tcsd newsletter 0611

Download TCSD newsletter 0611

If you can't read please download the document

Post on 22-Mar-2016

219 views

Category:

Documents

1 download

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

TCSD Contacts 2 Board Members 2 Volunteer Committee 2 Weekly Workout Calendar 5 Member Profile 5 Location: Glorietta Bay, Coronado TCSD Cares Update 16 Coach’s Corner: Nutrition 18 Safety First 19 Made with Kashi 20 Thursday June 23th 5:00 pm check-in begins 5:45 pm course talk 6:00 pm race start time Location: La Jolla Shores June18th Saturday, 7:00 am 2011 JUNE A Tale of Fiction TBD Refer to the Club’s website for the latest details. INSIDE THIS ISSUE By Barbara Javor

TRANSCRIPT

  • TBD

    JUNE CLUB MEETING

    Thursday June 23th5:00 pm check-in begins

    5:45 pm course talk6:00 pm race start time

    Location: La Jolla Shores

    JUNE AQUATHLON

    June 18thSaturday, 7:00 am

    JUNE BEGINNERTRIATHLON

    Location: Glorietta Bay,Coronado

    Refer to the Clubs website for the latest details.

    panish Landing, a sea-side park in a protected arm

    of San Diego Bay, always elicits afeeling of history and discoveryin meexcept during the annualJune triathlon that takes placethere. I always panic during theswim, never able to completethe course without stopping to tread water atleast once. Ive vowed to conquer the flat-waterswim in the bay Juan Cabrillo entered onSeptember 28, 1542.

    I decided the best way was to practice itrepeatedly until I gained confidence. On a warmSunday in September, I headed to SpanishLanding for a solo workout. I felt history in thesea breeze as I donned my wetsuit and enteredthe water intent on swimming an out-and-backcourse close to the shoreline.

    The first loop took about fifteen minutes, andwithout the pressure of racers around me, I com-pleted it with no problems. Bolstered with thatsuccess, I set out again for a longer and faster-paced loop. Sighting on a buoy occasionally,everything was fine until whap!the back ofmy skull exploded with blackness and bright,shooting stars.

    Sorry, someone said. We didnt see you.I spun around to find a racing scull with a

    number of oarsmen gazing at me. Are you all right? one of them

    asked.I felt a knot forming underneath my

    swim cap. I think so. I turned my head backand forth to make certain nothing felt painful,and tested movement of my arms and legs whileI treaded water. Everything seemed to be work-ing normally. When I repeated I was okay, theycontinued rowing. I decided to continue myworkout and turn around at the buoy near theentrance to the open bay.

    I put my head in the water and startedstrokingleft, right, left, right. The rhythmseemed right, but my head felt a bit like a wadof cotton. If I could swim after being batteredby an oar, surely I could survive flying elbowsand kicking feet during a triathlon. This wouldbe a good test of my mettle. I sighted on thetarget buoy again, figured it would take aboutfive minutes to round, and continued swimming.

    After what seemed like only a few minutes, Iheard a booming voice. I looked up.

    Ahoy, me lad! Whats a bilge rat like youdoing in the water? Aaaargh.

    continued on page 23

    TCSD Contacts 2Board Members 2Volunteer Committee 2Weekly Workout Calendar 5Member Profile 5

    New Members 6TCSD Conversation 7Its the Law 10Race Reports 12

    TCSD Cares Update 16 Coachs Corner: Nutrition 18Safety First 19Made with Kashi 20

    INSIDE THIS ISSUE

    2011JUNE

    TriNewsTRIATHLON CLUB OF SAN DIEGO

    A Tale of Fiction

    By Barbara Javor

  • Triathlon Club of San DiegoP.O. Box 504366 San Diego, CA 92150-4366www.triclubsandiego.orgSend correspondence to the address above or contact President, Thomas Johnson.

    Membership & Renewal$60/year, $45 military (w/activeID), $110 family (2 adults).Additional years available at discount.

    Membership form available onlinewww.triclubsandiego.org/club/joinor fill out and mail application ifincluded in this newsletter.

    TCSD e-listsSubscribe to the TCSD e-mailing lists by sending a blank email withyour name in the body to:TCSD-subscribe@yahoogroups.com

    Publisher & Design/ProductionSprague Design, Dean Spraguedsprague@triclubsandiego.org(858) 270-1605

    Editor Dawn Copenhaver dcopenhaver@triclubsandiego.org

    Newsletter Articles and IdeasPlease send to Dean Sprague at dsprague@triclubsandiego.organd/or Dawn Copenhaver atdcopenhaver@triclubsandiego.org

    Contributing Writers Richard Duquette, Esq.,Jerry Ecklund, Barbara Javor, andCraig Zelent.

    Newsletter Classifieds/AdsContact David McMahon at dmcmahon@triclubsandiego.org

    Beginner Coaches Stephen Banister coaches@triclubsandiego.orgErin Hunter coaches@triclubsandiego.orgSteve Koci coaches@triclubsandiego.orgDean Rosenberg coaches@triclubsandiego.orgSteve Tally coaches@triclubsandiego.org

    Bike Case Rentals Bob Rosen brosen@triclubsandiego.org (619) 668-0066

    Bike Coach Andy Concors aconcors@triclubsandiego.orgClub Store Manager Michelle Panik mpanik@triclubsandiego.org (858) 733-0790

    Creative Team Arch & Christy Fuston fuston@triclubsandiego.org

    Expo Coordinator Anne Fleming afleming@triclubsandiego.org (760) 470-3947Dawn Copenhaver dcopenhaver@triclubsandiego.org (619) 867-2784Karl Johnson

    GP Race Points (Aqua, Du & Triathlon) Your name here! Were looking for volunteer(s)

    Ironman Coaches Mike Drury Liam Thier imcoach@triclubsandiego.org

    Membership Director Bethany Sotak bsotak@triclubsandiego.org

    Newsletter Editor Dawn Copenhaver dcopenhaver@triclubsandiego.org

    Newsletter Publisher Dean Sprague dsprague@triclubsandiego.org (858) 270-1605

    Open Water Safety Officer Dave Huff dhuff@triclubsandiego.org

    Public Relations Director Michelle Panik mpanik@triclubsandiego.org (858) 733-0790

    Race Directors Ann Kelly akelly@triclubsandiego.orgBrian Wrona bwrona@triclubsandiego.org

    Social Directors Lori Amonette lamonette@triclubsandiego.orgMark Kenny mkenny@triclubsandiego.orgKarl Johnson kjohnson@triclubsandiego.orgErin Merz emerz@triclubsandiego.org

    Swim Director Mickey Murad mmurad@triclubsandiego.org

    Swim Director, Open Water Your name here! Were looking for volunteer(s)

    TCSD Cares Steve Tally stally@triclubsandiego.org

    Track Coach, UTC Jim Vance jvance@triclubsandiego.org

    Track Coach, North County Mike Plumb mplumb@triclubsandiego.org

    Track Coach, Winter Tom Piszkin tpiszkin@triclubsandiego.org

    Web Administrators John Hill jhill@triclubsandiego.orgBuck Williamson bwilliamson@triclubsandiego.org

    President Thomas Johnson tjohnson@triclubsandiego.org (619) 987-8822

    Vice President John Hill jhill@triclubsandiego.org

    Treasurer Wendy Harp wharp@triclubsandiego.org

    Secretary Mike Plumb mplumb@triclubsandiego.org

    Sponsorship Director David McMahon dmcmahon@triclubsandiego.org

    TCSD BOARD MEMBERS

    TCSD VOLUNTEER COMMITTEE MEMBERS

    CONTACTS

    NEWSLETTER STAFF ANDINFORMATION

    2

    JUNE 2011

    ARTICLES WANTED

    Share Your Race Reports & Stories!Please send article and digital imagesto the Newsletter Publisher or Editor.Need by the 15th of the month forpublications/consideration.

    Thanks for sharing! What is a TCSD Spirit image? Any TCSD branded item shown in a unique location, setting or way.

    SHOW OFF YOUR TCSDSpirt!Send your TCSD Spirit images to dsprague@triclubsandiego.orgto be considered for the clubs website and/or newsletter.

  • ZZZ7KH7ULDWKOHWH6WRUHFRP

    9LVLW8V2QOLQHRUDWRXU6DQ'LHJR/RFDWLRQ0LGODQG5RDG3RZD\&$

    6/675,$7+/21&/27+,1*

    >L*H[LY[V([OSL[LZH[(33-P[ULZZ3L]LSZ(WWHYLSMVY4LUHUK>VTLU(JJLZZVYPLZ.LHY.PM[Z5\[YP[PVU,SLJ[YVUPJZ4VYL

    >VYSK^PKL6USPUL:[VYL:HU+PLNVZ7YLMLYYLK:[VYL

    T T TT

    L

    2))&RPSUHVVLRQDQG7ULDWKORQ

    &ORWKLQJ$QG)5((6/6UDFHEHOWZLWKDQ\6/6SXUFKDVH

    0XVWSUHVHQWFRXSRQIRUGLVFRXQW

    WWW.TRICLUBSANDIEGO.ORG3

  • 4MondayJune 20th, 6pm

    TRIATHLON 101 &BEGINNERS MEETING

    Attention Beginners! The monthly talk is specificallydesigned to get you started in thesport of triathlon, and our goal isto de-mystify triathlon, andremove the intimidation factor.We will cover triathlon basicsfrom A to Z. All questions fairgame! NON-MEMBERS WELCOME!

    Contact:Questions or comments can besent to your beginner coaches atcoaches@triclubsandiego.org.

    Location:B&L Bike & Sport San Diego Store3603 Camino Del Rio West San Diego, CA 92110 (619) 294-9300)map: http://tiny.cc/75zgc

    SundayJune 12th, 8:30am

    REAL BEGINNERS BIKE RIDE

    ALWAYS REFER TO THE TRI CLUBS WEBSITE AND CALENDAR

    FOR THE LATEST EVENTS, UPDATES AND DETAILS.

    * all dates and events subject to change/cancellation without notice.

    The TCSD Real Beginners BikeRide (18 miles) takes place onthe 56 bike path and is a clubride where NOBODY gets leftbehind. If you can ride comfort-ably for at least 60 minuteswithout stopping (total ride time90 minutes) then this ride is foryou. Please have at least mini-mal cycling ability (can ride,shift, and corner your bike ade-quately). Be ready for a coupleof moderate climbs on the firsthalf of the ride. Beginners needhills too!

    Non-members are welcome, noRSVP necessary! Helmets areMANDATORY.

    Schedule of Events:Bike Q&A: 8:30amWheels Roll: 9:00 am

    Contact:Gordon Clark, coaches@triclubsandiego.org orsharksurfdude@aol.com

    Meet up Location:Parking lot of California Bank and Trust11752 El Camino RealSan Diego, CA 92130map: http://tiny.cc/75zgc

    ThursdayJune 9th, 6pm

    NEWBIE NETWORKINGMEETING

    If youre curious about triathlon,want to work out, race, and havefun with the Triathlon Club ofSan Diego, but are apprehensivebecause you dont know anyoneyet: this is your event!.

    This will be a great opportunityto be introduced to the best TriClub in the world, get to knowother new club members, exploreSan Diego, network, find trainingpartners, and learn the basicsabout the sport of triathlon! Did Imention free pizza & drinks?

    Non-members are welcome, noRSVP necessary!

    Contact:Steven and/or Erin at erinjhunter@yahoo.com, sbaniste2@yahoo.com

    Location: University City Physical Therapyhttp://ucpt.com/ucpt/10803 Vista Sorrento Parkway,Suite 100, San Diego, CA 92121(858) 452-0282map: http://tinyurl.com/29z7587

    UPCOMING CLUB EVENTS

    TCSD Beginner Triathlons

    Dates: July 16, andAugust 13

    DistancesSwim: 300 meters B