how to measure the roi of content marketing

101
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style How To Measure Your Content Marketing Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group @BrennerMichael

Upload: michael-brenner

Post on 08-Jan-2017

3.374 views

Category:

Marketing


1 download

TRANSCRIPT

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

How To MeasureYour Content Marketing

Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again

Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael

Life is short

Life is short

Your business “life” is even shorter

Life is short

Your business “life” is even shorter

STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an

impact!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only!

Publish content to primary channel

Distribute content to earned media

Distribute content to paid media

Measure ROI of content marketing

Optimize and target distribution

Optimize for subscriptions & offers

Marketing ROI is the #1 Objective for Marketers in 2016

Documented content marketing strategy

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

PART ONE

/ Build The Business Case

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

1

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CEOs and Boards will no longer accept

marketing that doesn’t

deliver results!

Marketing Has A Marketing Problem

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content marketing trends

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

What is the ROI?

@BrennerMichael @LizBedor

The First Banner Ad (1994)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Less likely to click on a banner than…

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

We need to stop interrupting what people are interested in

and be what people are interested

in!

Earn Your Audience’s Attention

vs.Buying or Interrupting it.

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Reach early stage buyers

Engage new buyers with your

brand

Conversions you would have never

reached

= $

Build The Business Case

@BrennerMichael

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

2011: SAP launches major new product

Marketing Budgets

Marketing Contribution

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Cluster Brand? Total Monthly Searches (est.)

Analytics Brand 458 30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761Cloud Brand 398 10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460Big Data Brand 28,884 218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967Mobility Brand 12,488 28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598CRM/Sales Brand 156,028 40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497 24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493TOTAL Brand 1,688,883 130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715

Tried To Build The Business Case With Data

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Our Website: Talking To Ourselves

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleLate-Stage

Content66%

Early-Stage Content6%

Middle-Stage Content

28%

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The Math Didn’t Help

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The Power of Fear

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

IMAGINE: We show up first in Google

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

IMAGINE: We own the categorywww.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

IMAGINE: We own the target audiencewww.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyersAMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing Requires Empathy

ContentMarketing

What Brands Publish

WhatCustomers

Want

Business Instinct CharityEmpathy@BrennerMichael

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

BUT: We had no budget

Engagement?99% Bounce Rate

How Much COST?$200,000

Search Traffic?0, None, Nada, ZipSocial Shares?Also ZERO

Conversions?“This is an awareness campaign”

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

SAP Digitalist Magazine

To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.

Engagement?70%

How Much COST?$100,000Half the ad budget

Search Traffic?50%Social Shares?10%

Conversions?~1,000 in year 1

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

4/8/124/22/12

5/6/125/20/12

6/3/126/17/12

7/1/127/15/12

7/29/128/12/12

8/26/129/9/12

9/23/1210/7/12

10/21/12

11/4/1211/18/12

12/2/1212/16/12

12/30/12

1/13/131/27/13

2/10/132/24/13

3/10/133/24/13

4/7/134/21/13

5/5/135/19/13

6/2/136/16/13

6/30/137/14/13

7/28/13

0

5,000

10,000

15,000

20,000

25,000

30,000

35,000

Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads

Reach and Engagement We Would Have Never Seen

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The buyer journey is nothing

more than a series of questions

that must be answered.

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your Website?

@BrennerMichael

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CONTENT MARKETING

ArticlesNews InfographicsSocial Content Quizzes

VideoWhitepapersWebinarsPodcastsHow-To Guides

EventsNewsletters Customer Profiles

PRODUCT MARKETING

Product contentOffers

BrochuresCustomer Testimonials

Case studiesAds

CONSIDERATION

AWARENESS

DECISION

Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?

100

1

10

5

1580

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Early-stage Searches

Middle-stage

Brand Searches

Search / Social Volum

e

What is Content Marketing?

(100 - 3000 X)

How do I succeed with Content Marketing?

(2-10 X)

What tools can help me with

content marketing?

(1)

Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?

@BrennerMichael

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleYour

Customers Middle

Early What is / are?Why important

LateWho?How much?Where? 1

StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index

100

How to? 10

Content Marketing is as simple as answering your customers’ top

questions

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

PART TWO

/ Find The Budget

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

2

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Marketers Love Buying Tactics

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The Explosion of Marketing Channels

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

What’s The ROI of logos on stadiums?@BrennerMichael

#BMA16

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

60-70% of marketing contentgoes completely unused.

*Sirius Decisions

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The Easiest Way To Find Budget For ContentMarketing . . .

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

STOP Creating Content No One

Wants

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Used30%

Content Not Used70%

Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity*

* Source: Econsultancy = $

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Excuse me boss but. . .

Why does this matter?

What is the impact?

How will it be measured?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero Measurable Results?

=$

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick) .06%

10% Banner ad clicks by Bots(comScore)

50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental(GoldSpot)

What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically?

=$

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing

Saved / invested in content marketing platform

$100,000 / $100,000

Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have never seen.

1,000,000 Organic Visitors10,000 Subscribers1,000 Leads

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

What is “Guerilla” Marketing?

Re-Purpose•Executive PowerPoints

•Whitepapers

•Customer Service and Sales FAQs

•Your emails = answers

How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

@BrennerMichael

OPP (OPC)•Act as a journalists at events

•Cover competitor and industry research

•Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work

How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

@BrennerMichael

Create Stuff Easy

• Create a list of top influencers • best conferences • best quotes • best stats in your industry

• Extract the expertise inside your company• What is…• Why is this important...• How to achieve success with ...

How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

@BrennerMichael

PART THREE

/ MeasureResults

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

3

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing programs

are assets with real value that grows over time.

Need proof . . .

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-150

100

200

300

400

500

600

-

100,000

200,000

300,000

400,000

500,000

600,000

COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING

# A

rtic

les

Page

view

s

________ Leads

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/

The Difference Between “Content” and “Content Marketing” is the Destination

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment

Return

What is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment

(Revenue – Investment)

What is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment

(Revenue – Investment)

What is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =

With Less

Do MoreWhat is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =

With Less

Do The Same

What is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

How do you explain the importance of

empathy to executives who don’t have any?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Show me the money!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI – Reach

The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI – Reach

The Value of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million

4/8/124/22/12

5/6/125/20/12

6/3/126/17/12

7/1/127/15/12

7/29/128/12/12

8/26/129/9/12

9/23/1210/7/12

10/21/12

11/4/1211/18/12

12/2/1212/16/12

12/30/12

1/13/131/27/13

2/10/132/24/13

3/10/133/24/13

4/7/134/21/13

5/5/135/19/13

6/2/136/16/13

6/30/137/14/13

7/28/13

0

5,000

10,000

15,000

20,000

25,000

30,000

35,000

Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Casper’s Van Winkles• Effortlessly combines

national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates.

• Up to 6 new posts per day

• Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+

Casper’s Van Winkles

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

Subscribers have value. And are 9x more likely to convert

than non-subscribers

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CapGemini: Content-Loop.com

~1M visitors in 1st year+ 3K new followers / week+ High Quality Leads+ Sales = ROI

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement

The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement

The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)

$10 Million / 400,000 = $25

10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =

(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =

(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate

X Avg. Sale Price)

1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL)

x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL) x 40% Closed / Won

x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000 ($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to

acquire a new one.

A 5% increase in retention = 95% increase in ROI.

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleContent Marketing

ROI:Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal.

Shane JordanDigital Marketing ManagerBlue Cross BlueShield of Alabama

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI - RetentionThe Value of Retention= Lifetime Value $$$

Retention Rate $$$

Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers

vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers@BrennerMichael

Life is short

Your business “life” is even shorter

STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an

impact!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Thank you!Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael