how to grow your buiness with social media

63
How to Grow Your Business with Social Media Jamie Turner Co-author, How to Make Money with Social Media and Go Mobile Chief Content Officer, the 60 Second Marketer

Upload: jamie-turner

Post on 09-May-2015

2.448 views

Category:

Self Improvement


4 download

DESCRIPTION

Are you interested in Social Media ROI or Social Media Best Practices? Then check out this deck from Jamie Turner,co-Author of "How to Make Money with Social Media." These slides contain plenty of statistics and data on social media and how to use social media.

TRANSCRIPT

Page 1: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How to Grow Your Business with Social Media

Jamie TurnerCo-author, How to Make Money with Social Media and Go Mobile

Chief Content Officer, the 60 Second Marketer

Page 2: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media
Page 3: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Introductions

As Seen On

• Co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Go Mobile

• Regular guest on CNN and HLN on the topic of social media and mobile marketing

• Consults with small, medium and large corporations

Page 4: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Twitter Handle: @AskJamieTurner

I’m watching @AskJamieTurner present “How to Grow My Business with Social Media” sponsored by T-Mobile

Page 5: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Agenda

• How Consumers Make Buying Decisions

• How to Use Social Media to Connect with Customers

• New Tips and Techniques in Mobile Marketing

• Applause

55 minutes

Agenda Item Time Allotment

55 minutes

55 minutes

3 hours

Page 7: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

60 Second Social Media Snapshot

7

Page 8: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

• Rate yourself on a scale for part time vs. full time

• Rate yourself on a scale for tactical vs. strategic

60 Second Social Media Snapshot

Strategic

Part Time

Tactical

Full Time

Page 9: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for part time vs. full time

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for tactical vs. strategic

60 Second Social Media Snapshot

Page 10: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for part time vs. full time

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for tactical vs. strategic

60 Second Social Media Snapshot

1

Page 11: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for part time vs. full time

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for tactical vs. strategic

60 Second Social Media Snapshot

1

2

Page 12: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for part time vs. full time

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for tactical vs. strategic

60 Second Social Media Snapshot

1

23

Page 13: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for part time vs. full time

• Rate yourself on a scale of 1 to 10 for tactical vs. strategic

60 Second Social Media Snapshot

1

23

4

Page 14: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How People Make Buying Decisions

Page 15: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

The AIDA Model of Consumer Behavior

Consumer Response ModelsConsumer Response ModelsConsumer Response ModelsConsumer Response ModelsConsumer Response Models

Cognition Phase

AttentionAwareness, Knowledge

AwarenessPresentation,

Attention, Comprehension

Affective Phase

Interest, DesireLiking,

Preference, Conviction

Interest, Evaluation

Yielding, Retention

Behavioral Phase

Action Purchase Adoption Behavior

Page 16: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How People Make Buying Decisions

• A 30¢ pack of gum takes 30 seconds

• A $300 TV set takes 3 days

• A $30,000 car takes 30 days

• A $300,000 house takes 3 months

Page 17: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How People Make Buying Decisions

• 70% of consumers make purchase decisions based on input from people they know

• 40% will use information from experts or other consumers

• Only 5% trust marketers

Page 18: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How People Make Buying Decisions

Page 19: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How People Make Buying Decisions

Female Brain

Page 20: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How People Make Buying Decisions

Female Brain Male Brain

Page 21: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Why People Don’t Buy Products

• I don’t need what you’re selling

• I don’t have the money

• I don’t have the time to investigate this right now

• I don’t trust you

Page 22: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Let’s Talk About Social Media

Page 23: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Yesterday: The Good Old Days

Page 24: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

21st Century Marketing Model

Page 25: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How the Fortune 500 Make Money with Social Media

Page 26: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Business ModelsBranding: Use social media as a branding tool to build awareness and connect with customers

Page 27: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Business Models

E-Commerce: Drive prospects to an e-commerce landing page and convert those prospects to customers

Page 28: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Business Models

Research: Use social media as a research tool to generate customer input and feedback

Page 29: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Business Models

Customer Retention: Use social media as a customer retention tool to reduce churn

Page 30: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Business ModelsLead Generation: Drive leads to a website and re-market to those leads, ultimately converting them to customers

E-Newsletter Email MarketingYouTube Channel

Speeches

Live Events

Virtual Events

Webinars

eBooks

Twitter

Forums

Mobile Apps Blog Postings

You

Page 31: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Tools and Techniques

Connect Promote Share

Page 32: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Tools that Help You Connect

Connect

Page 33: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Tools that Help You Connect

Page 34: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Tools that Help You Connect

Page 35: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Tools that Help You Promote

Promote

Page 36: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Tools that Help You Promote

Page 37: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Tools and Techniques

Share

Page 38: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Tools and Techniques

Page 39: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Social Media Tools and Techniques

Page 40: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media
Page 41: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

How to Measure a Social Media Campaign

Page 42: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Three Categories of Measurement

Quantitative

• Facebook fans• Twitter followers• Unique page views• Etc.

Qualitative

• Survey responses• Customer feedback• Brand sentiment• Etc.

ROI

•Marketing mix models

•Conversions and NPV

•CLV and ACPS•Etc.

Page 43: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Quantitative

Page 44: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Quantitative: Traffic

Page 45: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Quantitative: Online Chatter

Page 46: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Quantitative: Breadth of Engagement

Page 47: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Quantitative: Leads Generated

E-Newsletter

60 Second Marketer Website

YouTube Videos

Speeches

Events

Blog Postings

Online Seminars and Webinars

eBooks

Twitter

Forums

:60 Online University Blog

:60 Online University Articles

Downloads

Page 48: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Quantitative: Depth of Engagement

Page 49: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Other Quantitative Metrics

1. Inbound links2. Social bookmarks3. Likes on Facebook4. E-book downloads5. Ratings6. Participation in polls7. Contest entries8. New e-newsletter

subscribers9. E-newsletter unsubscribers10.Bounce rate

Page 50: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Qualitative

Page 51: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Qualitative: Polls, Questions and Customer Feedback

Page 52: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Qualitative: Polls, Questions and Customer Feedback

Page 53: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Qualitative: Brand Sentiment

Page 54: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

ROI

Page 55: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

ROI: Customer Retention

It costs 3 to 5 times as much to get a new customer as it does to retain an existing customer.

By keeping customers engaged, involved and active with your brand, you’ll be preventing them from changing their loyalty.

60SecondMarketer.com -> Videos -> Branding

Page 56: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

ROI: Customer Retention

Page 57: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

ROI: Conversion

Page 58: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Calculating Customer Lifetime Value

The revenue generated by a customer during his or her lifetime with your brand.

CLV for Scott’s Lawn Care:

$80 per month x 12 months x 3.0 years

CLV = $2,880

Allowable Cost Per Sale:

$2,880 x 10% = $288

Page 59: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Calculating Customer Lifetime Value

Scott’s Direct Mail:

200 pieces x 0.5% = 1 new customer

$1.44 per piece x 200 = $288

Allowable Cost Per Sale = $288

1 customer for every $288 spent

Scott’s Annual Direct Mail Spend:

$2.8 million = 2 million pieces x 0.5% = 10,000 new customers per year

Page 60: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Calculating Customer Lifetime Value

Testing Direct Mail vs. Social Media

$2.8 million x 10% = $280,000 to test a social media campaign

Social media campaign costs:Labor: $140,000

Production: $100,000 Miscellaneous: $ 40,000

Total: $ 280,000

Social media success:

$280,000 spent in direct mail = 1,000 new customers$280,000 spent in social media = ?

Page 61: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

60SecondMarketer.com/SocialMediaROI

Page 62: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media
Page 63: How to Grow Your Buiness with Social Media

Contact Me

The Download60SecondMarketer.com/SocialMediaROI

Follow me here:60SecondMarketer.com/blog@AskJamieTurner

Contact me:[email protected]