business intelligence and decision modeling week 12 campaign management: testing & performance
TRANSCRIPT
Outline Testing and Control Groups
(Chap. 14) Campaign Performance Measurement
(Chap. 12) Analytics and Modeling Revisited
(Chap. 13)
About Testing Interactive marketing Vs traditional
advertising
Testing Vs market research
Testing Vs management resistance
Testing for Effectiveness Copy (communications) Execution (creative) Package bundles and offers Clickstreams (email and websites) Cross-channels
Topics in Testing Methodology Sample size Control group or benchmark Test groups set aside for time length Half-life …
Testing Methodology:CI for a given sample CI = +/- Z x √(pq/n) If p = .04, n = 10,200 and Z = 1.96
CI = 1.96 √(.04 x .96/ 10,200) CI = .0038 Thus UCL = .0438; LCL = .0362
Two-tail test!Note: CL confidence level (Z), CI confidence interval (+/-),
UCL and LCL Upper and Lower confidence limits
Testing Methodology:Sample size for a given CL If CI = Z x √(pq/n) Then CI = Z x √(pq/ √ n √n = Z x √(pq) / CI
If p = .04, Z = 1.96 and CI = .0038 √n = 1.96 √(.04 x .96)/ .0038 √n = 101 or n = 10,215Two-tail test!
Testing Methodology:CI for a given sample CI = +/- Z x √(pq/n) If p = .04, n = 10,200 and Z = 1.64
CI = 1.64 √(.04 x .96/ 10,200) CI = .003182 Thus UCL = .043182
One-tail test!Note: CL confidence level (Z), CI confidence interval (+/-),
UCL and LCL Upper and Lower confidence limits
Testing Methodology:Sample size for a given CL If CI = Z x √(pq/n) Then CI = Z x √(pq/ √ n √n = Z x √(pq) / CI
If p = .04, Z = 1.64 and CI = .0038 √n = 1.64 √(.04 x .96)/ .0038 √n = 84.57 or n = 7,152 One-tail test!
Test against Control One single item variable: 2 Groups
SPSS DM Control Package Test SPSS Independent Sample T-test Also available on Excel
One single item variable: 3+ groups SPSS Compare means Oneway ANOVA
Testing Interactive Marketing Treatments Two or more variables: experimental
design Two-way ANOVA (Excel and SPSS)
Testing Treatments (2)
B1 B2 Total A
A1 (A1,B1) (A1,B2) (A1)
A2 (A2,B1) (A2,B2) (A2)
Total B (B1) (B2)
Copy Rational Emotional Total Ask
Ask High Income 1 Income 3 Ask High 1-3
Ask Low Income 2 Income 4 Ask Low 2-4
Total Copy Rational 1-2 Emotional 3-4
Testing Treatments (3)
Rational Tone
Emotional Tone Total Ask
Ask High 8 1 5
Ask Low 5 10 8
Total Tone 7 5.5
Interactive Marketing Campaign Effectiveness
CPM, RPM, OPM (Cost, Revenue and Orders per M or thousand)
CPO (Cost per order)
CPR (Cost per Response)
Cost Measures CPM =
(Cost / Volume) * 1000(19 000$ / 50 000) * 1000 = 380$
CPM media((Media + Insertion)/Circulation) * 1000((40 000$ + (10 * 1 000))/ 1 000 000) * 1000 = 60$
(Insertions are charged in CPM)
Response Measures Response in % = (Response / Quant.) * 100
RPM = (Response / Quant.)*1000
OPM = (Orders/Quant.)*1000)
e-commerce/emailsCampaign Effectiveness
Delivered
Click to open (CTO)
Unique click / Click through rate (CTR)
Cost per impression (CPI)
Paid per click (PPC)
Cost per action (CPA)
Cost per lead (CPL)
Clickstream Analysis
Search PreferenceEdit profile
WelcomeMain message
Download OfferDiscount Offer
Second subject/offer
Links/ Directory Viral information
Email PerformanceName Email 1 Email 2
Mailed 1,172,839 1,172,839 Delivered 1,129,444 1,138,827 Del% 96.30% 97.10%
Opened 242,830 268,763 Open% 21.50% 23.60% Unique Click 44,681 54,559 CTR 18.40% 20.30%
Conversion 1,385 1,582 Conv. Rate 3.10% 2.90% Tot. Sales $169,551 $190,498$ per Del $0.15 $0.17Avg. Order $122.42 $120.42
Mailing Costs $10,555.55 $10,555.55Cost per Open $0.043 $0.039Cost per Click $0.236 $0.193Cost per Sale $7.621 $6.672