digital marketing for designers
TRANSCRIPT
Digital Marketing For DESIGNERS
Tim Robertson RGD
Context
BrainCalifornia
Hollywood
Ideas Your Clients Will
Love
bottle of scotch and $18 Billion
Brand
Brand Evolution
LogoBrand
Promise
Brand Values
Brand Personality
The Design Continuum
Brand
Collateral
PPC
Sales FunnelsLead
MagnetContent
Marketing
Social Media Advertising
Social Media Campaigns
Sales Material
Websites
Apps
White Papers
PDFs
Webinars
PPTs
Landing Pages
Videos
Sales Videos
Product Videos
ReportsBlog
Context
BrainCalifornia
Hollywood
Ideas Your Clients Will
Love
bottle of scotch and $18 Billion
Logical Reasonable Rational
Analytical
Emotional
Planning, Concepts, Abstract Thinking
Neocortex
Social Emotional
Mid Brain (Limbic)
“Croc” Brain (Reptilian)
Shiny Object
Designing pitch here!
Designed pitch with Croc brain in mind
• Limited Processing Power • Short Attention Span • New Ideas - threat! • Radically Summarizes • Survival
Characteristics of the Croc Brain
• Fast or Moving • Novel • Concrete • Visual • High Contrast
Croc Brain Likes
• Link Bait • Lead Magnets • Sticky Headlines • Intriguing Offer
Croc Brain Likes
Context
BrainCalifornia
Hollywood
Ideas Your Clients Will
Love
bottle of scotch and $18 Billion
$500M
Context
BrainCalifornia
Hollywood
Ideas Your Clients Will
Love
bottle of scotch and $18 Billion
Glengarry Glen Ross
Alec Baldwin
Sales Process
“Um…”
Sales ProcessCollateral
PPC
Sales FunnelsLead
MagnetContent
Marketing
Social Media Advertising
Social Media Campaigns
Sales Material
Websites
Apps
White Papers
PDFs
Webinars
Landing Pages
Videos
Sales Videos
Product Videos
ReportsBlog
PPTs
Collateral
PPC
Sales FunnelsLead
Magnet
Social Media Campaigns
Sales Material
Websites
Apps
White Papers
PDFs
PPTs
Landing Pages
Lead Magnet
Social Media Advertising
Sales Process
Webinar Demo Sale
Social Media Advertising Videos
Webinars
Sales Videos
Product Videos
Content Marketing Reports
Blog
Collateral
PPC
Sales FunnelsLead
Magnet
Social Media Campaigns
Sales Material
Websites
Apps
White Papers
PDFs
PPTs
Landing Pages
White Paper
Landing Page
Sales Process
Product Video
Trial Sale
Social Media Advertising Videos
Webinars
Sales Videos
Product Videos
Content Marketing Reports
Blog
Collateral
PPC
Sales FunnelsLead
Magnet
Social Media Campaigns
Sales Material
Websites
Apps
White Papers
PDFs
PPTs
Landing Pages
Lead Magnet
Social Media Campaign
Sales Process
Sales Video
Sample Subscription
Social Media Advertising Videos
Webinars
Sales Videos
Product Videos
Content Marketing Reports
Blog
Sales Process Problems• Not mapped out (no schematic) • Elements that are incomplete • Order is wrong, or broken • No ownership • Inconsistent branding
Sales Process is Important!
• Gets Leads!
• Gets Sales!
• Generates Revenue!
• Grows the Company!
Prospect
Lead Client/
Customer
Qualified Lead
Optin
SOLD
Opt-In
Sale
A step closer !
!
Conversion Rate 15%
That step closer is a “conversion”
!
Sale
Upworthy
This Kid Just Died. What He Left Behind Is Wondtacular.
Zachary Sobiek“My Last Days”
Croc
yep!
Mid
$$
Neocortex
$$$
Sale
“Organic”“Paid Traffic”
Prospects
Traffic
Landing Page
Sale
Opt-In Newsletter
Sale
Sale
Quiz
Sale
Webinar
Sale
Trial
Sale
why are all the women wearing
blue pants?
Consistency Increases Conversion
Rates!
?
AD
Landing Page
Word
News Letter
WebinarPPT
Website Email Book Room
EcoLodge
Website
Sales Video
Webinar
DemoSale
Ad Landing Page
Newsletter
EcoLodge
Accounting Software Platform
Book Room
Amazon Book
Website
Sales Video
Sales Page
Webinar
Quiz
DemoSale
Book Room
Ad Landing Page
Newsletter
Free TrialSubscription
EcoLodge
Golf Instruction Course
Accounting Software Platform
3What is…?
“Um…”
Lifetime Customer ValueRoughly defined, LCV is the projected revenue that a customer will generate during their lifetime.
Investment Advisor
$1800 x 10 = $18,000
Customer Acquisition CostFor example, if a company spent $100 on marketing in a year and acquired 100 customers in the same year, their CAC is $1.00.
Investment Advisor
$10,000 on Marketing 10 Customers = $1,000
Conversion Rate (of Anything)
Context
BrainCalifornia
Hollywood
Ideas Your Clients Will
Love
bottle of scotch and $18 Billion
50
1,000
Report
50
Mailing List
Conversion Rate: 5%
1,000 Conversion Rate: 30%
“Croc” Brain (Reptilian)
Shiny Object
300
1,000
300 Mailing List
Conversion Rate: 30%
Lead Magnet
Social Emotional
Mid Brain (Limbic)
300 100
1,000
$7
300 Mailing List
Conversion Rate: 30%
$700 Sales
Killer Problem Solver
Lead Magnet
Planning, Concepts, Abstract Thought
Neocortex
300 100 30
1,000
$7 $3,000
300 Mailing List
Conversion Rate: 30%
$700 Sales $90,000 Sales
Core Product
Killer Problem Solver
Lead Magnet
300 100 30
1,000
$7 $2000
300 Mailing List
Conversion Rate: 30%
$700 Sales $60,000 Sales
300 100 30
1,000
$3.00 $450
300 Downloads
Conversion Rate: 30%
$300 Sales $13,500 Bookings
Weekend Offer
Insiders Guide Kindle
Apple Google Play
Guide
Context
BrainCalifornia
Hollywood
Ideas Your Clients Will
Love
bottle of scotch and $18 Billion
Logo
Client
Logo
Tim Client
Logo
PPT
Tim Client
Logo
PPT
“By the way…what is your
SALES PROCESS?
Tim Client
“Do you have a
Mailing List?
Tim Client
Tim Client
!
40,000 “Yes..I believe it’s
..or something like that.”
Tim Client
“How about doing an online course?”
“It’s not
40,000 it’s actually
400,000!”
Tim
• Newsletter • Free E-Book • MP3 Download - $ • Online Course - $$ • Live Seminar Training - $$$ • Personal Coaching - $$$$
Product Ladder
!
1,200,000!”
“It’s not
400,000 it’s actually
1,200,000 x $15,000
$18Billion
Tim
$$$$$$
20%!
“By the way…what is your
SALES PROCESS?
Question .