commercial real estate financing in a dynamic …...commercial real estate financing in a dynamic...
TRANSCRIPT
Commercial Real Estate Financing in a Dynamic Market Environment
Graduate School of Banking at Louisiana State UniversityBaton Rouge, LouisianaMay 27th – May 30th, 2019
Cal Evans
Credit Market Intelligence
Synovus Financial Corp.
• Synovus Financial Corp., Columbus, GA – $40B, 5 State FP
• Credit Market Intelligence– CRE Sector Research/Risk Analysis
– C&I Industry Research/Risk Analysis
– Regulatory Support
– Economics/FRB Advisory
• 706-254-0377
Hi, I’m Cal Evans
• We will break once per session for fifteen minutes
– I know you have a job and a life outside this room!
• Please turn your cell phone ringers off during class
– Vibrate is fine-if you need to take it, please quietly excuse yourself
– If your phone rings you will be loudly booed by me and the rest of the class
Before We Dive in to the Amazing World of CRE…
There Are Many More Dumb Answers than Questions!
This Could Be More Brilliant than DumbSpeaking of Questions…
• High level view of real estate financing fundamentals– Basic Concepts– Valuation– Underwriting– Capitalization Rates (So Important It Is Covered Twice)– Sector specific lending practices and trends– Economic Trends affecting CRE
• Overview on crafting a market intel program for your bank– Data resources– Supply side analysis and basic forecasting
• Overview of regulatory environment regarding CRE lending
• The end goal is to provide you with a practical education in CRE finance that combines fundamental best practices with intelligent market analysis.
Course Objectives
Let’s Get Started: Intro “Case Study”
Hold On! Ask Questions! Be Engaged!
Augment Your Daily Knowledge of Our Economic Situation:
http://www.mauldineconomics.com/subscribe
• Key weaknesses to avoid in reviewing and underwriting a real estate transaction are:
– Over-reliance on past performance
– Failure to evaluate the market and/or the long and short term economic trends of the product type or the area of development, that is, failure to recognize overbuilding in the area or asset
– Failure to assess the total financial condition of the developer by obtaining and analyzing the cash flow on all real estate projects and other contingent liabilities (contagion from other assets)
– Over-lending with too much debt against specific real estate projects
Case Study: Excerpt from My Bank’s Loan Policy
Why Are These Objectives Important?
• 2005: 150 unit Class C apartment complex sold for $2.5mm to outside of market investor group
• 2006: Proposal for low-priced condos, $69k to $85k
– As-Is Value = $2.5mm; Projected NPV Condos = $3.2mm
• 2007: Feasibility study says condos should be marketed at higher end TO PARENTS OF STUDENTS, $99k to $119k
– Value goes from $3.2mm to $4.8mm
– Half units will be redone, other half leased
– Work begins Summer 2007
American Horror Story: Multifamily
• 2008: Market tanks
– Loan is overfunded
– Developer has weak projects elsewhere
– Sales efforts continue with 50% of units finished
– 50% remain rented as apartments to construction crew
• 2009: Sales efforts stall out, bank puts on non-accrual
• 2010: Bank forecloses, starts to dispose of ORE
• 2011: Contract at $2.3mm
– Property Eventual 2011 Sales Price?
– Total Bank Loss?
American Horror Story: Now It’s Condominiums
• Reviewing the Basics
• Valuations
• Introduction to Underwriting
• Property Types, Trends, and Analysis
• Capitalization Rates
• Building a Market Intelligence Program
• Regulatory Environment
Course Outline
Commercial Real Estate Basics:Terms and Concepts
Buy This Book: Barron’s Dictionary of Real Estate Terms (Kindle)
https://www.amazon.com/Dictionary-Estate-Barrons-Business-Dictionaries-ebook/dp/B00BWX9QSG/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1488141086&sr=1-1&keywords=barrons+real+estate+dictionary
• Going-Concern Properties
• Owner-Occupied CRE
• Income Producing Real Estate (IPRE)– Core Types
• Multifamily
• Retail
• Office
• Warehouse/Industrial or Logistics
• Hotel
– Non-Core• Self-Storage
• Other Investment Property
Various Types of Commercial Real Estate
• Commercial Bank– Construction Lending
– Mini-Perm Lending
• Life Company
• Gov. Sponsored Enterprise– FNMA/FRMC or SBA
• CMBS/”Conduit” Lenders– Risk Retention Rules
• Life, GSE, and CMBS are all considered ‘permanent’ takeout sources and are generally longer term and non-recourse to borrower
Sources and Types of CRE Financing
• Very important when valuing properties
• Fee Simple– Simply, the full bundle of ownership rights. For this class it is the
Leased Fee Value + the Leasehold Value
• Leased Fee– The interest of the landlord, determined in part by the Fee paid
by tenant(s) for use of the property– Tenants can lease buildings or land (ground lease)
• Leasehold Interest– The interest of the tenant, who Holds the lease and the rights
that come with occupying the space
Types of CRE Ownership
• Appraisals
– This warrants its own special section
• Environmental Reports
– Phase I: Basic First Run Testing
– Phase II: Expanded Testing
• Feasibility Studies
• Data Services
– Will cover in detail as we discuss property types
Third Party Reporting
• Ground Lease• Traditional Lease Types
– Full Service: usually found in smaller properties
– Gross: Landlord pays taxes, maintenance, property insurance• Modified Gross: includes one or more expenses
– Net: Smaller base with pro-rata or stated $/SF of expense category• Single Net: Tenant pays stated or pro-rata of property tax• Double Net: “ property tax and property insurance• Triple Net: “ property tax, property insurance, CAM• Absolute Net: Tenant pays for every expense related to property
(rare)
Leases and Lease Structure
• LTV:% of Loan to Total Value
• Borrower’s Equity: % of project costs contributed by borrower (can be land already owned, soft costs, etc.)
• LTC:% of Loan to Total Cost of Project
• NOI: Net Operating Income
– Gross Potential Rent Less Vacancy Plus Other Income = Effective Gross Income
– Effective Gross Income – Operating Expenses = NOI
• Tenant Improvements and Leasing Commissions (TI/LC)
CRE Lending Terms
• DSCR: Debt Service Coverage Ratio
– Expressed as 1.25x, or the NOI is 1.25x the Debt Service
• Break-Even Analysis: finding point where DSCR is 1.0x
• Debt Yield: (NOI * Loan Amount), expressed as a %
– $100k NOI, $1mm Loan, 10% Debt Yield
– More on Debt Yield in Underwriting Section
– See Class Materials for Debt Yield Summary
• Recourse vs. Non-Recourse
– Guarantee Burn-Offs
CRE Lending Terms
Valuations
The Starting Point for Commercial Real Estate Lending
Link to Appraisal Institute’s Valuation Magazine:
http://www.appraisalinstitute.org/publications/valuation-magazine/
• Appraisals:
– Satan’s special tool designed to punish borrowers and lenders alike?
– Valuation estimates one notch above using a Magic 8 Ball?
– Regulatory nonsense designed to increase paperwork tenfold?
– An opinion of value made by an appraiser• Income Approach: Value to Investor
• Market Data/Sales Comparison: Purchase Same Utility
• Cost Approach: Build Same Utility
What Are Appraisals?
• BPO: Broker’s Price Opinion
• AVM: Automated Valuation Model
– ValueNet, Zillow, most residential tax valuations
• Tax Assessor Value
– Usually automated to some degree
• You should ALWAYS make your customers and banks cognizant of this to save money
• Evaluation
– Internal or External
• Review or ”Forensic” Appraisal
• What you can use varies by state, loan size, type of CRE
Other Common Types of Valuation Products
• “Market Value is the most probable price that a property should bring in a competitive and open market under all conditions requisite to a fair sale, the buyer and seller, each acting prudently, knowledgeably and assuming the price is not affected by undue stimulus. Implicit in this definition is the consummation of a sale as of a specified date and the passing of the title from seller to buyer under conditions whereby:
– Buyer and seller are typically motivated
– Both parties are well informed or well advised and each acting in their own interest
– A reasonable time is allowed for exposure to market
– Payment is made in terms of cash in US Dollars or in terms of financial arrangements comparable there to; and
– The price represents the normal consideration for the property sold unaffected by special or creative financing or sales concessions granted by anyone associated with the sale (refund example in sales comparables)
Market Value
• The highest and most profitable use is that legal use which is most likely to produce the greatest net return over a given period of time
• Inherent Factors in HBU:
– Time
– Location
– Utility Factors
– Government Regulations
Source: Farren, Highest and Best Use
Highest and Best Use
CRE Valuation Roller Coaster 2000-2018
• Value to an Investor, and the basis of most of our discussions from this point forward
• Direct Capitalization and Yield Analysis (Discounted Cash Flow)
• Direct Capitalization is focus in this class– NOI: Income - Expenses
• Gross Potential Rents less
• Vacancy = Effective Gross Income
• Effective Gross Income – Management Fees and
• Operating Expenses EQUALS
• NOI
• Value = NOI/Capitalization Rate– That means the current value is a function of the next 12 month’s
income
The Income Approach
Example of Income Analysis Format
• 𝑉𝑎𝑙𝑢𝑒 =𝐼1
(1+𝑦)1+
𝐼2
(1+𝑦)2+…+
𝐼𝑛
(1+𝑦)𝑛+
𝑉𝑛
(1+𝑦)𝑛
• Cash Flows are the front components
• Reversion of the property is last component
• The Reversion is simply a direct capitalization at the time of sale of property, less selling/marketing expenses
• The Cap Rate used to determine the Reversion is the Terminal Cap Rate
• The Discount Rate brings the future values to a present value
A Quick Run through Yield Analysis (DCF)
• GENERALLY, the Terminal Cap Rate is higher than the OAR due to risks that increase as time period grows
• GENERALLY, the Discount Rate is 50 to 150 bps higher than the Terminal Cap Rate
• The DCF Model will most commonly be found in properties that have yet to stabilize, subdivision analysis, and hotels
• DCF Is Not Covered on the Test, Just Be Aware of It
Yield Capitalization: DCF Model
• Income Analysis:
– Rents come from operating statement/pro forma
• Market rent comparables used to judge appropriateness
• Adjustments based on size, amenities, location, etc.
– Vacancy comes from operating statement/pro forma
• Market vacancy rates are factored in here
– Concessions
– Other Income
• Expense Analysis:
– Management Fee-even if there isn’t one technically in place
– Operating Expenses
– Replacement Reserves
• “Below the Line” Expenses: TI/LC in office, retail
NOI Analysis
𝑽𝒂𝒍𝒖𝒆 =𝑵𝒆𝒕 𝑶𝒑𝒆𝒓𝒂𝒕𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝑰𝒏𝒄𝒐𝒎𝒆
𝑪𝒂𝒑𝒊𝒕𝒂𝒍𝒊𝒛𝒂𝒕𝒊𝒐𝒏 𝑹𝒂𝒕𝒆
𝑪𝒂𝒑𝒊𝒕𝒂𝒍𝒊𝒛𝒂𝒕𝒊𝒐𝒏 𝑹𝒂𝒕𝒆 =
𝑳𝒐𝒂𝒏 𝒕𝒐 𝑽𝒂𝒍𝒖𝒆 % ∗ 𝒀𝒊𝒆𝒍𝒅 𝒕𝒐 𝑩𝒂𝒏𝒌+
𝑬𝒒𝒖𝒊𝒕𝒚 % ∗ 𝒀𝒊𝒆𝒍𝒅 𝒕𝒐 𝑩𝒐𝒓𝒓𝒐𝒘𝒆𝒓
𝑪𝒂𝒑𝒊𝒕𝒂𝒍𝒊𝒛𝒂𝒕𝒊𝒐𝒏 𝑹𝒂𝒕𝒆 is 𝑾𝒆𝒊𝒈𝒉𝒕𝒆𝒅 𝑨𝒗𝒆𝒓𝒂𝒈𝒆 of 𝑩𝒂𝒏𝒌 𝒀𝒊𝒆𝒍𝒅 and 𝒀𝒊𝒆𝒍𝒅 𝒕𝒐 𝑩𝒐𝒓𝒓𝒐𝒘𝒆𝒓
Income Approach to CRE Valuation
• Cap Rate: Weighted Average Return Bank/Owner
• Finance Source Yield
– Rate Floors
– Supply Constraints
• UW Tightening
• Concentration Mix
• Developer Yield
– Re-pricing of Risk: Higher Required Return
– Foreign Exchange: Lower Required Return
– Development Cessation/Expansion
Cap Rate Components
• Loan: 75% LTV Loan, 6% Rate, 5 year Term, 20 Year Am• Investor: 25% Equity, 12% Required Return
• The Weighted Average Problem:– Bank: 75% LTV x Mortgage Constant of 8.597% = 6.45%– Developer: 25% Equity x 12% Required Return = 3.00%– 6.45% + 3.00% = 9.45% Cap Rate
• BAND OF INVESTMENT
• Assume a Property has NOI = $25,000– $25,000/9.45% = $264,550
• There Is a Cap Rate Generator Worksheet in the Class Materials section of the GSB LSU website
Let’s Build a Cap Rate (Band of Investment)
Loan Parameters Capitalization Rate Calculations
Note Term (years) 5 Loan to Value: 75%
Amortization (years) 25 Loan Constant: 6.33%
Loan to Value 75% Return to Lender: 4.75%
Mortgage Rate 4.00%
Loan Constant % 6.33% Required Return to Investor
Equity Percentage: 25%
Capitalization Rate Determination Required Return to Investor: 10%
Return to Lender: 4.75% Return on Equity: 2.50%
Return on Equity: 2.50%
Capitalization Rate: 7.25%
Mortgage Constant:
N 300
i 0.33%
PV -1
FV N/A
Solve for PMT 0.53%
Annualized: 6.33%
Supplemental Class Materials: Cap Rate Generator
Average Investment Grade Cap Rates: All CRE 4Q08-1Q19
Data: PWC 3.2018
Net Over 2 Years Basically Zero Change
-100.0
-80.0
-60.0
-40.0
-20.0
0.0
20.0
40.0
60.0
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Avg BPS Movement
RERC Southern First Tier Cap Rates: Most Applicable
Peak Loss from Cap Rate Increases in Recession
Source: PWC
• Lower % Increase in Gross Rents
• Higher Vacancies
• Higher Management Fees
• Higher % Increase in Operating Expenses
• LOWER NET OPERATING INCOME
– Divided By
• HIGHER CAPITALIZATION RATES
– Equals
• LOWER VALUES FOR COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE
Back to the Income Approach: Recession (2020?) Example
Income Approach Value Loss Example (Commercial Properties)
150 BPS Cap Rate
Change Only
150 BPS Cap Rate Change + 10% Increase in Vacancy and Expenses
2013 2014 2015
Effective Rent $100,000 $103,143 $106,311
Operating Expense 40,000$ 41,000$ 42,025$
NOI $60,000 $62,143 $64,286
Cap Rate 7.0% 7.25% 7.5%
Value $857,143 $857,143 $857,143
Required Rent Growth: 3.14% 3.07%
Rent Growth Needed to Compensate for Cap Rise
Right Now Rent Growth > 3% Is Only for Better Markets
Assumes Annual 2.5% OER Increase, 25 bps Cap Rate Increase
2018 2019 2020
RERC 1Q19 Rent vs. Expense Growth: See an Issue?
41
• RERC 1Q19
• Development Approach
– Similar to Yield Analysis insofar as it is done over time
– Used for residential/commercial subdivisions, condo projects
– Sometimes called subdivision analysis
Other Income Approach Subtypes
• Based on the premise that an informed purchaser would pay no more for a property than the cost of acquiring a property with the same utility.
• Based upon a comparison of market data
– The other approaches utilize some form of comparison
– Income: rent comps, cap rates, vacancies, certain expenses
– Cost Approach: land, expense comparables
• The foundation of residential analysis; best with a large number of relatively homogenous sales
Sales Comparison (Market Data) Approach
The Cost Approach
• Based on the proposition that the informed purchaser would pay no more than the cost of producing a substitute property with the same utility as the subject
• Replacement vs. Reproduction– Utility– #1 Problem with Homeowners Because of:
• Contributory Value– Swimming Pools– Marble Fireplace– Storage Sheds
• What Is a Special Use Property?
• There can be several ‘final values’, but they all take into account the different approaches used in the appraisal
• Rare are the times where the approaches are equally weighted; data availability and applicability are paramount
• As-Is Value
• As-Completed Value
• As-Stabilized Value
The Final Value in an Appraisal
Capitalization Rates
CBRE Semiannual Cap Rate Survey:
https://www.cbre.com/research-and-reports/US-Cap-Rate-Survey-H2-2018-Advance-Review
𝑪𝒂𝒑𝒊𝒕𝒂𝒍𝒊𝒛𝒂𝒕𝒊𝒐𝒏 𝑹𝒂𝒕𝒆 =
𝑳𝒐𝒂𝒏 𝒕𝒐 𝑽𝒂𝒍𝒖𝒆% ∗𝑴𝒐𝒓𝒕𝒈𝒂𝒈𝒆 𝑪𝒐𝒏𝒔𝒕𝒂𝒏𝒕+
𝑬𝒒𝒖𝒊𝒕𝒚 % ∗ 𝑹𝒆𝒒𝒖𝒊𝒓𝒆𝒅 𝑹𝒆𝒕𝒖𝒓𝒏 𝒐𝒏 𝑬𝒒𝒖𝒊𝒕𝒚
𝑪𝒂𝒑𝒊𝒕𝒂𝒍𝒊𝒛𝒂𝒕𝒊𝒐𝒏 𝑹𝒂𝒕𝒆 is 𝑾𝒆𝒊𝒈𝒉𝒕𝒆𝒅 𝑨𝒗𝒆𝒓𝒂𝒈𝒆 of 𝑹𝒆𝒕𝒖𝒓𝒏 𝒕𝒐 𝑩𝒂𝒏𝒌 and 𝑹𝒆𝒕𝒖𝒓𝒏 𝒕𝒐 𝑩𝒐𝒓𝒓𝒐𝒘𝒆𝒓
Capitalization Rate Formula for Leveraged Transaction
RERC Southern First Tier Cap Rates
2Q18 was first quarter with no cap rate declines in over two years
Cap Rates are levelling out or increasing in most sectors and markets(One Notable Exception!)
Spreads Between Caps and TNX: Risk Is Relative
259 bps
481 bps281 bps
Bond Price surge has pushed this
back out to about 325 bps
• Greater number of financing sources available
• Less deals to fund (though 2018 $ volume highest since 2015 per RCA)
• Selection Bias
• Refinance options readily available
• Competitive Effects
– As index rates have gone up, spreads have NOT favored the banks!
• 2017: Multi Construction 30 Day LIBOR (1.25%) + 325 bps = 4.50% Rate
• 2018: Multi Construction 30 Day LIBOR (2.25%) + 225 bps = 4.50% Rate
• This is a Pricing Distortion keeping cap rates down
• When liquidity starts to dry up, i.e. banks pull back, cap rates will go up.
Why Aren’t Cap Rates Escalating More Rapidly?
• Cap Rates level to mildly increasing– Warehouse/Logistics does have some room to move down
• Level Caps Because…– Banks haven’t sounded the alarm – Competition is fierce and only getting more intense– Banks can’t pass rate increase to CRE borrowers– Rate Pressure?
• Increased Caps Because…– Yield chasing shows up more in surveys (especially multifamily)– Rate Pressure?– Trade War Concerns
• Construction Costs• Lower Foreign Investment leads to lower demand• What if China escalates “trade skirmish” to full war with Treasury sales?
– General Risk
2019 Cap Rate Outlook
Underwriting CRE
A Risk Management Process and a Philosophy
Link to FDIC CRE underwriting supervisory insights:
https://www.fdic.gov/regulations/examinations/supervisory/insights/siwin07/article02_real_estate.html
• Underwriting helps to identify risks in a CRE project; it is not the elimination of risk
• Underwriting identifies risks in a CRE project and can help to mitigate those risks through loan structure
• Underwriting philosophy should be conservative and responsive to changes in market conditions and property segments
– In terms of the way CRE is used and is affected by external factors, this is probably the most dynamic era in CRE history
Underwriting Risk in CRE Lending
– Over-reliance on past performance
– Failure to evaluate the market and/or the long and short term economic trends of the product type or the area of development, that is, failure to recognize overbuilding in the area or asset
– Failure to assess the total financial condition of the developer by obtaining and analyzing the cash flow on all real estate projects and other contingent liabilities (contagion from other assets)
– Over-lending with too much debt against specific real estate projects
Look familiar? We do not want horror stories!
Underwriting Helps Us to Avoid:
• Consists of much more than quantitative analysis– Lease Review– Construction Contracts (if applicable)– Guarantees/Recourse– Equity– Project Considerations– Site Considerations– Market Conditions
• The quantitative analysis is very similar to what we covered in the Income Approach discussion
• The qualitative analysis is usually summarized in an underwriting memo or narrative analysis
CRE Underwriting
• A Multifamily lease is fairly standard– Student Housing may require parental guarantees
• Commercial lease structures:– Full Service: usually found in properties w/multiple tenants, hard
to pro rate expense
– Gross: Landlord pays taxes, maintenance, property insurance• Modified Gross: includes one or more expenses
– Net: Smaller base with pro-rata or stated $/SF of expense category• Single Net: Tenant pays stated or pro-rata of property tax
• Double Net: “ property tax and property insurance
• Triple Net: “ property tax, property insurance, CAM
• Absolute Net: Tenant pays for every expense related to property (rare)
Lease Review
• What is the lease structure?
• What is the length of the lease?
• Is the tenant a “Credit Tenant”?
• How are tenant improvement allowances allocated?
• If multi-tenant, how are common areas handled?
• Retail Lease Considerations:– Percentage Rent?
– Anchor Tenant or In-Line Tenant?
– Co-tenancy Clause?• This can destroy your mall, community, or strip center loan
Commercial Leases: Office, Retail, and Warehouse
• Sponsors can provide guarantees to strengthen underwriting; loans with these are called Recourse Loans
• Guarantees can “burn-off” as performance metrics are met and surpassed
• Non-Recourse Loans mean exactly that-there is no recourse to the bank regarding the borrowers, the payback is strictly tied to the performance of collateral and only the collateral can be taken back by the bank
– Generally see Non-Recourse lending in CMBS, GSE, and Life Company deals, though commercial banks will do this where competition is intense on larger deals
Guarantees: Recourse vs. Non-Recourse
• What mitigates risk in Non-Recourse loans? EQUITY!
• 1- LTV % = Equity %– Equity generally alluded to in terms of Max LTV %
• Required equity levels vary at every financing source for every property type, but for core properties max LTV %:– Multifamily: 75-80% DSCR: 1.20x
– Retail: 70-75% DSCR: 1.30x
– Office: 70-75% DSCR: 1.25x
– Warehouse: 65-75% DSCR: 1.25x
– Hotel: 60-70% DSCR: 1.35x
– These are estimates-each bank has their own matrix
Equity in CRE Loans
• If construction, CAN this project be done?
– Site Considerations
• Zoning-always use CURRENT zoning
• Utilities-many a project has been killed by cost of sewer
• Environmental Issues
• Soil Condition/Sub-soil issues
• If site OK, SHOULD this project be done?
– Can the property performance alone service the loan?
• Look at property as a Non-Recourse deal
– Market Conditions
Project Considerations
• Market conditions vary by geography and property type, and are rarely static due to CRE’s cyclical nature
• CRE property types have their own individual cycles due to the nature of the specific property type– This is perhaps the most transformative time the CRE
industry has experienced in regard to property types-we will cover this on back half of class.
• How do we judge market conditions?– Let’s step outside of our rigid analytical frameowrk and use
some common sense here…these are radical suggestions…
Market Conditions
• GO TO THE SITE OR PROPERTY AND INSPECT THE MARKET
• GO TO THE SITE OR PROPERTY AND INSPECT THE MARKET
• GO TO THE SITE OR PROPERTY AND INSPECT THE MARKET– This is the most elemental component of CRE analysis; expense it!
Judging Market Conditions
“Knowledge without mileage is B.S.”-Henry Rollins
• ASK SOMEBODY!
– Depending on the size of your bank, you may have a valuations department; ask the people who look at this all day long for a living!
• They may have market studies, appraisals, etc. and can help you identify Demand Drivers
– Get to know your external appraisers
– Get to know your Tax Assessors
– Get to know your commercial Realtors
– Data Providers (Free and Fee)
Judging Market Conditions
• Quantitative Data You Need to Know:– Rent Comparables– Sales Comparables– Capitalization Rates– Expense Comparables– Demand and Supply Indicators
• Data Providers– Free Sources I use:
• Marcus and Millichap• CBRE• Colliers International• Real Estate Center at Texas A&M• Various University and Commercial Realty Sources
Judging Market Conditions
• Paid Providers I use:– CoStar: All property types
– Axiometrics: Multifamily
– REIS: All types except hotel
– Smith Travel Research: Hotel
– Real Capital Analytics: Loan metrics, cap rates, deal volumes
– CBRE-EA: All property types plus Pipeline
– Report Services: PWC, RERC, Integra
• Most data is current or historical, but we need to be cognizant of future supply and demand– Why Future Supply Is So Important! Anderson Example
Judging Market Conditions
• Let’s Review Some Terms:– Loan to Value Percentage: LTV %
– Loan to Cost Percentage: LTC %
– Debt Service
– Debt Service Coverage Ratio: DSCR, expressed as 1.??x
– Break-Even Analysis: where DSCR = 1.0x = NOI
– Operating Statements (existing property)
– Pro Forma (borrower/developer estimate)• Basically their underwriting, usually “happier”!
• Latin: “as a matter of form”, not strict, normal
– NOI
– Debt Yield = NOI/Loan Amount, expressed as a %
CRE Underwriting: Quantitative Analysis
CRE Underwriting Example: Typical Class A Multifamily
• Cornerstone of every great work of fiction!
• Depending on your bank size, you may do $5mm CRE loans or $50mm CRE loans
• The loan amount isn’t important here
• The project size isn’t important here
• The ratios, percentages, and methodology are important
Willing Suspension of Disbelief
• Class A Multifamily (the nice stuff)– Secondary Market– 282 Units– Property has been appraised at $36mm
• Property size/value doesn’t matter here actually, U/W is fundamentally the same whether it is 50 or 500 units
• Loan Terms (limits found in your bank’s loan policy)– Max LTV: 80%– Min DSCR: 1.20x– Term: 5 Years (CMBS, Life, GSE could be 10)– Amortization: 30 Years– Target Debt Yield: 10% (this may not be in your policy)
• Indicates a $28.8mm Max Loan• 3.25% normal rate• 6% stress rate at 30 year am = debt service constant 7.195%
OK, Let’s Start with Some Project Details…
• Borrower’s Pro Forma– Generally is most optimistic outlook
• Appraisal Income Approach– Reflects market assumptions (vacancy, expenses) and rents
• Fully Stressed Scenario– In this case:
• 10% discount on all revenues• No credit for “premium rents”• 10% vacancy or market rate, whichever is greater
• Breakeven Scenario
• Compare Non-stressed Rate and Stressed Rate Numbers
Varying Underwriting Scenarios
BORROWER PROFORMA APPRAISAL REVENUES DISCOUNTED 10%
$/Unit $/SF $/Unit $/SF $/Unit $/SF
INCOME: $1,314 / unit $1.29 / sf $1,314 / unit $1.29 / sf $1,183 / unit $1.16 / sf
GROSS POTENTIAL BASE
RENT: $4,448,316 $15,774 $15.51 $4,448,316 $15,774 $15.51 $4,003,484 $14,197 $13.96
Less: Physical Vacancy $292,327 6.00% $1.02 $355,865 7.50% $1.24 $427,188 10.00% $1.49
Less: Bad Debt / Concessions $0 0.00% $0.00 $0 0.00% $0.00 $0 0.00% $0.00
Less: Mgm't / Model Units $0 0.00% $0.00 $0 0.00% $0.00 $0 0.00% $0.00
Total Economic Vacancy * ($292,327) -6.00% ($1.02) ($355,865) -7.50% ($1.24) ($427,188) -10.00% ($1.49)
PREMIUM RENTS $125,586 $445 $0.44 $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00
OTHER INCOME $298,215 $1,058 $1.04 $325,264 $1,153 $1.13 $268,394 $952 $0.94
EFFECTIVE GROSS
INCOME $4,579,790 $16,240 $15.97 $4,417,715 $15,666 $15.40 $3,844,690 $13,634 $13.40
EXPENSES:
Management Fees ** $228,984 5.00% $0.80 $132,531 3.00% $0.46 $192,234 5.00% $0.67
Administrative $24,816 $88 $0.09 $51,849 $184 $0.18 $24,816 $88 $0.09
Advertising $38,070 $135 $0.13 $59,257 $210 $0.21 $38,070 $135 $0.13
Payroll $338,400 $1,200 $1.18 $296,278 $1,051 $1.03 $338,400 $1,200 $1.18
Contract Services $25,380 $90 $0.09 $88,884 $315 $0.31 $25,380 $90 $0.09
Utilities $211,500 $750 $0.74 $222,208 $788 $0.77 $211,500 $750 $0.74
Insurance $74,730 $265 $0.26 $51,849 $184 $0.18 $74,730 $265 $0.26
Repairs & Maintenance $115,620 $410 $0.40 $88,884 $315 $0.31 $115,620 $410 $0.40
Ground Rent $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00
Real Estate Taxes $448,380 $1,590 $1.56 $525,243 $1,863 $1.83 $448,380 $1,590 $1.56
Other Expenses $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00
TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSES $1,505,880 $5,340 $5.25 $1,516,983 $5,379 $5.29 $1,469,130 $5,210 $5.12
Replacement Reserve $70,500 $250 $0.25 $59,257 $210 $0.21 $70,500 $250 $0.25
TOTAL EXPENSES & REP. RESERVE $1,576,380 $5,590 $5.50 $1,576,240 $5,590 $5.50 $1,539,630 $5,460 $5.37
NOI AFTER REP. RESERVE $3,003,410 $10,650 $10.47 $2,841,475 $10,076 $9.91 $2,305,059 $8,174 $8.04
STRESSED DEBT SERVICE $1,504,108 $5,334 $5.24 $1,504,108 $5,334 $5.24 $1,504,108 $5,334 $5.24
Net Cash Flow $1,499,302 $5,317 $5.23 $1,337,367 4742.44 4.66 $800,952 2840.25 2.79
STRESSED DSCR 2.00 1.89 1.53
EXPENSE RATIO (net of R/Rsrvs) 32.9% 34.3% 38.2%
DSCR BASED ON PRIME @ 3.25% 2.00 1.89 1.53
10.4%Debt Yield 9.9%Debt Yield 8.0%Debt Yield
Underwriting without Rate Stress
BORROWER PROFORMA APPRAISAL
$/Unit $/SF $/Unit $/SF
INCOME: $1,314 / unit $1.29 / sf $1,314 / unit $1.29 / sf
GROSS POTENTIAL BASE
RENT: $4,448,316 $15,774 $15.51 $4,448,316 $15,774 $15.51
Less: Physical Vacancy $292,327 6.00% $1.02 $355,865 7.50% $1.24
Less: Bad Debt / Concessions $0 0.00% $0.00 $0 0.00% $0.00
Less: Mgm't / Model Units $0 0.00% $0.00 $0 0.00% $0.00
Total Economic Vacancy * ($292,327) -6.00% ($1.02) ($355,865) -7.50% ($1.24)
PREMIUM RENTS $125,586 $445 $0.44 $0 $0 $0.00
OTHER INCOME $298,215 $1,058 $1.04 $325,264 $1,153 $1.13
EFFECTIVE GROSS INCOME $4,579,790 $16,240 $15.97 $4,417,715 $15,666 $15.40
EXPENSES:
Management Fees ** $228,984 5.00% $0.80 $132,531 3.00% $0.46
Administrative $24,816 $88 $0.09 $51,849 $184 $0.18
Advertising $38,070 $135 $0.13 $59,257 $210 $0.21
Payroll $338,400 $1,200 $1.18 $296,278 $1,051 $1.03
Contract Services $25,380 $90 $0.09 $88,884 $315 $0.31
Utilities $211,500 $750 $0.74 $222,208 $788 $0.77
Insurance $74,730 $265 $0.26 $51,849 $184 $0.18
Repairs & Maintenance $115,620 $410 $0.40 $88,884 $315 $0.31
Ground Rent $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00
Real Estate Taxes $448,380 $1,590 $1.56 $525,243 $1,863 $1.83
Other Expenses $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00
TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSES $1,505,880 $5,340 $5.25 $1,516,983 $5,379 $5.29
Replacement Reserve $70,500 $250 $0.25 $59,257 $210 $0.21
TOTAL EXPENSES & REP. RESERVE $1,576,380 $5,590 $5.50 $1,576,240 $5,590 $5.50
NOI AFTER REP. RESERVE $3,003,410 $10,650 $10.47 $2,841,475 $10,076 $9.91
STRESSED DEBT SERVICE $2,072,047 $7,348 $7.22 $2,072,047 $7,348 $7.22
Net Cash Flow $931,363 $3,303 $3.25 $769,428 2728.47 2.68
STRESSED DSCR 1.45 1.37
EXPENSE RATIO (net of R/Rsrvs) 32.9% 34.3%
DSCR BASED ON PRIME @ 3.25% 2.00 1.89
10.4%Debt Yield 9.9%Debt Yield
Borrower Pro Forma and Appraisal: Stressed Example
BREAKEVEN
REVENUES DISCOUNTED 10% REVENUES DISCOUNTED 16%
$/Unit $/SF $/Unit $/SF
INCOME: $1,183 / unit $1.16 / sf $1,109 / unit $1.09 / sf
GROSS POTENTIAL BASE
RENT: $4,003,484 $14,197 $13.96 $3,754,379 $13,313 $13.09
Less: Physical Vacancy $427,188 10.00% $1.49 $400,607 10.67% $1.40
Less: Bad Debt / Concessions $0 0.00% $0.00 $0 0.00% $0.00
Less: Mgm't / Model Units $0 0.00% $0.00 $0 0.00% $0.00
Total Economic Vacancy * ($427,188) -10.00% ($1.49) ($400,607) -10.67% ($1.40)
PREMIUM RENTS $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00
OTHER INCOME $268,394 $952 $0.94 $251,693 $893 $0.88
EFFECTIVE GROSS INCOME $3,844,690 $13,634 $13.40 $3,605,465 $12,785 $12.57
EXPENSES:
Management Fees ** $192,234 5.00% $0.67 $180,273 5.00% $0.63
Administrative $24,816 $88 $0.09 $24,816 $88 $0.09
Advertising $38,070 $135 $0.13 $38,070 $135 $0.13
Payroll $338,400 $1,200 $1.18 $338,400 $1,200 $1.18
Contract Services $25,380 $90 $0.09 $25,380 $90 $0.09
Utilities $211,500 $750 $0.74 $211,500 $750 $0.74
Insurance $74,730 $265 $0.26 $74,730 $265 $0.26
Repairs & Maintenance $115,620 $410 $0.40 $115,620 $410 $0.40
Ground Rent $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00
Real Estate Taxes $448,380 $1,590 $1.56 $448,380 $1,590 $1.56
Other Expenses $0 $0 $0.00 $0 $0 $0.00
TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSES $1,469,130 $5,210 $5.12 $1,457,169 $5,167 $5.08
Replacement Reserve $70,500 $250 $0.25 $70,500 $250 $0.25
TOTAL EXPENSES & REP. RESERVE $1,539,630 $5,460 $5.37 $1,527,669 $5,417 $5.33
NOI AFTER REP. RESERVE $2,305,059 $8,174 $8.04 $2,077,796 $7,368 $7.24
STRESSED DEBT SERVICE $2,072,047 $7,348 $7.22 $2,072,047 $7,348 $7.22
Net Cash Flow $233,013 826.29 0.81 $5,749 20.39 0.02
STRESSED DSCR 1.11 1.00
EXPENSE RATIO (net of R/Rsrvs) 38.2% 40.4%
DSCR BASED ON PRIME @ 3.25% 1.53 1.38
8.0%Debt Yield 7.2%Debt Yield
Fully Stressed Scenario and Breakeven Analysis
• Debt Yield = NOI/Loan Amount
• Borrower Pro Forma: $3,003,410/$28.8mm = 10.4%
• Appraisal: $2,841,475/$28.8mm = 9.9%
• Fully Stressed: $2,305,059/$28.8mm = 8.0%
• Breakeven: $2,077,796/$28.8mm = 7.2%
Let’s Talk About Debt Yield: Supplemental Materials
Debt Yield is the ‘en vogue’ CRE lending metric because it cut throughs the BS and gives
a quick read on ability to service the debt.
Anecdotally, 7.2% seems to be the failure line for multifamily, 7.8% for other property types.
Supplemental Class Materials: Debt Yield Explanation
• Underwriting for other property types (except hotel) is not fundamentally different than the previous example for multifamily properties
• In the next section, we will cover the core property types and I will cover brief examples of underwriting for retail/office and hotel
• We have covered a lot of concepts
• Congratulations, we are mostly done with the technical part of the class!
– Great Time to Ask Review Questions
Underwriting for Other Property Types
Core Property Sectors and Subtypes
Characteristics, Market Trends, and Analysis
MultifamilySubtypes, Quality, and Specialty DivisionsClasses and Masses: How Much Is Too Much?
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https://www.axiometrics.com/resources/axio-media/?type=Blog
• I hope you have an idea, because we just underwrote an example and you have probably lived or do live in an apartment or condominium!– Defined as a residential structure with more than one dwelling unit in
the same building
– We are concerned with 5 or more units, not du/tri/quadplexes in this class, and will focus on traditional apartments
What Is Multifamily Housing
• High Rise: – generally urban, major metros, > 6 stories
• Garden: – Generally suburban/rural, literally tenants have access to lawn area, usually
two stories
• Mid-Rise:– Generally suburban, three floor walk-ups to five floor elevator access
• Townhouse:– Two or more floor units that are connected via party walls
• Student Housing:– Public or private housing for advanced education students located near or
on a campus
• Affordable (Workforce) Housing:– Public and/or private effort at affordable housing in community through tax
credits, government guarantees, median rent comparisons, etc.
Multifamily Subtypes
• Class A – Professionally managed (regional or national management companies), and
– Strong potential for specialized take-out sources
– In well-positioned markets with strong demand drivers (universities, medical campuses, employment centers, etc.)
• Class B– Usually 10+ years old (could be newer in smaller tertiary markets)
– Good quality construction conforming to current trends but inferior to premier projects located in primary markets
– Good location in primary market or superior location in secondary or tertiary markets
– Usually professionally managed
• Class C– Usually 20+ years old
– Property exhibits deferred maintenance and requires extensive renovation. In some cases, the property may be well-maintained but exhibits functional or economic obsolescence
– Less desirable location
– Managed locally
Multifamily Quality Types
Multifamily Demand Composition
• Top Ranked Millennials: Stay Mobile
Small Footprint
• Empty Nesters: Downsize/Relocate
• Mid-Pack Millennials/Gen X: Income Constrained
Debt Constrained
• Non-College Millennial/Gen X: Income Constrained
• Some College Millennial/Gen X: Income Constrained
Debt Constrained
Millennial Achievers!
All we hear about in the news!
1) Take the Tech Job in Austin or Finance in Nashville
2) Rent an Apartment Because:
* Maintain Flexibility
* Maintain Mobility
* Can’t Afford Downtown Yet
* Too Busy to Fix Things!
3) Rent a Nice Apartment Because:
* Employer Paid Student Loans
Baby Boomer Demand for Multifamily
Source: PWC
Median Millennials/Gen X 25-44 Years Old
Millennials: 25-34 Year Olds
• Real Wage Growth (2012 $):
• 2000: $59,000
• 2014: $51,000
• Home Ownership Rate:
• 2004: 49%
• 2014: 41%
Generation X: 35-44 Year Olds
• Real Wage Growth (2012 $):
• 2000: $72,000
• 2014: $64,000
• Home Ownership Rate:
• 2004: 65%
• 2014: 60%
Feasibility of Mortgage with Student Debt?
Qualified Mortgages/UW:
43% Max Debt to Income
NAR Estimate Age 21-30:
Car Loan, CC, Stu Loan = 30%
Who Can Afford the Down Payment?
70% Increase in # of Borrowers from ‘05
(est. 22mm->44mm)
70% Increase in Average Balance per Borrower from ‘05
(est. $15k->$37k)
$1.5T of Student Debt in 2018
14% Student Loans > 90 Days30%+ Once Deferred are
Removed
UGA Survey: Four Millennials Who Can Afford a Down Payment
LSU Survey: A Millennial Who Can Afford a Down Payment
30 Year Mortgage Rates 1970-Current
If you were born here…
…all you know is sub 5%!
$33,090
15%
25%
35%
45%
55%
65%
$10,000
$20,000
$30,000
$40,000
$50,000
$60,000
$70,000
1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
65+
Mean Income, 2017 $ Long Term Avg Mean Income, 2017 $ Propensity to Rent %
65 and Up Mean Income and Propensity to Rent
• Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Current Population Survey/Housing Vacancy Survey, April 25, 2019
Age Group
2013-2018 Change in
Propensity to Rent
2013-2017 Change in Mean Income, 2017 $
Under 35 0.8% 12.6%
35-44 1.3% -7.2%
45-54 3.9% 6.8%
55-64 5.1% 4.2%
65+ 12.0% 5.7%
Boomer Rental Base Driving Growth
Labor Force Participation Rate 60+:2008: 21%2019: 25%
Boomers are either forced to work longer or are choosing to do so
1 year lag Permits 1 year lag Permits
Current Hurdle Ratio 5:1 Forecast Hurdle Ratio 5:1
MSA ST A B
4Q18 YOY Ann
Non-Farm Job
Growth
4Q18
YOY %Δ
Job
Growth
3Q17 T12
Multifamily
Permits**
4Q18 YOY Ann
Jobs: 3Q17 T12
Permits
Axio 2019 FC
Job growth
3Q18 T12
Multifamily
Permits**
2019 FC Jobs:
3Q18 Permits
Birmingham-Hoover AL 95.8% 95.4% 7,742 1.5% 256 30.24 6,146 428 14.36
Huntsville AL 97.1% 96.6% 7,233 3.1% 452 16.00 4,324 35 123.54
Tuscaloosa* AL 97.0% 1,475 1.4% 612 2.41 452
Jacksonville FL 95.2% 95.3% 19,208 2.8% 3,939 4.88 18,850 3,230 5.84
Miami-Ft. Lauderdale-West Palm Beach FL 45,042 1.7% 13,462 3.35 61,160 12,582 4.86
Miami-Miami Beach-Kendall FL 94.1% 95.6% 21,158 1.8% 26,266
Ft. Lauderdale-Pompano Beach-Deerfield BeachFL 94.0% 94.8% 14,975 1.8% 18,717
West Palm Beach-Boca Raton-Delray Beach FL 94.7% 94.0% 8,908 1.4% 16,177
Cape Coral-Ft Myers FL 94.4% 94.8% 4,808 1.8% 1,864 2.58 8,400 2,576 3.26
Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford FL 95.1% 95.4% 50,775 4.1% 6,353 7.99 41,832 9,395 4.45
Tampa-St Petersburg-Clearwater FL 94.6% 95.2% 30,633 2.3% 5,639 5.43 30,439 3,831 7.95
Naples-Immolakee-Marco Island FL 94.5% 95.2% 150 0.1% 891 0.17 4,457 990 4.50
North Port-Sarasota-Bradenton FL 95.8% 94.4% 7,700 2.6% 1,194 6.45 7,958 3,562 2.23
Athens-Clarke County* GA 98.4% 3,142 3.2% 176 17.85 141
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell GA 94.3% 94.8% 55,083 2.0% 10,032 5.49 45,949 9,673 4.75
Augusta-Richmond County GA 93.9% 95.4% 6,150 2.6% 500 12.30 2,929 239 12.26
Columbus GA 97.7% 95.9% 1,667 1.4% 259 6.44 995 205 4.85
Savannah GA 94.6% 94.7% 817 0.5% 70 11.67 2,571 906 2.84
Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia NC 93.8% 94.9% 31,125 2.6% 6,316 4.93 21,756 9,391 2.32
Durham-Chapel Hill NC 94.7% 94.7% 5,533 1.8% 1,554 3.56 2,069
Raleigh NC 94.7% 94.7% 18,975 3.1% 3,337 5.69 20,881 5,704 3.66
Charleston-North Charleston SC 92.7% 93.5% 5,958 1.7% 3,003 1.98 6,178 1,556 3.97
Columbia SC 94.9% 93.5% 2,925 0.7% 890 3.29 6,230 409 15.23
Greenville-Anderson-Mauldin SC 93.9% 94.7% 7,058 1.7% 1,040 6.79 8,240 1,420 5.80
Spartanburg SC 93.9% 94.7% 2,792 1.8% 0 0
Chattanooga TN 96.6% 95.7% 6,542 2.5% 899 7.28 4,369 (36) -121.36
Nashville-Davidson-Murfreesboro TN 92.6% 94.9% 20,875 2.1% 5,690 3.67 18,279 5,182 3.53
Austin-Round Rock TX 94.7% 94.6% 36,458 3.5% 9,787 3.73 25,059 12,851 1.95
Dallas-Plano-Irving TX 93.7% 94.6% 84,133 3.3% 26,485 3.18 62,049 27,203 2.28
Houston-Woodlands-Sugar Land TX 93.1% 92.7% 95,583 3.2% 5,474 17.46 89,527 11,728 7.63
San Antonio-New Braunfels TX 93.7% 93.4% 16,000 1.5% 3,012 5.31 20,809 4,424 4.70
*Heavy Student Housing in permit numbers >6 >6
**4Q18 permit numbers have been delayed by 1Q19 government shutdown >=4 but <=6 >=4 but <=6
<4 <4
Axiometrics Multifamily Demand: Supply Ratio
• Axiometrics Multifamily Data/Bureau of Labor Statistics
Percentage of Inventory: ATL MSA (Regulator Favorite)
• Axiometrics Multifamily Data
Percentage of Inventory: Atlanta Midtown Submarket
• Axiometrics Multifamily Data
Market Intel can produce this for all Axiometrics Submarkets
• Rent growth has peaked
• Occupancies have peaked for Class A– Not for B/C (Workforce Housing Need)
• Pace of Expense Growth will or does exceed rent growth
• Cap rates have bottomed out or will bottom out
• Construction costs elevated (hurricanes/tariffs)
• So, just by the math, we are not going upwards in value!– Two Caveats:
• Markets are on different timetables
• Wage growth greatly affects performance of sector and classes
What Can We Say About Multifamily in 2019?
How Has the Economy Changed Multifamily?
• Continued demand from mobile millennials
• Demand from downsizing boomers who like CBD
• Demand from renters priced out of home buying
• Smaller, in-town units preferred
• Oversupply of upper-end units, not enough affordable housing on market
OfficeSlimming Down and Getting Healthy!
Subscribe to Marcus and Millichap Office (and other sector) Market Reports Here:
http://www.marcusmillichap.com/research/researchreports
• High Rise
• Mid Rise
• Low Rise
• Medical Office
• Single Tenant Office
• Owner Occupied Office
• Class A, B, C
• Differential between CBD and Suburban
Office Types and Class Differences
Price Per Square Foot for CBD, Suburban, Med Office
Demand Slimming Down in Office Sector
Regular Office: Tech, Efficiency, Preferences
Med Office: Tech, Government, Volume
Technology Effect: iPhone vs. Radio Shack ca. 2000
The iPhone is only 11 years old!
Technology Effect: Automation/AI
Secular Downtrend in Office Demand: Nashville
Source: REIS
Affordable Care Act’s Effect on Office
• Costs to Hospitals/Doctors Are Significant
o Treat 40mm More People with
o Reduced Reimbursement Rates
o Less Doctors
o Increased Government Presence and Compliance Burden
• Savings Strategies that Affects CRE:1. Scale:
o Hospital Consolidationso Centralize Example
o Practice Acquisitions2000: 57% of Physicians Operate
Independently2016: 37% (Nearing Retirement?)
2. Technology: o Reduce Drains on Doctor Timeo Reduce Physical Space Needso All Files Are Digitalo Patient Portalso Much Smaller Admin Demando Utilizing Compatible Technology
Office Building from Die Hard
– $88mm Loan
– Approximately 275k SF
– 4 year term/30 year am
– 3.5% Rate, stress at +250 bps
– 75% LTV
– 1.20x DSC
• IS Die Hard a Christmas Movie?
Office Underwriting Example
PROFORMA REVENUES DISCOUNTED 10% REVENUES DISCOUNTED 15% REVENUES DISCOUNTED 20%
$/SF $/SF $/SF
INCOME:
GROSS POTENTIAL BASE RENT: $13,697,833 $49.90 $12,328,050 $44.91 $11,643,158 $42.41
PERCENTAGE RENT $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
CAM REIMBURSEMENTS $876,932 $3.19 $789,239 $2.87 $745,392 $2.72
REAL ESTATE TAX REIMBURSEMENTS $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
INSURANCE REIMBURSEMENTS $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Total Reimbursement Income $876,932 $3.19 $789,239 $2.87 $745,392 $2.72
PARKING INCOME $867,435 $3.16 $780,692 $2.84 $737,320 $2.69
Total Gross Potential Income $15,442,200 $56.25 $13,897,980 $50.63 $13,125,870 $47.81
Less: Physical Vacancy $1,024,978 6.64% $1,389,798 10.00% $1,312,587 10.00%
Less: Collection Loss / Abatements $445,557 2.89% $401,652 2.89% $379,338 2.89%
Total Economic Vacancy ($1,470,535) -9.52% ($1,791,450) -12.89% ($1,691,925) -12.89%
EFFECTIVE GROSS INCOME $13,971,665 $50.89 $12,106,530 $44.10 $11,433,945 $41.65
EXPENSES:
Management Fees $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00%
Administrative $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Advertising $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Payroll $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Common Area Maintenance $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Contract Services $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Utilities $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Insurance $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Repairs & Maintenance $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Ground Rent $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Real Estate Taxes $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Other Expenses $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSES $4,512,228 $16.44 $4,512,228 $16.44 $4,512,228 $16.44
Replacement Reserve $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
TOTAL EXPENSES & REP. RESERVE $4,512,228 $16.44 $4,512,228 $16.44 $4,512,228 $16.44
NOI AFTER REP. RESERVE $9,459,437 $34.46 $7,594,302 $27.66 $6,921,717 $25.21
TENANT IMPROVEMENTS $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
LEASING COMMISSIONS $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Total TI & LC $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
CASH FLOW BEFORE DEBT SERVICE $9,459,437 $34.46 $7,594,302 $27.66 $6,921,717 $25.21
STRESSED DEBT SERVICE $4,741,912 $17.27 $4,741,912 $17.27 $4,741,912 $17.27
Net Cash Flow $4,717,525 $17.18 $2,852,390 $10.39 $2,179,805 $7.94
STRESSED DSCR 1.99 1.60 1.46
EXPENSE RATIO (net of R/Rsrvs) 32.3% 37.3% 39.5%
DSCR @ 3.5% rate hedge 1.99 1.60 1.46
10.7% Debt Yield 8.6% Debt Yield 7.9% Debt Yield
Underwriting for Office: No Rate Stress
PROFORMA REVENUES DISCOUNTED 10% REVENUES DISCOUNTED 15% REVENUES DISCOUNTED 20%
$/SF $/SF $/SF
INCOME:
GROSS POTENTIAL BASE RENT: $13,697,833 $49.90 $12,328,050 $44.91 $11,643,158 $42.41
PERCENTAGE RENT $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
CAM REIMBURSEMENTS $876,932 $3.19 $789,239 $2.87 $745,392 $2.72
REAL ESTATE TAX REIMBURSEMENTS $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
INSURANCE REIMBURSEMENTS $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Total Reimbursement Income $876,932 $3.19 $789,239 $2.87 $745,392 $2.72
PARKING INCOME $867,435 $3.16 $780,692 $2.84 $737,320 $2.69
Total Gross Potential Income $15,442,200 $56.25 $13,897,980 $50.63 $13,125,870 $47.81
Less: Physical Vacancy $1,024,978 6.64% $1,389,798 10.00% $1,312,587 10.00%
Less: Collection Loss / Abatements $445,557 2.89% $401,652 2.89% $379,338 2.89%
Total Economic Vacancy ($1,470,535) -9.52% ($1,791,450) -12.89% ($1,691,925) -12.89%
EFFECTIVE GROSS INCOME $13,971,665 $50.89 $12,106,530 $44.10 $11,433,945 $41.65
EXPENSES:
Management Fees $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00%
Administrative $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Advertising $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Payroll $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Common Area Maintenance $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Contract Services $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Utilities $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Insurance $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Repairs & Maintenance $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Ground Rent $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Real Estate Taxes $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Other Expenses $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSES $4,512,228 $16.44 $4,512,228 $16.44 $4,512,228 $16.44
Replacement Reserve $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
TOTAL EXPENSES & REP. RESERVE $4,512,228 $16.44 $4,512,228 $16.44 $4,512,228 $16.44
NOI AFTER REP. RESERVE $9,459,437 $34.46 $7,594,302 $27.66 $6,921,717 $25.21
TENANT IMPROVEMENTS $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
LEASING COMMISSIONS $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
Total TI & LC $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00 $0 $0.00
CASH FLOW BEFORE DEBT SERVICE $9,459,437 $34.46 $7,594,302 $27.66 $6,921,717 $25.21
STRESSED DEBT SERVICE $6,331,254 $23.06 $6,331,254 $23.06 $6,331,254 $23.06
Net Cash Flow $3,128,183 $11.39 $1,263,048 $4.60 $590,464 $2.15
STRESSED DSCR 1.49 1.20 1.09
EXPENSE RATIO (net of R/Rsrvs) 32.3% 37.3% 39.5%
DSCR @ 3.5% rate hedge 1.99 1.60 1.46
10.7% Debt Yield 8.6% Debt Yield 7.9% Debt Yield
Underwriting for Office: Rate Stress
How Has the Economy Changed the Office Sector?
• Secular downtrend in demand has lowered the upside on office recovery
• Technology advances have limited the need for equipment space
• Financial considerations have led to consolidations in space needs
• Preferences may lead to non-office workspaces; shared “office hotels”
• Government policies have resulted in lower reimbursements for medical providers, which has caused a reboot of the way physicians operate (bad pun, sorry!)
Retail and WarehouseEvolution of Supply and Demand
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http://www.retaildive.com/
• The property segment with the most variation
– Big Box/Value: Best Buy
– Community Center: over 150k sf, multiple anchors
– Neighborhood: under 250k sf, generally one anchor
– Regional: clusters of big box
– Mall
– Specialty
– Single Tenant, Credit Rated NNN: CVS, Verizon
• Treated like a corporate bond
– Going Concern Operations:
• Franchise restaurants, C-stores, owner-occupied retail
Retail Property Types
• Warehouse– Logistics/Distribution (what makes a good one?)
• Post-Panamax Compliant, Last Mile Logistics, etc.
– Traditional vintage warehouse
• Flex– Contains larger office component
• Industrial
• Light Industrial
• Data Center– Some call this office, depends on the configuration
• Self-Storage
Warehouse/Industrial Property Types
Retail, Warehouse, and E-Commerce: Sector Evolution
E-Commerce Growth Since 20152018: 15.6% Annualized
2017: 16.9% YOY2016: 14.4% YOY2015: 14.5% YOY
E-Commerce 9.6% of all Retail Sales
5,200 Store Closures in ’174,900 Store Closures in ’1812,000 estimated for ’19
Multiple New Openings (from ecommerce roots)
E-commerce and brick and mortar are notmutually exclusive
Mobile Is the Conduit!
Omnichannel Distribution Model
Three Risks to Retail: Labor, Leverage, and Logistics
Logistics Can Involve Omni Dev Costs, Marketing, Data Analytics, Experiential
What Do You Do With a $15.00 Minimum Wage?Are We There Yet?
Putting the Screws to Regular Retail Competition
• Basically cost Amazon nothing
• Did away with– Bonuses
– Restricted Stock Units
• Great rationale too:– “We’ve heard from our hourly fulfillment and
customer service employees that they prefer the predictability and immediacy of cash”
• Bernie Sanders Liked It!
• We will see a lot of this in 2019Graph/Data: CBRE Econometric Advisors
Humor Break: Think Back Ten Years Ago (or 30…)
• Did You Ever Think Preferred Retail Tenants Would Include:
– Gyms
– Restaurants
– Dry Cleaners
– Nail Salons
– Non-Credit Tenants
– Local In-Line Services?
How Has the Economy Changed the Retail Sector?
• E-Commerce driving an ever-larger share of sales
• Indecision in establishing store template in Big Box retail
• Emphasis on Service Providers and Single Tenant Retail
• Demographics drive drug stores
• Dual income families with no time drive fast casual restaurants
• Equity Stakes in Mall Chains
Warehouse and Industrial
Manufacturing and Logistics Drive Sector Growth
Why America?
Patent Protection
Energy Advantages
Why Southeast/Southwest?
Right to Work States
Relatively Inexpensive/Trainable Labor
Transportation Infrastructure: Ports/Interstate System
Population Migration: GA, FL, SC, NC, TN, TX all Top 10
How Far Fake Can Go in China: Root of Sec 301 Tariffs
How Has the Economy Changed the Warehouse Sector?
• E-Commerce makes warehouse much more active in the delivery chain
• Modern warehouses are required to manage and move products in current logistics environment
• Will be more distribution centers that are smaller near population centers (“last mile”)
Amazon Drone WILL NOT WORK in the SOUTH!…or TEXAS!
• Shipping indices (ARA intermodal and Truck Tonnage Index) are at high points, port volumes are very healthy
• Consumer spending, consumer sentiment, industrial production, and business inventories were strong all through 2018, and all four are drivers of supply chain demand. All are highly dependent on trade situation as well.
• Growth of e-commerce (to the tune of approximately 15% per QUARTER) has stoked demand; values up significantly
• Investors have swarmed the southeast as economic drivers for manufacturing/logistics improve
• CBRE cites “levels of speculative demand that are historically unprecedented”.
– Planning Levels ATL and DAL in excess of 20mm SF
• 2019?
Warehouse/Logistics 2018 Highlights
Warehouse Cap Rates Lead to Sector Value Increases
Recall Warehouse Rent Growth Still Exceeds Expense Growth!
How Has the Economy Changed the Warehouse Sector?
• Labor and transportation costs are highest components of the delivery chain for e-commerce retailers
– Well-placed, modern logistics facilities can offset those expenses significantly
– This explains, in part, the record high prices paid for modern facilities in the current market
• Due to the variation in the types of retail properties, an underwriting example will not be done here
– It is fundamentally the same as the office
– There are two major exceptions, one quantitative, one qualitative
• Percentage (Overage) Rent
– Additional rent paid over base when a sales threshold has been surpassed by a tenant
– Considered in the quantitative analysis
• Co-Tenancy Clause
– The ability of one tenant to exit a lease based on the status of another tenant (can be death sentence to strips and malls)
Underwriting for Retail
• See Underwriting for Office
– Probably the simplest underwriting you would do
• With the exception of Self Storage, which is actually similar to multifamily underwriting on the revenue side.
Underwriting for Warehouse
HotelUnique Among Its Peers!The Market Crests: Sector Tide Turns on a Wave of New Supply
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http://www.hotelnewsnow.com/
• Luxury
• Upper Upscale
• Upscale
• Upper Midscale
• Midscale
• Economy
• Independent
• Flag vs. Non-Flag
• Resort vs. Non-Resort
Hotel Subtypes
• There are several idiosyncrasies in hotel operation, starting with operational metrics– RevPAR: Revenue per Available Room
– ADR: Average Daily Rate
– Occupancy: Yes, just Occupancy
– RevPAR = ADR x Occupancy
• Going Concern Component: Operator, Franchisor, Landlord
• Additional Revenue Generators– Food and Beverage
– Entertainment
– Communications
Operational Characteristics of a Hotel
• The Value of a Hotel is the sum of its:
– Real Property Value
– Personal Property/FF&E
– Business Enterprise Value
• A hotel that is under construction does NOT have any business enterprise value!
Hotel Valuation
Year YE 2015 YE 2016 Acquisition PRO FORMA
Period 12 months 12 months 2017
Rooms Available 43,800 43,800 43,800
Rooms Sold 31,676 30,800 32,802
Occupancy 72.32% 70.32% 74.89%
ADR $94.74 $90.23 $97.13
RevPar $68.52 $63.45 $72.74
Revenue
Room Revenue $3,001,176 86.73% $2,779,110 86.71% $3,186,012 86.46%
Food & Beverage $322,000 9.31% $299,000 9.33% $353,000 9.58%
Telephone $50,000 1.45% $45,000 1.40% $54,000 1.47%
Other $87,000 2.51% $82,000 2.56% $92,000 2.50%
Gross Revenue $3,460,176 100.00% $3,205,110 100.00% $3,685,012 100.00%
Departmental Expenses
Rooms $642,000 21.39% $589,000 21.19% $623,000 19.55%
Food & Beverage $282,000 87.58% $279,000 93.31% $278,000 78.75%
Telephone $42,000 84.00% $39,000 86.67% $40,000 74.07%
Other $14,500 16.67% $14,000 17.07% $13,000 14.13%
Total Departmental Expenses $980,500 28.34% $921,000 28.74% $954,000 25.89%
GROSS OPERATING INCOME $2,479,676 71.66% $2,284,110 71.26% $2,731,012 74.11%
Undistributed Operating Expenses
Admin & General $237,000 6.85% $222,000 6.93% $235,000 6.38%
Marketing $169,000 4.88% $159,000 4.96% $170,000 4.61%
Franchise Fee $238,000 6.88% $202,000 6.30% $258,000 7.00%
Management Fee $136,000 3.93% $115,300 3.60% $147,500 4.00%
Repairs and Maintenance $118,000 3.41% $112,000 3.49% $120,000 3.26%
Utilities $122,000 3.53% $116,000 3.62% $125,000 3.39%
Total Undist. Oper. Expenses $1,020,000 29.48% $926,300 28.90% $1,055,500 28.64%
Gross Operating Profit $1,459,676 42.19% $1,357,810 42.36% $1,675,512 45.47%
Fixed Expenses
Real Estate Taxes $86,000 2.49% $101,000 3.15% $95,000 2.58%
Insurance $28,000 0.81% $33,000 1.03% $30,000 0.81%
Lease $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00%
Other Expenses $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00%
FF&E Reserves $116,000 3.35% $136,000 4.24% $147,500 4.00%
Total Fixed Expenses $230,000 6.65% $270,000 8.42% $272,500 7.39%
Net Operating Income $1,229,676 35.54% $1,087,810 33.94% $1,403,012 38.07%
STRESSED DEBT SERVICE $981,320 $981,320 $981,320
STRESSED DSCR 1.25 1.11 1.43
ACTUAL DSCR 1.49 1.32 1.70
Hotel Operating Statement Example
Top 5 Hospitality Markets
• Smith Travel Research January 2019
“12 Pack” Hospitality Markets
• Smith Travel Research January 2019
Atlanta Hospitality: Metric Trends
1/2019 STR Reports; 3/2019 CBRE-EA SupplyTrak
2019 Supply Shock Risks
133
1/2019 STR Reports; 3/2019 CBRE-EA SupplyTrak
• Upper Tier Secondary Market Hotel
– $45,000,000 Loan Amount
– 288 Rooms
– 5 Year Term
– 25 year Amortization
– 3.25% Rate; 6.0% Stressed Rate
– 65% Max LTV
– Minimum DSCR = 1.40x
Hotel Underwriting Example
Year COMP SET AVG REVPAR PROFORMA APPRAISAL STRESSED BREAKEVEN
YEAR ONE YEAR ONE REVENUES DISCOUNTED 10%
Rooms Available 105,120 105,120 105,120 105,120 105,120
Rooms Sold 82,204 70,346 73,584 70,346 70,346
Occupancy 78.20% 66.92% 70.00% 66.92% 66.92%
ADR $157.54 $161.73 $171.90 $145.56 $129.00
RevPar $123.20 $108.23 $120.33 $97.41 $86.33
Revenue
Room Revenue $12,950,393 87.56% $11,377,780 86.08% $12,649,000 82.46% $10,240,002 86.08% $9,074,673 84.56%
Food & Beverage $961,903 6.50% $961,903 7.28% $2,065,000 13.46% $865,713 7.28% $865,713 8.07%
Telephone $281,400 1.90% $281,400 2.13% $0 0.00% $253,260 2.13% $253,260 2.36%
Other $597,075 4.04% $597,075 4.52% $625,000 4.07% $537,368 4.52% $537,368 5.01%
Gross Revenue $14,790,771 100.00% $13,218,158 100.00% $15,339,000 100.00% $11,896,342 100.00% $10,731,014 100.00%
Departmental Expenses
Rooms $2,557,432 19.75% $2,246,874 19.75% $2,781,000 21.99% $2,022,400 19.75% $1,792,248 19.75%
Food & Beverage $746,185 77.57% $746,185 77.57% $1,716,000 83.10% $671,533 77.57% $671,534 77.57%
Telephone $140,700 50.00% $140,700 50.00% $0 #DIV/0! $126,630 50.00% $126,630 50.00%
Other $447,807 75.00% $447,807 75.00% $328,000 52.48% $403,026 75.00% $403,026 75.00%
Total Departmental Expenses $3,892,124 26.31% $3,581,566 27.10% $4,825,000 31.46% $3,223,589 27.10% $2,993,438 27.90%
GROSS OPERATING INCOME $10,898,647 73.69% $9,636,592 72.90% $10,514,000 68.54% $8,672,753 72.90% $7,737,577 72.10%
Undistributed Operating Expenses
Admin & General $1,136,351 7.68% $1,015,530 7.68% $1,319,000 8.60% $913,639 7.68% $824,142 7.68%
Marketing $532,565 3.60% $475,941 3.60% $659,000 4.30% $594,817 5.00% $536,551 5.00%
Franchise Fee $700,229 4.73% $625,778 4.73% $1,012,000 6.60% $594,817 5.00% $536,551 5.00%
Management Fee $423,679 2.86% $378,632 2.86% $460,000 3.00% $594,817 5.00% $536,551 5.00%
Repairs and Maintenance $367,189 2.48% $328,148 2.48% $554,000 3.61% $295,029 2.48% $266,129 2.48%
Utilities $566,784 3.83% $506,521 3.83% $573,000 3.74% $455,630 3.83% $410,998 3.83%
Total Undist. Oper. Expenses $3,726,797 25.20% $3,330,550 25.20% $4,577,000 29.84% $3,448,750 28.99% $3,110,921 28.99%
Gross Operating Profit $7,171,850 48.49% $6,306,042 47.71% $5,937,000 38.71% $5,224,003 43.91% $4,626,656 43.11%
Fixed Expenses
Real Estate Taxes $475,200 3.21% $475,200 3.60% $1,058,000 6.90% $475,200 3.99% $475,200 4.43%
Insurance $100,800 0.68% $100,800 0.76% $121,000 0.79% $121,000 1.02% $121,000 1.13%
Lease $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00%
Other Expenses $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00% $0 0.00%
FF&E Reserves $126,211 0.85% $126,211 0.95% $307,000 2.00% $594,817 5.00% $536,551 5.00%
Total Fixed Expenses $702,211 4.75% $702,211 5.31% $1,486,000 9.69% $1,191,017 10.01% $1,132,751 10.56%
Net Operating Income $6,469,639 43.74% $5,603,831 42.39% $4,451,000 29.02% $4,032,986 33.90% $3,493,905 32.56%
STRESSED DEBT SERVICE $3,507,835 $3,507,835 $3,507,835 $3,507,835 $3,507,835
STRESSED DSCR 1.84 1.60 1.27 1.15 1.00
DSCR BASED ON PRIME @ 3.50% 2.37 2.06 1.63 1.48 1.28
14.3% Debt Yield 12.4% Debt Yield 9.8% Debt Yield 8.9% Debt Yield 7.7%Debt Yield
Hotel Underwriting: A Different Beast
• Much more competition in the market
– Specialty brands
– AirBNB, VRBO, apartment blocks, condos
• Very subject to change, tech innovations
• Business climate and dollar strength will affect performance in 2019, but should see the cycle inflection point
Observations on the Hotel Industry
Economic Hot Topics Affecting CRE: Taxes, Trade, and Labor
The Wild Cards: Shoot First, Ask Questions Later!
• Mortgage interest deduction has been lowered from $1mm to $750k– This could lower home values in higher priced metros as well as those held
by the affluent
• HELOC interest deductibility has been limited to interest related specifically to purchase money or home improvement transactions– This could be difficult to enforce, however the perception is that HELOC
interest is not deductible at all and this should impact demand of the product from consumers
• SALT (State and Local Tax) deductibility has been limited to $10k, which includes property tax– This is another potential deflator to prices in higher end homes and markets
• The moving expense deduction has been eliminated (with the exception of military personnel)
• In general, the tax reform is more favorable to multifamily rental properties and less so to single family home owners
Tax Changes: Potential Residential Impacts
• Commercial mortgage interest is fully deductible for landlords
• 1031 Tax Free Exchange program has been preserved
• Section 42 LIHTC program has been preserved in full– This is a necessity given the rising rent percentage of income for workforce (B&C
class) multifamily housing
• Corporate tax rate lowered to 21%– Repatriation of capital could also spur demand for new facilities to house repatriated
human assets and domestic operations
• REIT dividends are still fully deductible– Should push REIT share prices upwards, potential disparity between assets held by
REITs and portfolio value of REIT holdings
• Capital investments in plant assets, equipment, and buildings are able to be fully depreciated in the first year– This could overstimulate building that is not needed in the office and retail sectors– New plant and equipment investment would most likely have some effect on
workforce as automation trends replace human capital
Tax Changes: Potential Commercial Impacts
Trade/Tariff Situation and Effects on CRE
Section 232 Tariffs: National Security Concerns
3.23.2018
6.22.2018 7.1.2018
US places tariffs on steel ($10.2B
imported) and aluminum
($7.7B imported)
EU retaliates with tariffs based on 3.7.2018
declaration, $3.4B of US
exports
Canada retaliates on $12.8B of US
exports, primarily steel and
aluminum
6.5.2018
Mexico retaliates
with Phase 1 of $3B of
tariffs
9.30.2018
US, Canada, and Mexico reach a
new agreement, titled “USMCA”,
pending approval by each nation’s
legislature
May 2019
May 2019
US, CAN, MX drop
232 tariffs and
retaliations
US pushes 232 Auto
Tariff Discussion to 11.2019
Section 301 Tariffs: Unfair Trade/Technology Theft
7.6.2018
8.23.2018
Chinese Phase 1 tariffs of
$32B go into effect
US Phase 2 tariffs of $16B go
into effect
7.6.2018
US Phase I tariffs of $32B go
into effect
8.23.2018
Chinese Phase 2 tariffs of
$16B go into effect
9.24.2018
US tariffs on consumer goods of
$200B at 10% go into effect
9.24.2018
China’s retaliatory tariffs of
$60B go into effect
12.2.2018
US and China
extend tariff
cease-fire to March
2019
March 2019
Tariff cease-fire extended
indefinitely
May 2019
US Implements Phase 2 25%
Tariffs on $200B; China retaliates on
$60B
China/US Trade War on in May Despite Positive Outlook 25% tariffs on $200B; $300B threatened Earliest possible meeting late June at G20
USMCA not signed but has regained momentum No EU Deal on 232 tariffs (including Automobiles); discussion pushed out
Economic Impacts: U.S.: Stock market volatility, inventory pulled forward
US imports from China up 6%, exports to China down 5% Chinese investment in US at $4B, down from $29.4B in ’17 Consumer hasn’t felt it yet as tariffs target intermediate goods
They will on the next $300B!
China: Economy, stock markets, political direction Chinese GDP dropped from 6.9% in 2017 to 6.6% in ’18 (probably more), will go
to the 5% range Yuan has moved from 6.2$/¥ to 6.9$/¥, roughly offsetting 13% tariffs
Current Trade/Tariff Situation
• Cost of construction materials
• Negative impact on investment climate (sentiment or legislated)
• General drop in aggregate demand for goods and services
• Tenant Risk related to specific industry challenges
• Main Sectors at Risk
– Warehouse/Distribution
– Industrial
– Retail
• Dollar Stores are especially susceptible to tariff challenges
CRE Risks Related to Trade (in order of appearance!)
Dollar Store Historical Pricing Structure?
.25
Regional Migration/Labor Trends
Laying the Foundation for CRE Performance in the South
Factors of a Slowing Economy
• Congressional Budget Office: “The Budget and Economic Outlook: 2019-2029
“From 2024 to 2029, economic growth and potential growth are projected to average 1.8 percent per year—less than theirlong-term historical averages, primarily because the labor force is expected to grow more slowly than it has in the past.”
Rising Construction Costs
State 2017 In-Migration 2017 US Rank
Florida 566,476 1
Texas 524,511 2
California 523,131 3
North Carolina 313,834 4
New York 285,252 5
Georgia 278,889 6
Arizona 261,727 7
Washington 260,787 8
Virginia 250,490 9
Tennessee 191,909 14
South Carolina 166,573 15
Alabama 111,803 26
Economic Concerns: Labor Pool
• US Census Bureau: 2017 Numbers (November 2018 Report)
In-Migration population numbers are very high in SE/SW
2017 MSA Net Migration
• US Census Bureau: 2017 Numbers (November 2018 Report)
Worst MSAs for Net Migration: NYC, LA, Chicago, San Juan PR, Detroit
Current Forecast
MSA ST
3Q18 YOY Ann
Non-Farm Job
Growth
3Q18
YOY %Δ
Job
Growth
Axio 2019 FC
Job growth
Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford FL 45,817 3.7% 41,800
Austin-Round Rock TX 34,600 3.4% 25,100
Dallas-Plano-Irving TX 81,133 3.2% 62,000
Jacksonville FL 21,708 3.2% 18,800
Raleigh NC 18,042 2.9% 20,900
Augusta-Richmond County GA 6,783 2.9% 2,900
Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia NC 33,300 2.8% 21,800
Chattanooga TN 7,008 2.7% 4,400
Athens-Clarke County* GA 2,592 2.7% 1,000
Houston-Woodlands-Sugar Land TX 80,467 2.7% 89,500
Huntsville AL 5,925 2.6% 4,300
Spartanburg SC 3,617 2.4% 2,200
North Port-Sarasota-Bradenton FL 7,050 2.4% 8,000
Nashville-Davidson-Murfreesboro TN 22,225 2.3% 18,300
Tampa-St Petersburg-Clearwater FL 30,008 2.3% 30,400
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell GA 51,675 1.9% 45,900
San Antonio-New Braunfels TX 18,925 1.8% 20,800
Greenville-Anderson-Mauldin SC 7,442 1.8% 8,200
Charleston-North Charleston SC 5,875 1.7% 6,200
Ft. Lauderdale-Pompano Beach-Deerfield Beach FL 13,600 1.6% 18,400
Durham-Chapel Hill NC 5,050 1.6% 4,800
Miami-Miami Beach-Kendall FL 17,967 1.5% 26,200
Tuscaloosa* AL 1,608 1.5% N/A
Miami-Ft. Lauderdale-West Palm Beach FL 37,233 1.4% 15,500
Birmingham-Hoover AL 6,292 1.2% 6,100
Cape Coral-Ft Myers FL 2,900 1.1% 8,400
Columbus GA 1,225 1.0% 1,000
West Palm Beach-Boca Raton-Delray Beach FL 5,667 0.9% 15,800
Savannah GA 1,217 0.7% 2,600
Columbia SC 200 0.1% 6,200
Naples-Immolakee-Marco Island FL (1,958) -1.4% 4,500
3018 YOY Job Growth/2019 Projected Job Growth
• US Bureau of Labor Statistics; Axiometrics
United States employment growth rate 12.17-12.18 = 1.02%; we like over 2%
Of 31 markets tracked, only 5 are below national growth rate*
MSA
Most Recent
Wage
Growth/NSA
Job Growth
YE18 Industry Drivers
Birmingham 7.4% 1.9% Logisitics, Manufacturing, Health
Huntsville 3.9% 4.1% Tech/Defense
Orlando 9.5% 4.0% Tech/Defense, Logisitics, Health, Tourism
Atlanta 5.0% 2.5% Tech, Logistics, HQ
Charleston 3.7% 2.6% Tech/Defense, Manufacturing, Logistics
Greenville 7.7% 2.6% Manufacturing, Logistics
Chattanooga 8.0% 1.3% Tech (start-ups), Logistics, Manufacturing
Nashville 10.5% 2.0% Health, Manufacturing, Tourism
Austin 6.4% 3.8% Tech (start-ups), Education, Government
Dallas 6.1% 3.2% Logistics, HQ
Houston 6.0% 3.5% Logisitics, Health, Defense/Tech
The RIGHT Jobs: MSA Wage and Job Growth
• BLS
Common Theme: Logistics, Tech/Defense, Health, Manufacturing
Building a Market Intelligence ProgramBecause Regulators Like to See One!
Tailoring to Your Bank’s Needs and Resources
Get Your Economic Data Calendar Here:
http://mam.econoday.com/
• Because you want to make more informed decisions on loans
• Because you want to manage your portfolio more effectively and mitigate concentration risks
• Because CRE industry is changing at a rapid pace and you need to be cognizant of the lending environment and risks
• Because you have seen there are several concerns in each property sector and the cyclical winds has shifted
• Because regulators are going to want to see some evidence of a Market Intelligence effort
Why Do You Need a Market Intel Program?
• If you bookmarked or signed up for free access to the links posted underneath each section header, you are well on your way to having the data that you need to stay informed.
– Best part is those resources were free!
• E-mail me at [email protected] for examples of reporting you can use
Section Header Links
Test Preparation:10 T/F15 M.C.