nobel prize winner

Download nobel prize winner

Post on 10-Nov-2014




2 download

Embed Size (px)




<ul><li> 1. Nobel prize winners (2005 to 2010) Submiited by: Mandeep, B. A.LL.B 3rd yr, MITS </li> <li> 2. YEAR 2005 Theodor W.John L Hall born on August 21, 1934 is Hansch born on an October 30, 1941 isAmerican physicist an German physicist They both shared 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics for their work in precision spectroscopy </li> <li> 3. Roy J. Glauber Roy Jay Glauber born September 1, 1925 is an American theoretical physicist He was awarded Nobel prize for his contribution to the quantum theory of Optical Coherence </li> <li> 4. Mohamed El Mohamed Baradeiborn June El Baradei17, 1942 is an and theEgyptian law IAEA werescholar and jointlydiplomat. Hewas the Director awardedGeneral of the Nobelthe International PeaceAtomic Energy Prize inAgency (IAEA). 2005 </li> <li> 5. John Robin Warren born on 11 June 1937 is an Australian pathologistHe was awarded Nobel prize for the discovery of bacterium Helicobacter pylori, together with Barry Marshall </li> <li> 6. Barry James Marshall born 30 September 1951 isan Australian physician, Nob el Prize laureate in Physiology or Medicine. Marshall is well-known for proving that the bacterium Helicobacter pylori is the cause of most peptic ulcers. </li> <li> 7. 2005Harold Pinter (10 October 1930 24 December 2008) wasa Nobel Prizewinning English playwright and screenwriter.One of the most influential modern British dramatists, hiswriting career spanned more than 50 years. His best-knownplays include The Birthday Party (1957), The Homecoming(1964), and Betrayal (1978), each of which he adapted to film. </li> <li> 8. 2005Robert J.Aumann born on June 8, 1930 Thomas Crombie Schelling born on 14 is an Israeli-American mathematician April 1921 is an American economist Robert J. Aumann and Thomas Crombie Schelling received the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics in 2005 for their work on conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis </li> <li> 9. Richard Royce Schrock (born 4 January 1945) is an American chemist and Nobel laureate recognized for his contributions to the metathesis reaction usedin organic chemistry </li> <li> 10. They shared the 2005 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, f or their work from the early 1970s in the areaYves Chauvin (born of olefin Robert HowardOctober 10, 1930) is metathesis Grubbs (born 27 a French chemist February 1942) is American chemist </li> <li> 11. George F. Smoot (born february 20,1945) is anYear 2006 American astrophysicist, cosmologist . He won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2006 for his work on COBE with John C. Mather that led to the measurement "of the black body form and anisotropy of the cosmic microwave background radiation." </li> <li> 12. Cromwell Mather (born August 7, 1946) is an American astrophysicist, cosmologist He is Nobel Prize in Physics laureate for his work on the Cosmic Background Explorer Satellite (COBE) with George Smoot. </li> <li> 13. Muhammad Yunus (born 28 June 1940) is a Bangladeshieconomist and founder of theGrameen Bank, an institution that provides microcredit to help its clients establishcreditworthiness and financialself-sufficiency. In 2006 Yunus and Grameen received the Nobel Peace Prize </li> <li> 14. Craig Cameron Andrew ZacharyMello (b. October Fire (b. April 18, 1960) is a 27, 1959) is Portuguese- an American bioAmerican biologist logist They were awarded the 2006 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine ,for the discovery of RNA interference </li> <li> 15. Ferit 2006 He was Orhan awarded aPamuk (b. nobel prize in 7 June literature1952), ge and his nerally work has known sold over simply sevenas Orhan millionPamuk, is books in a Turkish more than fifty novelist languages </li> <li> 16. Edmund Strother Phelps, Jr. (b.July 26,1933) is an Americaneconomist. The SverigesRiksbank prize in Economicsciences in Memory ofAlferd Nobel 2006 wasawarded to him for hisanalysis of intertemporaltradeoffs inmacroeconomic policy </li> <li> 17. Roger David Komberg(born April 24,1947)is an Americanbiochemist. He wasawarded the Nobelprize in chemistry in2006 for his studiesof the process bywhich geneticinformation fromDNA is copied to RNA </li> <li> 18. 2007 Albert Peter Andreas Fert (born 7 Grnberg (b. March 1938 ) is 18 May 1939)a French physicis They both were is German t awarded the physicist Nobel prize 2007 for their discovery of giant magnetoresistanc e which brought about a breakthrough in gigabyte hard disks </li> <li> 19. Albert "Al" Gore, Jr. (b.March 31, 1948) served asthe 45th Vice President ofthe United States(19932001), under President Bill ClintonHe has receiveda Nobel Peace Prize forhis work in climatechange activism </li> <li> 20. Intergovernmental Panel on ClimateChange (IPCC) is a scientific intergovernmentalbody tasked with reviewing and assessing themost recent scientific, technical andsocioeconomic information produced worldwiderelevant to the understanding of climate change.The IPCC shared the 2007 Nobel peace prizewith Al Gore. </li> <li> 21. Oliver Smithies (born June 23, 1925) isa British-born American geneticistand Nobel laureate, for the inventionof gel electrophoresis in 2007 2007 </li> <li> 22. Sir Martin JohnEvans (b. 1 january1941) is a BritishScientist. He geneticallymodified and implantedit into adult female micewith the intent ofcreating geneticallymodified offspring, workfor which he wasawarded the 2007 NobelPrize. </li> <li> 23. Mario RenatoCapecchi (b. 6 October1937) is an Italian-born American molecular geneticist and a co-winner ofthe 2007 Nobel Prize inPhysiology or Medicine fordiscovering a method forintroducing homologousrecombination in miceemploying embryonic stemcells. </li> <li> 24. Doris May Lessing (b. 22october 1919) is a Britishwriter. Her Novelsinclude The Grass isSinging ,The GoldenNotebook, and fivenovels collectively knownas Canopus in Argos.Lessing was awarded the2007 Nobel Prize inLiterature. </li> <li> 25. Eric S. Maskin2007 (b. dec. 12, 1950) is an American Economist Roger B. Myerson (b. March 29, 1951) is an American economist They shared the Leonid Hurwicz 2007 Nobel (b. Aug.21, 1917) Memorial Prize in was a Russian-American economist Economic Science for their work on mechanism design. </li> <li> 26. Gerhard Ertl (born 10October 1936) isa German physicistand aProfessor emeritus atthe Department ofPhysical Chemistry.He won the2007 Nobel Prize inChemistry. </li> <li> 27. 2008Yoichiro Nambu ( born January18, 1921) is a Japanese-bornAmerican physicist. He wasawarded Nobel Prize inPhysics in 2008 for the discoveryof the mechanismof spontaneous brokensymmetry in subatomic physics </li> <li> 28. Toshihide Maskawa(b. February 7, 1940) is a Japanese theoretical physicist known for his work on CP-violation who was awarded one quarter of the2008 Nobel Prize in Physics "for thediscovery of the origin of the brokensymmetry which predicts the existence ofat least three families of quarks in nature." </li> <li> 29. 2008 Makoto Kobayashi (born April 7, 1944) is a Japanese physicist known for his work on CP-violation who wasawarded one quarter of the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physics "for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry whichpredicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature." </li> </ul>