bottom up market sizing · ave. acquisition cost per customer $150 =7500/50 ave. share price $350...
TRANSCRIPT
Bottom Up Market Sizing
Number in
Market Specialty Grocery
Whole Foods Marianos
Independents
Annual Market Potential
24
15
15
$5. M
$5.0 M
$2.0 M
25% $33.0 M
$11.3 M
$4.5 M
$1.3 M
15% $0.7 M
15% $0.3 M
$48.8 M
Total Spending on
Category
Total Spending on
Segment
Market Contribution
Chefs
Fine Dining Fast Casual
Annual Market Potential
100
75
$200 M
$150 M
50% $10.0 M
$1.1 M
$100 M
10% $15 M
$11.1 M
Total Market Potential $59.9 M
Sources: Annual reports, company websites, Baker Tilly, SBA, interviews
1 © 2015 New Venture Advisors LLC
More Customers
More Sales/ Customer
Three Ways To Grow
More Products
• Make it easy
• Drive pull-through
• Minimize out-of- stocks
• Optimize pricing
• Market penetration
• Geographic expansion
• Line/flavor extension
• Adjacent categories
2 © 2015 New Venture Advisors LLC
Moment of purchase
How Do Customers Make Decisions?
Ultimately, the consumer selects a
brand at the moment of purchase
Initial consideration
set
The consumer creates an initial set of brands based on brand perceptions and exposure to
recent touch points
1
Consumers add or subtract brands as they evaluate what they want
2 3
4 After purchasing a
product or service, the consumer builds
expectations based on experience to inform the
next decision journey
Trigger
Source: McKinsey & Co. © 2015 New Venture Advisors LLC
3
2 1
Evaluation
Consideration
3 4
Purchase
Post-Purchase
• Inbound marketing – get found • Sales kit – customized pitch
Develop Tools for the ‘Decision Journey’
• Outbound marketing – raise awareness • Broadcast communication
• Sales and Ops coordination • Customer service in place
• Sales follow-up • Customer relationship management
4 © 2015 New Venture Advisors LLC
2
Track Sales Activity
1 Evaluation
Consideration
3 4
Purchase
Post-Purchase
Number Estimated $
Value Cycle
Length Conversion
Rate
200 touches
Var. 25%
50 pitches
1 month 50%
25 new orders
1 week 20% $500 ea. $12,500
5 repeat sales
1 week 75% $1000 ea. $5,000
5 © 2015 New Venture Advisors LLC
Build a Probability-weighted Sales Forecast
Our sales will grow because…
We know our conversion rates and have a strong pipeline
Est. Sale % Likelihood Status Target Customer
Customer D
Total Pipeline $3 million
Customer E
Customer A $20,000
Customer B
Customer C
…
$5,000
$10,000
$5,000
$7,000
100%
75%
50%
0%
25%
Committed - anchor
In discussion - pitched
Identified
Identified
Identified
Probability weighted: Σ Est. Sale × % = $1 million Matches or close to sales projection!
6 © 2015 New Venture Advisors LLC
7
Consider Customer Lifetime Value
We know what it costs to acquire a new customer and their value to our business over time
Our profit will grow because…
© 2015 New Venture Advisors LLC
Total Acquisition Cost $7,500 = Σ below
Outbound (e.g. email, social) $500
Inbound (e.g. AdWords) $1,500
Website design and maintenance $2,500
On-farm events $1,000
Print ads, flyers, direct mail $1,000
Trade Shows $1,000
Total Estimated New Customers Acquired 50
Ave. Acquisition Cost per Customer $150 =7500/50
Ave. Share Price $350
Ave. Cost of Goods 60% $210 =350*60%
Ave. Gross Margin per Customer per Year 40% $140 =350-210
Customer Retention Rate 75%
Customer Turnover Rate 25% =1-75%
Average Customer Lifetime in Years 4 =1/.25
Simple Customer Lifetime Value $410 =4*140-150