million dollar case study: europe – session #16 – launching with amazon ppc

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SESSION 3: Supplier Outreach & Product Selection T H E M I L L I O N D O L L A R C A S E S T U D Y E U R O P E

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Page 1: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

SESSION 3:

Supplier Outreach & Product Selection

T H E M I L L I O N D O L L A R C A S E S T U D Y

E U R O P E

Page 2: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Enter at www.junglescout.com/giveaway and share your #MDCSchallenge update!

3 Winners selected every week for all of 2017,

1 Prize for Each Winner▹ 1 Jungle Scout Pro Extension▹ 2 Jungle Scout Web App ▹ Featured on the Website!

Session 16 - Giveaway

Page 3: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Where are you in the #MDCSchallenge?

Web App

Pro Extension

WebApp

Page 4: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Jungle Slumber Updates

Page 5: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Jungle Slumber Updates

Page 6: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Today We Will Cover

Why you should use Amazon PPC and a guide to launching Amazon ads for your new product!

Basic strategies to get started:◍ Setting up your first campaigns◍ Auto vs Manual campaigns◍ Campaign structure◍ How much to bid

Page 7: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

The Benefits of Amazon PPC

◍ Low barrier to entry◍ Display ads on the Amazon platform to

shoppers who are ready to purchase◍ Cheaper than other paid advertising◍ You can control it: spend, optimization◍ Get real Amazon keyword data and

feed this back into your listing

Page 8: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC
Page 9: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Get real results

Page 10: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Prime Real Estate In Search Results

Page 11: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Types of Campaign

Automatic Targeting:

◍ Amazon scrape your listing & create campaigns based on this

◍ Easiest way to get started

◍ Less control over your campaigns

Manual Targeting:

◍ Create your own campaigns and adgroups and

◍ Takes more time to set up and optimize

◍ You have full control over what keywords you are bidding on

Page 12: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Automatic Targeting

◍ Set up an Automatic Targeting campaign

◍ Set a daily budget

Page 13: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Automatic Targeting

◍ Create an ad group◍ Find your product to

generate the ad copy◍ Enter a default bid (start

at .50 and then use the suggested bid feature to tweak this)

Page 14: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Automatic Targeting

Once you have created an Auto campaign and set your daily budget and default bid, leave it alone for at least a week.

◍ Amazon’s advertising reporting is always 24-48 hours behind

◍ You need to let an auto campaign run for a while to generate data

Page 15: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Auto Campaign Setup:Watch Over Greg’s Shoulder

Page 16: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Manual Targeting

Whilst your auto campaign is running in the background, start creating some of your own manual campaigns using your

keyword research!

Page 17: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Keyword Research

Revisit your keyword research from Session #8

Page 18: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Manual Campaign Structure

Jungle Stix Keywords From Auto Campaign

Jungle Snugs Keywords

from Google KW Planner

Keyword Research

Broad match

Phrase Match Pink

Sticks for roasting marshmallows, marshmallow

roasters

Pink baby towels, baby hooded towel

pink

Campaign

Adgroup

Keywords

Phrase Match Blue

Blue baby towels, baby hooded towel

blue

Creating ads: Amazon creates your ad copy based on your listing

Page 19: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Match Types Explained

Broad MatchYour ad can be triggered by the widest range of search terms.

This usually means higher visibility and sessions, but also usually costs more.

Use this when you are mining for keyword to add to more defined phrase or exact match adgroups

Phrase MatchYour phrase must be in the shoppers search term, but words can be added in front of, or after your keyword search term.

This allows you to balance your budget whilst still capturing a wider range of search terms.

Use this when you are optimizing campaigns but still want search data

Exact MatchThe shopper must search for your exact phrase (including plurals, misspellings etc.) to trigger your ad.

This is the most controlled and cost effective way to target keywords using PPC

Use this when you find keywords that convert really well to optimize for a better ROI

Page 20: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Match Type

Keyword Will fire on Won’t fire on Can Include

Broad Mummy sleeping bag

Sleep bag mummy, mummy

style sleeping bag, sleeping bag, hooded sleeping

bag

Camping stove, camping tent

Synonyms, abbreviations,

acronyms, misspellings and

variations including plurals and stemmings

Phrase Mummy sleeping bag

3 season mummy sleeping bag,

mummy sleeping bag blue

Mummy style sleeping bag

Misspellings, singular or

plurals, stemming,

abbreviations or acronyms

Exact Mummy sleeping bag

Mummy sleeping bag, mummy sleeping bags,

mummy sleping bag

Blue mummy sleeping bag

Misspellings. Singulars and

plurals

Match Type Examples

Page 21: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Campaign Structure

◍ Use searchable names that make sense to you (once you build up lots of ad groups this is a life saver)

◍ Split out your keywords by match type and theme where applicable

Jungle Slumber Auto [date]Jungle Slumber Search Terms [date]Jungle Slumber KW research [date]

Mummy style exact matchSleeping bags phrase matchUltralight sleeping bag broad match

Pick a naming convention and stick to it:

Page 22: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Auto Campaign Setup:Watch Over Greg’s Shoulder

Page 23: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Budgets & Bidding

Guide for auto campaign: £10 per day, Guide for manual campaign: £20 per day

◍ Default bids should be from £0.50 - £1.50Use the suggested bid as a rough guide only

◍ Bid higher on exact and phrase than broad match keywords

Page 24: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Advertising Cost Of Sale

ACoS is how we determine our return on investment.

It is calculated by dividing your PPC costs by the sales generated from your PPC.

If you spend £10 on PPC, and get £100 of sales attributed to those ads, the ACoS would be 10%.

Find out where you “break even”

Page 25: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

ACoS Breakeven Point

US:

Europe:

Jungle Slumber:

Retail price £26.99, subtotal (less VAT £4.50) = £22.49Landed Cost of Goods: £8.45FBA fees: £6.14Breakeven ACoS at this price = 35%

Page 26: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Calculate your ACoS at different prices

◍ Your pricing is subject to change◍ Figure out your ACoS at a few different

retail prices so that you have a “break even guide”

◍ Use our ACoS calculator (in the homework coming up)

Page 27: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Campaign Optimization

More on this in a later session:

◍ Get familiar with the search terms report◍ Add keywords from your auto campaigns to your

manual campaigns to optimize, then add as negative keywords in the auto campaign

◍ Bid on the same keywords as different match types◍ Monitor ACoS across campaigns and ensure you break

even, or better!

Page 28: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Session 16: Homework

◍ Create a strategy for your Amazon PPC◍ Set up an Auto campaign and let it run

for a few weeks◍ Create a manual campaign using your

KW research

Get a handy ACoS Calculator in this weeks homework download:www.junglescout.com/session16-HW

Page 29: Million Dollar Case Study: Europe – Session #16 – Launching With Amazon PPC

Join Us Next WeekJoin us next Wednesday for an inside look on setting up PPC

campaigns for your newly launched product!

Register for FREE at junglescout.com/million