national rugby league toyota cup season review

Download National Rugby League Toyota Cup Season Review

Post on 25-Dec-2015




0 download

Embed Size (px)


  • Slide 1
  • National Rugby League Toyota Cup Season Review
  • Slide 2
  • Slide 3
  • 2008 Premiers Canberra Raiders 28 defeated Brisbane Broncos 24 (extra time)
  • Slide 4
  • Competition Table 2008 NRL Toyota Cup After Round26 PositionNRL ClubWLDBForAgainstDifferencePoints 1Raiders1860274458116340 2Broncos1581268447620835 3Warriors1473272153318835 4Panthers1581269258310935 5Eels147325785641435 6Dragons139225615204132 7Bulldogs1293271158712431 8Titans13101268656711931 9Tigers131102620623-330 10Rabbitohs11 226185843428 11Eagles111302519532-1326 12Knights81512526630-10421 13Storm81512512638-12621 14Sharks61712394666-27217 15Roosters61802480721-24116 Cowboys41732455696-24115
  • Slide 5
  • Season Highlights Coverage by Fox Sports of 2 Toyota Cup games per week LIVE 52 Players competing in both the Toyota Cup and Telstra Premiership A proven development pathway for players, match officials and administrators The announcement of the Toyota Cup Team of the Year Recognition for the Player of the Year at the Dally M Awards Toyota rewarding recipient with a loan car for 12 months Presentation of the Jack Gibson Medal to the player of the match in the Toyota Cup GF Players competing in the Toyota Cup were required to attend an Induction Camp which introduced them to the expectations and responsibilities of semi professional football Over 350 players participated in referees course with several using this to officiate in games throughout the season 98% of players were either employed or undertaking some form of study at an education institution. (school, TAFE, University)
  • Slide 6
  • TV Ratings Highest Viewing Audience - Saturday112,000 Sunday63,000 Average 54,271 per game Grand Final Ratings Channel 9 SYD. BRIS. 418,742 Regional 302,307 Fox Sports62,957
  • Slide 7
  • Honour Roll Brisbane - Josh Hoffman, Andrew McCullough Bulldogs Heka Nanai (07), Arana Taumata, Ben Barba, John Kite, Jamal Idris Canberra Justin Carney, Joel Thompson Cronulla Jayson Bukuya, Karl Filiga Gold Coast Esikeli Tonga, Shannon Walker, Will Matthews, Jordan Rapana, Jordan Rankin Melbourne Liam Foran, Sam Joe, Kevin Proctor, Aiden Tolman, Joseph Tomane North Queensland Obe Geia, Nick Slyney, Sam Bowie, Brandon Boor Parramatta Kristopher Keating, Taulima Tautai, Tony Williams, Penrith Wade Graham, Tim Grant (07), Masada Iosefa, Sam McKendry, Joseph Paulo, Lachlan Coote, Daniel Penese, William Isa South Sydney Luke Capewell, Sam Huihahau, Eddie Paea (06), Eddy Pettybourne (07), Chris Sandow St George illawarra Lagi Setu (07), Chase Stanley (07) Sydney Roosters Anthony Cherrington, Jake Friend, Ben Jones Warriors Sonny Fai, Ben Matulino, Russell Packer, Patrick Ah Van (06) Wests Tigers Tim Moltzen, Peni Tagive 52 players competed in the Toyota Cup and Telstra Premiership
  • Slide 8
  • Awards Toyota Cup Player of the Year Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos) Dally M Rookie of the Year Chris Sandow (Rabbitohs) Jack Gibson Medal - Josh Dugan (Canberra Raiders) George Green Medal Chris Sandow (Rabbitohs)
  • Slide 9
  • Toyota Cup Team of the Year Fullback: Lachlan Coote (Penrith Panthers) Wing: Jharal Yow Yeh (Brisbane Broncos) Centre: Justin Carney (Canberra Raiders) Centre: Tony Williams (Parramatta Eels) Wing: Kevin Gordon (Gold Coast Titans) Five-Eighth: Ben Barba (Bulldogs) Halfback: Chris Sandow (South Sydney Rabbitohs) Prop: Russell Packer (Warriors) Hooker: Masada Iosefa (Penrith Panthers) Prop: John Kite (Bulldogs) Second Row: Joel Thompson (Canberra Raiders) Second Row: Daniel Harrison (Bulldogs) Lock: Shaun Fensom (Canberra Raiders) Interchange: Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos) Interchange: Matt Mundine (St George Illawarra Dragons) Interchange: Jordan Rapana (Gold Coast Titans) Interchange: Ben Matulino (Warriors)
  • Slide 10
  • Team of the Year
  • Slide 11
  • Player Statistics 550 players were used in the Toyota Cup in its inaugural season On average 34 players were used by each club in the Toyota Cup this season 57% of players that competed in the Toyota Cup this year are eligible in 2009 98% of players were either employed or engaged in some form of study The Mandated Non Training hours enabled the players to fulfill their employment and education obligations Ben Barba was the leading point scorer in the competition with an amazing 248 points (28 tries, 67 goals and 2 field goals) There were 11 draws throughout the season (no extra time) 10 Toyota Cup players will represent their country in the 2008 World Cup 5 Toyota Cup players were selected in the Aboriginal Dream Team 2 Toyota Cup players were selected to represent the NZ Maori team
  • Slide 12
  • Publicity
  • Slide 13
  • 2009 and beyond The Toyota Cup will remain an under 20s competition in 09 The Mandated Non Training Hours have been extended from 8.00am 5.00pm on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday LAHA has a maximum excluded amount of $200 per week per player and is regardless of rent, sustenance or other The Tertiary Education Allowance is now regarded as a $15,000 (gross) allowance Toyota have resigned for 2 years with a 2 year option There are current negotiations between Fox Sports and the NRL regarding broadcast rights for the next 4 years A season review is currently underway. Some of the points raised include: Maintain flexibility with Mandated Non Training Hours Increased demand on Club Welfare Managers Use of Video Referee in Finals Matches Improving the turnover of match footage and stats Added costs to clubs for travelling teams, meals etc. Induction Camp program to have more workshops that encourage player participation
  • Slide 14
  • Oh What a Feeling


View more >