Ilf fort wayneinnovation

Download Ilf fort wayneinnovation

Post on 23-Jan-2015

985 views

Category:

Education

2 download

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

 

TRANSCRIPT

<ul><li> 1. SpottingTrends andOpportunities:Innovationin an Ageof Limits</li></ul> <p> 2. Stephen Abram, MLSIndiana Library FederationFort Wayne, INNov. 15, 2011 3. News FlashNews FlashTech Shift HappensPeople Shift Follows 4. What has changed academically? Recognize key shifts:1. Library at the center of academic settings NOT.2. Serials versus Books3. Non-fiction versus fiction4. Teens versus the rest5. Administration and Faculty Shift6. Discipline versus inter-disciplinary7. Technology as a tool, not the goal 5. Focus on the Shifts And Innovate THERE Incremental improvements of pastsuccesses and platforms will not get us to where we need to be 6. Sensemaking 7. Grocery Stores 8. Grocery Stores 9. Grocery Stores 10. Cookbooks, Chefs . . . 11. Cookbooks, Chefs . . . 12. Meals 13. The newbibliography andcollectiondevelopmentKNOWLEDGE PORTALS KNOWLEDGE, LEARNING, INFORMATION &amp; RESEARCH COMMONS 14. You have the tools. 15. Stop Making it so Hard! 16. Trans-Literacy: Measure the Impact(s) Reading literacy News literacy Numeracy Technology literacy Critical literacy Information literacy Social literacy Media literacy Computer literacy Adaptive literacy Web literacy Research literacy Content literacy Academic literacy Written literacy Reputation, Etc. 17. List of content farms and general spammyuser generated content sites: All Experts (allexperts.com) Experts Exchange (experts-exchange.com) Answers (answers.com) eZine Articles (ezinearticles.com) Answer Bag (answerbag.com) Find Articles (findarticles.com) Articles Base (articlesbase.com) FixYa (fixya.com Helium (helium.com) Ask (ask.com) Hub Pages (hubpages.com) Associated Content (associatedcontent.com) InfoBarrel (infobarrel.com) BizRate (bizrate.com) Livestrong (livestrong.com) Buzle (buzzle.com) Mahalo (mahalo.com) Brothersoft (brothersoft.com) Mail Archive (mail-archive.com) Bytes (bytes.com) ChaCha (chacha.com) Question Hub (questionhub.com) eFreedom (efreedom.com) Squidoo (squidoo.com) eHow (ehow.com) Suite101 (suite101.com) Essortment (essortment.com) Twenga (twenga.com) Examiner (examiner.com) WiseGeek (wisegeek.com) Expert Village (expertvillage.com) Wonder How To (wonderhowto.com) Yahoo! Answers (answers.yahoo.com) Xomba (xomba.com) 18. The nasty facts about Google &amp;Bing andconsumer search:SEO / SMO Content FarmsAdvertiser-drivenGeotagging 19. StrategicAnalytics 20. What We Never Really Knew Before (US/Canada) 27% of our users are under 18. 59% are female. We often 29% are college students.believe a lot 5% are professors and 6% are teachers.isntthat true. On any given day, 35% of our users are there for the veryfirst time! Only 29% found the databases via the library website. 59% found what they were looking for on their first search. 72% trusted our content more than Google. But, 81% still use Google. 21. 2010 Eduventures Research on Investments 58% of instructors believe that technology in courses positively impacts student engagement. 71% of instructors that rated student engagement levels as high as a result of using technology incourses. 71% of students who are employed full-time and 77% of students who are employed part-timeprefer more technology-based tools in the classroom. 79% of instructors and 86 percent of students have seen the average level of engagement improveover the last year as they have increased their use of digital educational tools. 87% of students believe online libraries and databases have had the most significant impact ontheir overall learning. 62% identify blogs, wikis, and other online authoring tools while 59% identify YouTube andrecorded lectures. E-books and e-textbooks impact overall learning among 50% of students surveyed, while 42% ofstudents identify online portals. 44% of instructors believe that online libraries and databases will have the greatest impact onstudent engagement. 32% of instructors identify e-textbooks and 30% identify interactive homework solutions as havingthe potential to improve engagement and learning outcomes. (e-readers was 11%) 49% of students believe that online libraries and databases will have the greatest impact onstudent engagement. Students are more optimistic about the potential for technology. 22. What do we need to know? How do library databases and virtual servicescompare with other web experiences? Who are our core virtual users? Are there gaps? Does learning happen? How about discovery? What are user expectations for true satisfaction? How does library search compare to consumersearch like Google and retail or government? How do people find and connect with library virtualservices? Are end users being successful in their POV? Are they happy? Will they come back? Tell a friend? 23. Take backtheStrategy:Rebalance 24. Summary Focus on the Questions (Needs, CRM) Build or Buy Knowledge Portals (Meals) Emphasize Content Quality (not books) Expand Programs on Information Literacy Become Truly Format Agnostic Invest in Strategic Analytics Measurements of Impact, ROI and Value Be Lesson-centric 25. A Third Path 26. Emboldened Librarians hold the key 27. Stephen Abram, MLS, FSLAVP strategic partnerships and markets Cengage Learning (Gale) Cel: 416-669-4855stephen.abram@cengage.com Stephens Lighthouse Blog http://stephenslighthouse.com Facebook: Stephen AbramLinkedIn / Plaxo: Stephen AbramTwitter: sabram SlideShare: StephenAbram1 </p>