making advocacy pay: understanding the link between activism & giving
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Making Advocacy Pay
Understanding the Link Between Activism and Giving
Presented by: Vinay Bhagat, Convio Yvonne Garrett, OMP
Randy Paynter, Care2.com Ryann Miller, Care2.com
March 24, 2011
For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300 Meeting Number: 668 671 770
Using • Chat & Raise hand • If you are having internet audio problems, you
can dial-in using a landline: 1-408-792-6300, Meeting Number: 668 671 770 • If you lose your internet connection, reconnect
using the link emailed to you • WebEx Support: 1-866-229-3239
For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300 Meeting Number: 668 671 770
• This webinar is being recorded. • The webinar recording will be available on
Frogloop blog at http://www.frogloop.com • You will receive a link to this presentation
following the webinar. • Tweeting the webinar? Use Twitter hashtag: #Care2
For Audio Call: 1-408-792-6300 Meeting Number: 668 671 770
Agenda
• What is online advocacy? • What does advocacy have to do with
fundraising? • How does it work? • Making the economic case.
What is online advocacy?
Advocacy – The active support of an idea or cause etc.; especially the act of pleading or arguing for something
Defini'on from: wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
What does advocacy have to do with fundraising?
Advocacy starts the conversation.
NRDC Activist Conversion
Finding New Supporters
• 73,000 new wolf activists through paid and organic sources
• $40,000 spent on paid sources
One Year Later…
• 31,000 took another action
• 700 converted to donors online
• 1,325 converted to donors via mail
• Break even – 15 months
Advocacy builds relationships.
Actions Increased Donor Value
Advocacy keeps donors engaged.
Analysis of Advocacy’s Impact on Fundraising
Activists: 2+ actions Sept – Nov = 4x more likely to give at year end
Emails Action TakersOnline
ConversionOffline
Conversion UnsubsMoved into 2+, Highly Responsive: 6,172 9.0% 1.0% 0.2% 1.9%Stayed in L: 88,293 0.7% 0.2% 0.1% 2.0%
Prior 2+ Action Takers: 66,239 12.2% 1.0% 0.3% 1.9%
Moved into L: 30,817 2.3% 0.4% 0.1% 3.7%
Donors: 2+ actions Sept – Nov = 26% more income at year end
Emails Action TakersOnline
ConversionOffline
Conversion UnsubsMoved into 2+, Highly Responsive: 6,172 9.0% 1.0% 0.2% 1.9%Stayed in L: 88,293 0.7% 0.2% 0.1% 2.0%
Prior 2+ Action Takers: 66,239 12.2% 1.0% 0.3% 1.9%
Moved into L: 30,817 2.3% 0.4% 0.1% 3.7%
How Does it Work?
Activist Relationship Management
Recruit Engage Convert
Deepen
Recruit • Be thoughtful about form of ask
– Pledge vs. contact your legislator – Constituent relevance
• Multiple venues in addition to your website – Paid online (e.g. Care2) – Social media – In the field
• Strong user experience
• Viral marketing including social media
Engage • Acknowledge returning Web visitors
• Send tailored updates/ stories
• Related appeals
• Multi-channel appeals - email, text, social
• Rewards/ incentives
Convert • Campaign specific donation forms
• Email welcome/ conversion series
• Follow up in timely fashion with mail, TM
• Apply filters to prioritize investment
• Select appeals based on advocacy actions
Website Activist to Donor Conversion
Food for Thought
• Major donors frequently active
• It’s increasingly critical to track messaging intensity/congruency across programs and channels
Making the Economic Case
Online Advocacy Increases Dona2ons
No Online Ac2on Took Ac2on Online
.07%
.47%
Source: : Charitable Memberships, Volunteering and Discounts: Evidence from a Large‐Scale Online Field Experiment. May 2009, Na2onal Bureau of Economic Research, A. Lange, A. Stocking. Sample size = > 700,000 subjects.
How do you measure economic value?
• Time to pay back investment • Cost per donor • Cost per dollar raised • Return on Investment
Online Recruitment: It’s a Relationship
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Cumulative Donation Income (over 36 months)
Source: M&R Strategic Services
Return on Investment = Lifetime Value!
* * Source: 2010 Convio Online Benchmark Study of roughly 300 nonprofits. Email addresses are “usable” only (approx 50% of total addresses) Years 2 through 5 assume 50% per year drop off in donations.
Annual Donations
Human & Social
Services
Environ-ment & Wildlife
Public Affairs
Animal Welfare ALL
Year 1* $17.18 $4.81 $3.36 $15.91 $11.68
Year 2 $8.59 $2.41 $1.68 $7.96 $5.84
Year 3 $4.30 $1.20 $0.84 $3.98 $2.92
Year 4 $2.15 $0.60 $0.42 $1.99 $1.46
Year 5 $1.07 $0.30 $0.21 $0.99 $0.73
Avg Lifetime Value Per Email $33.29 $9.32 $6.51 $30.83 $22.63
Value of an Email Address
Online Recruitment: Multi-Channel Returns
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Cumulative Donation Income
Online Direct Mail Telemarketing
Source: M+R Strategic Services
Fully Load Your Expenses • Direct Expenses
– Campaign costs (fixed and variable) – Search Engine Marketing (SEM) – Email appends – etc.
• Indirect Expenses – Consultants (fixed and variable) – Social Media Outreach (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) – etc.
The True “Cost per Lead” If I spent $1,000 to acquire 1,000 new leads, I spent $1.00 per lead. Great price! But what if… • 100 leads have bad addresses; and 200 leads unsubscribe within first 3 mo. • Now I’ve only got 700 leads, so the real cost per lead rises to 1,000/700 = $1.42 And what if… • Only 30% are opening my message. • Now I’ve got only 210 active leads, and the real cost per lead is 1,000/210 = $4.76 And what if… • Only 10% of these people click through and only 10% of those donate? • Then I paid $1,000 to buy two (2) donors, and my true cost (“Investment”) was $500
per donor.
Quality Matters!
List Growth: Speed vs. Value
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Low Quality
High Quality
Rapid Growth (>10k/month)
Targeted List Swaps
Niche site e.g. Democrats.com
Google Adwords
Collecting Opt-ins on your site
Banner Advertising
Social Networks Canvassing
Name Acquisition Large, General Audience
List Append
Paid Acquisition from targeted audiences
Viral Campaigns
Slow Growth (<1k/month)
Calculate the Value of your Leads
SocialNetworkCalculator.com
Ryann Miller Director, Nonprofit Services 416-651-9098 ryannm@care2team.com
Randy Paynter CEO & Founder, Care2 randy@care2team.com
Yvonne Garrett Partner, OMP ygarrett@OMPDirect.com
Vinay Bhagat Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, Convio vinay@convio.com
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