geography 3

Download geography 3

If you can't read please download the document

Post on 21-Aug-2014




23 download

Embed Size (px)


Geo3 report


  • Region II Cagayan Valley
  • Cagayan Valley has five provinces and three cities. The most dominant trait of the region is the Cagayan River, the largest waterway in the Philippines. Cagayan Valley is considered as an adventurer's paradise, with its intricate cave systems, rugged mountain peaks, white water rapids and beautiful beaches.
  • Province and Capitals
  • Batanes Capital: Basco Population (10): 16,604
  • Batanes The northernmost islands and smallest province of thePhilippines. Municipalities: 6 Barangays: 29 Capital: Basco Total Area: 219.01km2 (84.56sqmi) Total Population: 15,974 Spoken Languages: Ivatan Itbayaten Isamurongen Ilocano
  • Batanes is the northernmost and the smallest province of the Philippines. The province lies on a group of islands (called the Batanes Islands) in the Luzon Strait and is part of the Cagayan Valley region in Luzon. Its capital is Basco and is separated from the Babuyan Islands of Cagayan Province by the Balintang Channel and from Taiwan by the Bashi Channel. The unpredictability of the weather makes traveling to Batanes difficult, thus preserving its unspoiled beauty. Among the natural wonders of this place includes endangered fauna, volcanic peaks, caves, sea cliffs and sandy beaches. Unique wildlife includes the tatus (coconut crab) and migratory birds from China. Structures with Spanish influence remain here such as the San Jose and San Carlos Borromeo Churches. Adventure seekers find Batanes great for surfing, trekking and spelunking.
  • Map
  • FloraandFauna
  • Cagayan Capital: Tuguegarao City Population (10): 1,124,773
  • Cagayan The Land of Smiling Beauty Barangays: 820 Capital: Tuguegarao City Total Area: 9,295.75km2 (3,589.11sqmi) Total Population: 1,124,773 Spoken Languages: Ibanag Ilocano Itawis Tagalog English Cagayanhas28Municipalitiesandhas1citydividedinto3congressionaldistricts. ThemajorityofpeoplelivinginCagayanareofIlocanodescent,mostlyfrommigrantscomingfromtheIlocosRegion.
  • Cagayan also includes the Babuyan Islands to the north. The province borders Ilocos Norte and Apayao to the west, and Kalinga and Isabela to the south. Cagayn province is distinct from the city in Mindanao named Cagayan de Oro, and is far away from Cagayan Islands of Palawan. Cagayan Province is best known for the seven-chambered Callao Caves. Adventurers come to Cagayan for game fishing, mountain trekking, river trips and surfing. Popular sites include Palaui's Spanish built Cape Engano Lighthouse, the Magapit Suspension Bridge, St. Peter's Cathedral and the Miraculous Lady of Piat, a four centuries-old image of the Virgin Mary, brought by Dominican Friars from Macao in 1604. The mouth of the Cagayan River is located in Aparri. The Cagayan River is the longest and widest in the nation, and is home to the 'lurung' fish which travels upstream to breed during the wet season.
  • Map
  • Flora and Fauna
  • Isabela Capital: Ilagan City Population (10): 1,489,645
  • Isabela 2nd largest province of the Philippines next to Palawan. Municipalities: 34 Barangays: 1,018 Capital: Ilagan City Total Area: 12,556.8km2 (4,848.2sqmi) Total Population: 1,489,645 Spoken Languages: Ibanag Ilocano Gaddang Tagalog English In order to facilitate the work of the missionaries in the evangelization of the Cagayan Valley, a Royal Decree was issued on May 1, 1856, which created the province of Isabela from the portion of the province of Cagayan and Nueva Vizcaya. From Cagayan, the towns of Gamu, Angadanan and Gamarang (now Echague) and from the Nueva Vizcaya, its capital town Carig (now Santiago) and Palanan were segregated to constitute the province of Isabela. The new province was named in honor of Her Royal Highness Queen Isabela II of Spain. The premier province of the north, one of the most progressive in the country and Santiago, the industrial center for region 02, is now an Independent City while Cauayan, the commercial center is a component city. Tourism is relatively a new industry being developed in the province. The province of Isabela is the richest in Cagayan Valley. It is also the Top 10 Richest Province in thePhilippineslast 2011, being the only province of Northern Luzon to be included in the list. Agriculture is the major industry of the people of Isabela. It has extensive deposits of non- metallic minerals such aslimestone,clay,marbles,guano, sand & gravel, and boulders. Isabela has a fertile fishing ground on the Pacific Coast.
  • Isabela Province is best known for its uncharted forest wilderness, including the Northern Sierra National Park. The Palanan Rainforest is one of the world's largest remaining low altitude rainforest. Isabela also has the Magat Hydro Electric Power Plant, East Asia's largest dam project. Other popular sites include Spanish churches in Tumauini, Alicia and Gamu, and the Aguinaldo Shrine in Palanan, built to commemorate the spot where General Emilio Aguinaldo was captured by American Forces in 1901. The second largest province in the country next to Palawan.
  • Map
  • Flora and Fauna
  • Nueva Vizcaya Capital: Bayombong Population (10): 421,355
  • Nueva Vizcaya Subdivided into 15 municipalities. Barangays: 275 Capital: Bayombong Total Area: 4,378.8km2 (1,690.7sqmi) Total Population: 397,837 Spoken Languages: Isinai Gaddang Pangasinan Ilocano Tagalog English TILAPIA INDUSTRY
  • Nueva Vizcaya is a mountainous province home to the Mt. Pulog National Park where the country's second highest mountain, Mt. Pulog (3,000 meters), is located. World War 2 memorials include the Dalton Pass and the Kirang Pass. Old Spanish Churches include St. Dominic Cathedral and Dupax del Sur Church. Adventure and eco-tourism sites include the Lion-Alayan Cave and the Kayapa town. In mining, the province faces bright prospects. According to the Bureau of Mines and Geo-Sciences, deposits of metallic minerals which can be exploited are copper, gold, molybdenum and pyrite. Non- metallic deposits include red clay, white clay and limestone. Sand and gravel are the most abundant deposits in the province.Every last week of May, Nueva Vizcaya celebrates the Panagyaman festival.
  • Map
  • Flora and Fauna
  • Quirino Capital: Cabarroguis Population (10): 176,786
  • Quirino Municipalities: 6 Barangays: 132 Capital: Cabarroguis Total Area: 3,486.2km2 (1,346.0sqmi) Total Population: 176,786 Spoken Languages: Ifugao Bungkalot Pangasinan Kankana-ey Ilocano Tagalog
  • Quirino is a province of the Philippines located in the Cagayan Valley region in Luzon. Its capital is Cabarroguis and was named after Elpidio Quirino, the sixth President of the Philippines. The province borders Aurora to the southeast, Nueva Vizcaya to the west, and Isabela to the north. Quirino used to be part of the province of Nueva Vizcaya, until it was separated in 1966. Quirino Province is known for its natural sites, wildlife and adventure. Natural sites include the Bisangal Waterfalls, Victoria Falls, the Nagbukel and Aglipay Caves and Nagtipunan virgin rainforest. Governor Rapids is an ideal spot for white water rafting, swimming and fishing.
  • Map
  • Flora and Fauna
  • Ilokano -Region II Language
  • 20 Unique Lexicon Kurikur Nataraki Nataengan Nalaspag Ikalumbabam Nasalukag Nasalimetmet Naibtor Aggayonggayong Sumingsingingsing Agpakpakdaar Mangkuskusit Managgundaway Nasalimuut Nasinggit Agtarigagay Nadalimanet Manglalais Mangirubrubo Mangisungsung
  • Aparri Cagayan and Santiago Isabela
  • Prominent People (Santiago Isabela) Cercad