a brief view for indian cashback and price comparison market

38

Upload: dhrub-kumar

Post on 18-Jul-2015

119 views

Category:

Retail


3 download

TRANSCRIPT

Marketing

Strategy

Price

Comparison

Cash back

Ad Creative

Cash Back

Educative

Product

Promoter

Digital Marketing

Campaign

Google

Facebook

Mobile ads

YouTube

Price Comparison Competitors: Junglee.com

Launched in: February 2012

Mysmartprice.com

Launched in: 2010

PriceDekho.com

Launched in: October 2012

Cashback Competitors:

CashKaro.com Launched in: November 2012

GoPaisa.com Launched in: 2013

Pennyful.in Launched in: March 2010

90

128

640

783

20163728

110

138

668 662

1982 3132

0

2

4

6

8

10

12

Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in

Pop

ula

rity

= 1

00

0*(

1/A

lexa

Ran

k)

Competitors

ALEXA Rank Popularity

0

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

JUNGLEE.COM MYSMARTPRICE.COM PRICEDEKHO.COM CASHKARO.COM GOPAISA.COM PENNYFUL.IN

Tota

l T

raff

ic f

or

Jan

20

15

(in

millions)

Total Traffic for Jan 2015

Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in

26.07

15.8950.32

3

0.45 4.27

Junglee.com

18.62

7.47

70.4

1.730.61 1.17

MySmartPrice.com

Direct Referral Search

Social Mail Display

6.65

3.5

89.61

PriceDekho.com

61.7516.34

15.28

3.09

1.8 1.73

Cashkaro.com

62.2516.62

10.22

6.63

3.81 0.47

Gopaisa.com

Direct Referral Search

Social Mail Display

41.23

24.11

17.94

13.46

3.17 0.1

Pennyful.in

56

20

5

0 12.57

0.43 0.25

14

7.86

2.29

6.01

0.25 0.03

11.43

4

0.9

0

10

20

30

40

50

60

Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in

PRESENCE ON SOCIAL MEDIA (FACEBOOK)

FB followers (in lakhs) Avg. FB posts per day Avg. Post Engagement

2889

1881

0

343

52 191881

076

11 7

475367

0

196

5 21

0

500

1000

1500

2000

2500

3000

3500

Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in

Presence through Videos and Online Ads (Youtube)

Subscribers Total Youtube Videos Max no. of Views on any video (in thousands)

0

10

20

30

40

50

60

70

80

90

Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in

50.3%

70.4%

89.61%

15.3%

10.2%

17.9%

Total Traffic by Search

Organic Keywords Paid Keywords

Traffic

•Has maximum traffic through Google Search compared to other Traffic channels.

•Focuses on SEM(Search Engine Marketing) and uses paid keywords as main mode of promotion

•Highest percentage share as compared to other price comparison sites’ direct traffic

•Direct Traffic is a measure of Brand Value Penetration which also includes Offline Marketing like TV ads and print Ads

Display Ads

•Highest % of Display ads as compared to other price comparison sites

•Signifies the investment made by Junglee to promote the traffic to it’s page

Social Media

•Social Media Presence very high as compared to other Price Comparison Sites’ competitors

Partners

•Quikr is the Strategic Partner of Junglee.com. They share the database for pre-owned electronics goods.

•Junglee include third Party Sellers apart from e-retailers and boost their sales as payment is made under brand name Junglee.

Traffic

•Major source of Traffic-Google Search

•SEO is major reason for high Google Search Traffic.

•MSP does not invest much in paid keywords

Email

Marketing

•Email-Marketing has been prominent as compared to other PC sites due to mainly

organised listing of a good no. of deals in each mail.

News

•Product discovery will be a focus area, beyond price comparison

•Users Come Through Social Media, and Word of Mouth

•Use SEO for outreach.

Whatsapp

•The new WhatsApp extension is a good move to increase accessibility

Traffic

•Search Traffic includes around 90%

of Total Traffic.

Social Media

•Less active on Channels like FB,

Youtube.

SEM

•No Paid Keyword used.

Traffic

•Major source of Traffic-Direct

•Traffic from Display Ads greater than as compared to other cashback sites

Online

Marketing

•Very Active in sharing posts on Facebook

•Sometimes, run campaigns ONLY on Facebook to incentivize users with extra cashback

•Total Videos and Engagement on Youtube is very high

•Content Play a pivotal in connecting with the audience

Offline Media

•Created a special Student Ambassador Program, seen a 200% growth in student

participation on Facebook and Twitter after the initiative.

•Successful TV ads launched on 3rd September 2014

Partnership

• Exclusive Cashback for shopping on Flipkart

via Gopaisa.com

Campaign

• Launches Unique National Campaign

“Paisebachao,Khushiyanbadhao”

TV Ads

• Successful TV ad launched on 3rd December

2014

Referral

•Traffic share in referral is maximum as compared to others

•Refer-a-Friend policy, wherein our customer gets 10 per cent of their

referrals’ cashback whenever they shop via Pennyful.in for one whole year,”

Withdrawing

Limit

•No minimum withdrawal limit at Pennyful.in

Online

Marketing

•Marketing and promotions mostly take place on the online space

Price

Comparison

•Recently Pennyful launched it’s Price comparison and product Discovery tool

leading to a high rise in Traffic within a week

30

70

Online Traffic (July,2014)

Web Traffic

Mobile Traffic

Total 50% of online orders are coming from Mobile

Myntra gets about 60% of its traffic from second- and third-tier cities

Snapdeal declared that 65% of their orders come from mobile and by the end of the year, they expect the proportion to be in the whereabouts of 90%

According to IAMAI, 65% of internet users are e-commerce customers.

149

15

185

0

50

100

150

200

250

Feature Phone Users Smart phone Users

No. of people in millions (July,2014)

Phone users mobile Internet users

Junglee Mysmartprice PriceDekho Cashkaro Gopaisa Pennyful

App Yes Yes(Compare

Prices)

Yes No No No

Launched 8th

September

2014

11th Nov 2014 17th July

2013

rating 4.0 4.2 3.9

downloads 1 million 500 thousand 100,000

9

10

6

5

Budget (lakhs)

Mobile Ads Facebook Ads Google Ads YouTube

CPI(Cost per Install) of app in Android= Rs.18-62

CPC(Cost per Click)= Rs.1.25-9.25

CPM(Cost per 1000 impressions)=Rs.30.9-37.05

Source: www.wordstream.com

9 lacs

CPC - 4.5

Lacs

CPI – 2.7

lacs

CPM – 1.8

lacs

CPC – 4.5 lacsNo. of Clicks= 4.5 lacs/(avg. CPC)

= 90,000 clicksNo. of installations assuming 26% conversion rate = 23,400

CPM – 1.8 lacsNo. of impressions=1.8 lacs *1000/Lower limit of cost per impression = 58,06,000 impressions

No. of installations assuming 0.5% conversion rate = 7547 installations

CPI – 2.7 lacsNo. of installations = 2.7 lacs/ (avg. CPI)

= 6750

Total Installations = 37,650

Facebook covers almost 95% of digital marketing campaigns in social media of major players like Junglee and Cashkaro.com

Investing over two schemes:

Facebook Ads and Promoted Posts

Facebook ads has been a top performer in creating brand awareness and boosting our offers through Promoted Posts.

Therefore we propose an investment of 10 lacson this social media.

10 Lacs

FB Ads – 4

Lacs

Promoted

Posts – 6 lacs

• FB Ads have a broader reach including newer masseswhile Promoted Posts only appears if some of the FBfriends have engaged with the post or the pagepreviously.

• Although limited but Promoted Posts have a strongerimpact due to more trustworthiness through commonconnections.

FB Ads – 4 Lacs

Cost is analysed on CPM basis which is similar to any normal CPM (source: www.jonloomer.com)

Daily Avg. Budget = 4 Lacs/ 90 days = Rs 4400 /day

Taking CPM = Rs 50 as of Google Adwords

Total No. of Impressions = 4400*1000/50=88,000/day

Promoted Post- 6 lacs

Post

Boosting

Plan

Avg.

Monthly

Reach/post

Total

Posts

per

month

Time Period Estimated Reach

Rs. 62900 7.5 lacs 3 3 months 7.5*3*2=45,00,000

Allocated less than Facebook because conversion rate is 38% whereas that for Facebook is 89%

Facebook is regarded as a better site for promoting brand awareness than google(source- www.jonloomer.com)

Google adwords is inevitable and important as it caters to a larger mass, even to those who are not present in Facebook.

Organic Keywords Paid Keywords

shopsmart.com shopsmart

shopsmart shopsmart.com

shop smart samsung mobile

smart shop snapdeal coupons

cashback junglee

savings online shopping

price comparison cashback sites

coupons best price

discount iphone 6 price in India

samsung mobile pricedekho

Running Two Different Campaigns: ◦ Search Network – Redirecting Traffic

◦ Display Network – Creating Brand Value

Daily Average Budget: = Total Budget/ No. of days = 6 lacs/90 = Rs. 6600

Breaking the Investment:

Rs 6600

/day

CPM for Display

Network

(Rs 2400 /day)

CPC for Search

Network

(Rs 4200/day)

Search Network Budget: Rs 4200/dayNo. of clicks= 4200/ CPC = 4200 / 8

= 525/day (through all the paid keywords earlier mentioned) Display Network Budget: Rs 2400 /dayNo. of impressions= 2400*1000/CPM

= 2400*1000/50 = 48000 impressions /day

Assuming a low CTR of 1% we get 480 clicks per daythrough impressions.

Total Clicks = 1005/day (source for CPM and CPC: www.moz.com)

An innovative marketing strategy for youtube can be to advertise our brand and the cashback concept through online series being overwhelmingly appreciated by people across India.

Emotional Atya-charge, a video by TVF generated 22,00,000 views over 1.7 yrs in a mere cost of Rs 5Lacs to Freecharge for getting itself publicised.

Investing into productions like these can increase our reach manifolds than a normal ad on youtube would do. These productions have the potential of publicising any brand, at the same time telling people about the service that it offers as a part of their storyline. This would be an efficient way to compel people to use our service.

An investment in such a production can amount to Rs 5 lacs giving us an approach to more than 5 lacs viewers in 2 to 3 months thus costing us a rupee per view which is way cheaper than a youtube ad which may cost approximately Rs 15 per view.

http://trak.in/tags/business/2015/02/18/indian-ecommerce-growth-mcommerce/

http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-m-commerce-will-drive-online-shopping-in-2015-2047922

http://www.business-standard.com/article/companies/of-price-comparison-discounts-and-deals-114092900069_1.html

www.similarweb.com

www.alexa.com

www.jonloomer.com

www.wordstream.com

www.heraldonline.com

www.moz.com

www.Wikipedia.org

www.rivaliq.com

www.similarsites.com

www.youtube.com

www.google.com/adwords/

www.facebook.com/business/

www.daysinfo.com

www.yourstory.com