grp
DESCRIPTION
TRANSCRIPT
GRP - contMedia Vehicle Target Rating No. of messagaes
(ads)Total GRPs
Aaj Kamran Khan Ke Saath
12 4 48
Aaj ka sawal 4.5 2 9
Crossfire 6.7 3 20.1
Total 77.1
Target Rating Point
2 systems used to measure TRPs
1. Diary system2. People’s meters
Reach
• Reach is the percentage of target population that is exposed to an advertiser’s message at least once.
Viewing homes/week for Aaj Kamran ke SaathHome Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Total
Viewers1 TV - TV TV 3
2 TV - - TV 2
3 - TV - - 1
4 - TV TV TV 3
5 - - - - 0
6 - - - TV 1
7 TV TV TV - 3
8 TV - TV - 2
9 - TV TV - 2
10 - - - - 0
Viewing/week 4 4 5 4 17
Reach After 4 days – 80%
Frequency
• Rate of exposure is called frequency.
• Reach is single exposure
• Frequency estimates the number of times the exposure is expected to happen.
Average Frequency
• Based on GRP and estimated reach
• Average frequency = GRP/ Reach(%)
• An ad has a GRP of 150, reach (%) is 30%– Average Frequency = 150/30 = 5
Cost efficiency
• Measuring target audience size against the cost of that audience is called efficiency or CPM (Cost per thousand) and CPR (Cost per rating point)
• CPM – used to measure one media vehicle against a similar media vehicle e.g. one magazine against another magazine
• CPR – Comparing media vehicles based on their ratings
• CPM = Cost of message unit / Gross impressions * 1000
e.g. CPM = 50,000/60,000 *1000 = 833.33
• CPR = Cost of message unit / Rating
e.g. 70,000/15 = 4666.66