page 17: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)

• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)

• Newsroom environment

• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones

• Senior exec’s are tweeting

• Regular internal emails – when we reach milestones, staff member wrote a blog post etc

Page 18: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)

• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)

• Newsroom environment

• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones

• Senior exec’s are tweeting

• Regular internal emails – when we reach milestones, staff member wrote a blog post etc

• Annual awards (internal)

Page 19: Social Media 101

Greater Halifax Partnership and Social Media

• Annual Social Media Strategy with metrics

• Incorporated into marketing & communication plan and organizational business plan

• Monthly reporting

• Blog, Twitter, LinkedIn, SlideShare, Facebook Page, NING, Flickr (they’re all branded)

• Live-tweeting during press conferences, events, meetings etc (with hashtags)

• Newsroom environment

• Immersed into our culture, lunch & learns/one-on-ones

• Senior exec’s are tweeting

• Regular internal emails – when we reach milestones, staff member wrote a blog post etc

• Annual awards (internal)

• Experimenting/ learning environment

Page 20: Social Media 101

why we use social media?

Page 21: Social Media 101

social media ROI

Page 22: Social Media 101

Facebook likes or followers on Twitter

It’s not just about…

Page 23: Social Media 101

For example

• Shares

• Mentions (positive, negative or neutral)

• Blog comments

• Retweets

• @mentions

• email opens and click through rates

• “likes” of a Facebook page

… That kind of stuff

But they’re good for measuring “engagement”

Page 24: Social Media 101

• Lowered cost of new customer acquisition

• Reduction in average customer serving costs

• Increasing customer satisfaction

It’s really about

Page 25: Social Media 101

Here’s what you can do

Page 26: Social Media 101

- awareness?

- lead generation?

- visits to website

- more relationships?

What are your social media objectives

Page 27: Social Media 101

Quantitative Metrics

Qualitative Metrics

ROI Metrics

There are 3 categories of measurement

Page 28: Social Media 101

These metrics are data-intensive & number-oriented.

Success Metrics Goal

monthly sales directly linked to Twitter $ monthly sales

new customers directly linked to

Twitter

$ monthly sales directly linked to

Twitter

#1 Quantitative Metrics

Page 29: Social Media 101

Dell is capitalizing on Twitter’s

real-time nature for exclusive,

limited – customer / limited-period offers

Page 30: Social Media 101

These metrics have an emotional component

Here’s a campaign to increase satisfaction:

Success Metrics Goal

Amount of positive comments sent to

customers per week within a given

time

Amount of positive conversations

about your organization or company

per week

Amount of good suggestions that your

company hadn’t thought of

Amount of suggestions collected per

month and amount that you actually

implement

#2 Qualitative Metrics

Page 31: Social Media 101

Users felt that they had a role in the decision making

process of the company.

They felt that Starbucks cared.

Page 32: Social Media 101

#3 ROI Metrics

Success Metrics Goal% of people you converted from a

prospect to a customer on your e-

commerce site

Increased customers

How many people you converted from a

prospect to a client on your B2B site

Increased clients

All roads lead to here

Conversion rates:

Page 33: Social Media 101

Let’s do some math

Page 34: Social Media 101

It’s the most important formula in social media

CLV is the amount of revenue a customer will bring to your

company over the course of his/her lifetime with your brand.

Understand your Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)

Page 35: Social Media 101

For example:

Typical customer spends $10 per month and

stays loyal for 3 years.

$10 x 12 months x 3 years = $360 (CLV)

Estimating your Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)

Page 36: Social Media 101

Many people use 10% of their CLV as a starting point.

So they’ll spend $36 to acquire 1 new customer

Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) and social media

Page 37: Social Media 101

$36 is what it takes to get 1 customer.

Let’s say you want to run a Social Media campaign to get

100 customers

$36 x 100 = $ 3,600 campaign budget

Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) and social media

Page 38: Social Media 101

Landing page?

Mobile app?

Monthly e-newsletter with tips to stay in

front of prospects and new customers?

Video(s)?

Facebook ads or LinkedIn ads…?

Test…test…test…

What $3,600 can get you

Page 39: Social Media 101

Pay off?

Page 40: Social Media 101

- More engagement with your audience

- Understanding your audience’s behaviours

- Measurement

- Goals reached

- Buy in

Pay off?

Page 41: Social Media 101

Maria McGowanInternet & Marketing SpecialistGreater Halifax Partnership

@mariamcgowan@greater_halifax

Thank you