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1 Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics 2.1 Overview of Techniques 2.2 Data Management 2.3 Data Difficulties 2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer 2.5 Honest Assessment 2.6 Methodology 2.7 Recommended Reading

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1

Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics

2.1 Overview of Techniques

2.2 Data Management

2.3 Data Difficulties

2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer

2.5 Honest Assessment

2.6 Methodology

2.7 Recommended Reading

2

Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics

2.1 Overview of Techniques2.1 Overview of Techniques

2.2 Data Management

2.3 Data Difficulties

2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer

2.5 Honest Assessment

2.6 Methodology

2.7 Recommended Reading

3

Objectives Name two major types of data mining analyses. List techniques for supervised and unsupervised

analyses.

4

Analytical MethodologyA methodology clarifies the purpose and implementation of analytics.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and Repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

5

Business Analytics and Data MiningData mining is a key part of effective business analytics.

Components of data mining: data management data management data management customer segmentation predictive modeling forecasting standard and nonstandard statistical modeling

practices

6

What Is Data Mining? Information Technology

– complicated database queries Machine Learning

– inductive learning from examples Statistics

– what we were taught not to do

7

Translation for This CourseSegmentation Unsupervised classification

– cluster analysis– association rules

other techniques

Predictive Modeling Supervised classification

– linear regression– logistic regression– decision trees

other techniques

8

Customer SegmentationSegmentation is a vague term with many meanings.

Segments can be based on the following: a priori judgment

– alike based on business rules, not based on data analysis

unsupervised classification– alike with respect to several

attributes supervised classification

– alike with respect to a target, defined by a set of inputs

9

Segmentation: Unsupervised Classification

case 1:

inputs, ? case 2: inputs, ? case 3: inputs, ? case 4: inputs, ? case 5: inputs, ?

Training Data

new case

new case

case 1: inputs, cluster 1 case 2: inputs, cluster 3 case 3: inputs, cluster 2 case 4: inputs, cluster 1 case 5: inputs, cluster 2

Training Data

10

Segmentation: A Selection of Methods

k-means clustering Association rules

(Market basket analysis)

Barbie Candy

Beer Diapers

Peanut butter Meat

11

Predictive Modeling: Supervised Classification

case 1: inputs prob class case 2: inputs prob class case 3: inputs prob class case 4: inputs prob class case 5: inputs prob class

Training Data

new case

new case

12

Predictive Modeling: Supervised Classification

......

......

......

......

......

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Inputs

Cases

Target

...

...

13

2.01 PollThe primary difference between supervised and unsupervised classification is whether a dependent, or target, variable is known.

Yes

No

14

2.01 Poll – Correct AnswerThe primary difference between supervised and unsupervised classification is whether a dependent, or target, variable is known.

Yes

No

15

Types of Targets Logistic Regression

– event/no event (binary target)– class label (multiclass problem)

Regression– continuous outcome

Survival Analysis– time-to-event (possibly censored)

16

Discrete Targets Health Care

– target = favorable/unfavorable outcome Credit Scoring

– target = defaulted/did not default on a loan Marketing

– target = purchased product A, B, C, or none

17

Continuous Targets Health Care Outcomes

– target = hospital length of stay, hospital cost Liquidity Management

– target = amount of money at an ATM machine or in a branch vault

Merchandise Returns– target = time between purchase and return

(censored)

18

Application: Target Marketing Cases = customers, prospects, suspects,

households Inputs = geographics, demographics,

psychometrics, RFM variables Target = response to a past or test solicitation Action = target high-responding segments

of customers in future campaigns

19

Application: Attrition Prediction/Defection Detection Cases = existing customers Inputs = payment history, product/service

usage, demographics

Target = churn, brand switching, cancellation, defection

Action = customer loyalty promotion

20

Application: Fraud Detection Cases = past transaction or claims Inputs = particulars and circumstances Target = fraud, abuse, deception Action = impede or investigate suspicious

cases

21

Application: Credit Scoring Cases = past applicants Inputs = application information, credit bureau

reports Target = default, charge-off, serious

delinquency,repossession, foreclosure

Action = accept or reject future applicants forcredit

22

The Fallacy of Univariate ThinkingWhat is the most important cause of churn?

Prob(churn)

InternationalUsage

DaytimeUsage

23

A Selection of Modeling Methods

Linear Regression,Logistic Regression

DecisionTrees

24

Transactions

Hard Target Search

...

25

Transactions

Hard Target Search

Fraud

26

Undercoverage

AcceptedGood

RejectedNo Follow-up

AcceptedBad

...

27

Undercoverage

AcceptedGood

RejectedNo Follow-up

AcceptedBad

NextGeneration

28

2.02 PollImpediments to high-quality business data can lie in the very nature of business decision-making: the worst prospects are not marketed to. Therefore, information about the sort of customer that they would be (profitable or unprofitable) is usually unknown, making supervised classification more difficult.

Yes

No

29

2.02 Poll – Correct AnswerImpediments to high-quality business data can lie in the very nature of business decision-making: the worst prospects are not marketed to. Therefore, information about the sort of customer that they would be (profitable or unprofitable) is usually unknown, making supervised classification more difficult.

Yes

No

30

Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics

2.1 Overview of Techniques

2.2 Data Management2.2 Data Management

2.3 Data Difficulties

2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer

2.5 Honest Assessment

2.6 Methodology

2.7 Recommended Reading

31

Objectives Explain the concept of data integration. Describe SAS Enterprise Guide and how it fits in with

data integration and management for business analytics.

32

Data Management and Business AnalyticsData management brings together data components that can exist on multiple machines, from different software vendors, throughout the organization.

Data management is the foundation for business analytics. Without correctly consolidated data, those working in the analytics, reporting, and solutions areas might not be working with the most current, accurate data.

Advanced Analytics

Basic Analytics

Reporting

33

Managing Data for Business Analytics Business analytics requires data management

activities such as data access, movement, transformation, aggregation, and augmentation.

These tasks can involve many different types of data (for example, simple flat files, files with comma-separated values, Microsoft Excel files, SAS tables, and Oracle tables).

The data likely combines individual transactions, customer summaries, product summaries, or other levels of data granularity – or some combination of those things.

34

Planning from the Top Down

What data will help you answer these questions?

What mission-critical questions must be answered?

What data do you havethat will help you buildthe needed data?

35

Implementing from the Bottom Up

Define Target Data

Identify Source Data

Create Reports

36

Collaboration Is Key to Business Analytics

Business Expert IT Expert Analytical Expert

37

Data Marts: Tying Questions to DataStated simplistically, data marts are implemented at organizations because there are questions that must be answered.

Data is typically collected in daily operations but might not be organized in a way that answers the questions.

An IT professional can use the questions and the data collected from daily operations to construct the tables for a data warehouse or data mart.

38

Building a Data MartFoundation of a Data Mart

Create target tables.

Identify target tables.

Identify source tables.

Building the foundation of the data mart consists of the three basic steps listed above.

39

Analytic Objective Example

39

From a population of existing clients with sufficient tenure and other qualifications, identify a subset most likely to have interest in an insurance investment product (INS).

Business:

Objective:

Large financial institution

40

Financial Institution’s DataThe financial institution has highly detailed data that is challenging to transform into a structure suitable for predictive modeling. As is the case with most organizations, the financial institution has a large amount of data about its customers, products, and employees. Much of this information is stored in transactional systems in various formats.

Using SAS Enterprise Guide, this transactional information is extracted, transformed, and loaded into a data mart for the Marketing Department.

You continue to work with this data set for some basic exploratory analysis and reporting.

41

A Target Star SchemaOne goal of creating a data mart is to produce, from the source data, a dimensional data model that is a star schema.

Fact TableProduct

Dimension

TimeDimension

OrganizationDimension

CustomerDimension

42

Financial Institution Target Star SchemaThe analyst can produce, from the financial institution’s source data, a dimensional data model that is a star schema.

CheckingFact Table

InsuranceDimension

Credit BureauDimension

CustomerDimension

43

Checking_transactions Table The checking_transactions table contains the following attributes, one per a record fact.

This fact contains some measured or observed variables.

The fact table contains the data, and the dimensions identify each tuple in the data.

CHECKING_ID

CHKING_TRANS_DT

CHKING_TRANS_AMT

CHKING_TRANS_CHANNEL_CD

CHKING_TRANS_METHOD_CD

CHKING_TRANS_TYPE_CD

44

Client Table The client table contains client information.

In practice, this data set could also contain address and other information.

For this demonstration, only CLIENT_ID, FST_NM, LST_NM, ORIG_DT, BIRTH_DT, and ZIP_5are used.

CLIENT_ID

FST_NM

LST_NM

ORIG_DT

BIRTH_DT

ZIP_5

45

Client_ins_account Table The client_ins_account table matches client IDs to INS account IDs.

CLIENT_ID

CLIENT_INS_ID

46

Ins_account Table The ins_account table contains the insurance account information.

In practice, this data set would contain other fields such as rates, maturity dates, and initial deposit amount.

For this demonstration, only INS_ACT_ID and INS_ACT_OPEN_DT are used.

INS_ACT_ID

INS_ACT_OPEN_DT

47

Credit_bureau Table The credit_bureau table contains credit bureau information.

In practice, this data set could contain credit scores from more than one credit bureau and also a history of credit scores.

CLIENT_ID

TL_CNT

FST_TL_TR

FICO_CR_SCR

CREDIT_YQ

48

Advantages of Data Marts There is one version of the truth. Downstream tables are updated as source data is

updated, so analyses are always based on the latest information.

The problem of a proliferation of spreadsheets is avoided.

Information is clearly identified by standardized variable names and data types.

Multiple users can access the same data.

49

SAS Enterprise Guide OverviewSAS Enterprise Guide can be used for data management, as well as a wide variety of other tasks: data exploration querying and reporting graphical analysis statistical analysis scoring

50

Example: Financial Institution Data ManagementThe head of Marketing wants to know which customers have the highest propensity for buying insurance products from the institution.

This could present a cross-selling opportunity.

Create part of an analytical data mart by combining information from many tables: checking account data, customer records, insurance data, and credit bureau information.

51

Input Filesclient_ins_account.sas7bdat

credit_bureau.sas7bdat

ins_account.sas7dbat

client.sas7bdat

52

Final Data

53

A Data Management Process Using SAS Enterprise Guide

Financial Institution Case Study

Task: Join several SAS tables and use separate sampling to obtain a training data set.

54

Exploring the Data and Creating a ReportInvestigate the distribution of credit scores. Create a report of credit scores by customers without

insurance and customers with insurance.

Does age have an influence on credit scores? Which customers have the highest credit scores, young customers or older customers? Create a graph of credit scores by age.

55

Exploratory Analysis

56

Exploring the Data and Creating a Basic Report

Financial Institution Case Study

Task: Investigate the distribution of credit scores by creating a report of credit scores by customers without insurance and customers with insurance.

57

Graphical Exploration

Financial Institution Case Study

Task: Create a graph of credit scores by age.

58

Idea Exchange What conclusions would you draw from this basic data

exploration? Are there additional plots or reports that you would like to explore from the orders data to help you better understand your customers and their propensity to buy insurance?

What additional data would you need to help you make a case to the head of the Marketing Department that marketing dollars should be spent in a particular way?

59

Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics

2.1 Overview of Techniques

2.2 Data Management

2.3 Data Difficulties2.3 Data Difficulties

2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer

2.5 Honest Assessment

2.6 Methodology

2.7 Recommended Reading

60

Objectives Identify several of the challenges of data mining and

present ways to address these challenges.

61

Initial Challenges in Data Mining1. What do I want to predict?

2. What level of granularity is needed to obtain data about the customer?

...

62

Initial Challenges in Data Mining1. What do I want to predict?

a transaction an individual a household a store a sales team

2. What level of granularity is needed to obtain data about the customer?

...

63

Initial Challenges in Data Mining1. What do I want to predict?

a transaction an individual a household a store a sales team

2. What level of granularity is needed to obtain data about the customer? transactional regional daily monthly other

64

2.03 Multiple Answer PollWhich of the following might constitute a case in a predictive model?

a. a household

b. loan amount

c. an individual

d. the number of products purchased

e. a company

f. a ZIP code

g. salary

65

2.03 Multiple Answer Poll – Correct AnswersWhich of the following might constitute a case in a predictive model?

a. a household

b. loan amount

c. an individual

d. the number of products purchased

e. a company

f. a ZIP code

g. salary

66

Typical Data Mining Time Line

Projected:

Actual:

Dreaded:

Needed:

Data Preparation Data Analysis

Allotted Time

(Data Acquisition)

67

Data ChallengesWhat identifies a unit?

68

ID1 ID2 DATE JOB SEX FIN PRO3 CR_T ERA

2612 624 941106 06 8 DEC . . .2613 625 940506 04 5 ETS . . .2614 626 940809 11 5 PBB . . .2615 627 941010 16 1 RVC . . .2616 628 940507 04 2 ETT . . .2617 629 940812 09 1 OFS . . .2618 630 950906 09 2 RFN 71 612 12 2618 631 951107 13 2 PBB 0 623 232619 632 950112 10 5 SLP 0 504 042620 633 950802 11 1 STL 34 611 112620 634 950908 06 0 DES 0 675 752620 635 950511 01 1 DLF 0 608 08

Cracking the CodeWhat identifies a unit?

69

Data ChallengesWhat should the data look like to perform an analysis?

70

Data ArrangementWhat should the data look like to perform an analysis?

Acct type

2133 MTG2133 SVG2133 CK

2653 CK2653 SVG

3544 MTG3544 CK3544 MMF3544 CD3544 LOC

Acct CK SVG MMF CD LOC MTG

2133 1 1 0 0 0 1

2653 1 1 0 0 0 0

3544 1 0 1 1 1 1

Long-Narrow

Short-Wide

71

Data ChallengesWhat variables do I need?

72

Derived InputsWhat variables do I need?

Claim Accident Date Time

11nov96 102396/12:38

22dec95 012395/01:42

26apr95 042395/03:05

02jul94 070294/06:25

08mar96 123095/18:33

15dec96 061296/18:12

09nov94 110594/22:14

Delay Season Dark

19 fall 0

333 winter 1

3 spring 1

0 summer 0

69 winter 0

186 summer 0

4 fall 1

73

Data ChallengesHow do I convert my data to the proper level of granularity?

74

Roll-UpHow do I convert my data to the proper level of granularity?

HH Acct Sales

4461 2133 1604461 2244 424461 2773 2124461 2653 2504461 2801 122

4911 3544 786

5630 2496 458 5630 2635 328

6225 4244 276225 4165 759

HH Acct Sales

4461 2133 ?

4911 3544 ?

5630 2496 ?

6225 4244 ?

75

Rolling Up Longitudinal DataHow do I convert my data to the proper level of granularity?

Frequent Flying VIP Flier Month Mileage Member

10621 Jan 650 No

10621 Feb 0 No

10621 Mar 0 No

10621 Apr 250 No

33855 Jan 350 No

33855 Feb 300 No

33855 Mar 1200 Yes

33855 Apr 850 Yes

76

Data ChallengesWhat sorts of raw data quality problems can I expect?

77

cking #cking ADB NSF dirdep SVG bal

Y 1 468.11 1 1876 Y 1208 Y 1 68.75 0 0 Y 0 Y 1 212.04 0 6 0 . . 0 0 Y 4301 y 2 585.05 0 7218 Y 234 Y 1 47.69 2 1256 238 Y 1 4687.7 0 0 0 . . 1 0 Y 1208 Y . . . 1598 0 1 0.00 0 0 0 Y 3 89981.12 0 0 Y 45662 Y 2 585.05 0 7218 Y 234

Errors, Outliers, and MissingsWhat sorts of raw data quality problems can I expect?

78

Missing Value ImputationWhat sorts of raw data quality problems can I expect?

Cases

Inputs

?

?

?

?

?

?

??

?

79

Data ChallengesCan I (more importantly, should I) analyze all the data that I have?

All the observations?

All the variables?

80

Massive DataCan I (more importantly, should I) analyze all the data that I have?

Kilobyte

Megabyte

Gigabyte

Terabyte

Petabyte

Bytes

210

220

230

240

250

Paper

½ sheet

1 ream

167 feet

32 miles

32,000 miles

81

SamplingCan I (more importantly, should I) analyze all the data that I have?

82

OversamplingCan I (more importantly, should I) analyze all the data that I have?

OK

Fraud

83

The Curse of DimensionalityCan I (more importantly, should I) analyze all the data that I have?

1-D

2-D

3-D

84

Dimension ReductionCan I (more importantly, should I) analyze all the data that I have?

Inpu

t 3

Input1

Redundancy

Input 2Input1

E(T

arge

t)

Irrelevancy

85

2.04 Multiple Answer PollWhich of the following statements are true?

a. The more data you can get, the better.

b. Too many variables can make it difficult to detect patterns in data.

c. Too few variables can make it difficult to learn interesting facts about the data.

d. Cases with missing values should generally be deleted from modeling.

86

2.04 Multiple Answer Poll – Correct AnswersWhich of the following statements are true?

a. The more data you can get, the better.

b. Too many variables can make it difficult to detect patterns in data.

c. Too few variables can make it difficult to learn interesting facts about the data.

d. Cases with missing values should generally be deleted from modeling.

87

Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics

2.1 Overview of Techniques

2.2 Data Management

2.3 Data Difficulties

2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer

2.5 Honest Assessment

2.6 Methodology

2.7 Recommended Reading

88

Objectives Describe the basic navigation of SAS Enterprise Miner.

88

89

SAS Enterprise Miner

90

SAS Enterprise Miner – Interface Tour

Menu bar and shortcut buttons

91

SAS Enterprise Miner – Interface Tour

Project panel

92

SAS Enterprise Miner – Interface Tour

Properties panel

93

SAS Enterprise Miner – Interface Tour

Help panel

94

SAS Enterprise Miner – Interface Tour

Diagram workspace

95

SAS Enterprise Miner – Interface Tour

Process flow

96

SAS Enterprise Miner – Interface Tour

Node

97

SAS Enterprise Miner – Interface Tour

SEMMA tools palette

98

Catalog Case StudyAnalysis Goal:

A mail-order catalog retailer wants to save money on mailing and increase revenue by targeting mailed catalogs to customers who are most likely to purchase in the future.

Data set: CATALOG2010

Number of rows: 48,356

Number of columns: 98

Contents: sales figures summarized across departments and quarterly totals for 5.5 years of sales

Targets: RESPOND (binary)

ORDERSIZE (continuous)

99

Catalog Case Study: BasicsThroughout this chapter, you work with data in SAS Enterprise Miner to perform exploratory analysis.

1. Import the CATALOG2010 data.

2. Identify the target variables.

3. Define and transform the variables for use in RFM analysis.

4. Perform graphical RFM analysis in SAS Enterprise Miner.

Later, you use the CATALOG2010 data for predictive modeling and scoring.

100

Accessing and Importing Data for ModelingFirst, get familiar with the data!

The data file is a SAS data set.

1.Create a project in SAS Enterprise Miner.

2.Create a diagram.

3.Locate and import the CATALOG2010 data.

4.Define characteristics of the data set, such as the variable roles and measurement levels.

5.Perform a basic exploratory analysis of the data.

101

Defining a Data Source

SASFoundation

ServerLibraries

ABA1

CATALOG data

MetadataDefinition

102

Metadata DefinitionSelect a table.

Set the metadata information.

Three purposes for metadata: Define variable roles (such as input, target, or ID). Define measurement levels (such as binary, interval,

or nominal). Define table role (such as raw data, transactional data,

or scoring data).

103

Creating Projects and Diagrams in SAS Enterprise Miner

Catalog Case Study

Task: Create a project and a diagram in SAS Enterprise Miner.

104

Defining a Data Source

Catalog Case Study

Task: Define the CATALOG data source in SAS Enterprise Miner.

105

Defining Column Metadata

Catalog Case Study

Task: Define column metadata.

106

Changing the Sampling Defaults in the Explore Window and Exploring a Data Source

Catalog Case Study

Tasks: Change preference settings in the Explore window and explore variable associations.

107

Idea ExchangeConsider an academic retention example. Freshmen enter a university in the fall term, and some of them drop out before the second term begins. Your job is to try to predict whether a student is likely to drop out after the first term.

continued...

108

Idea Exchange What types of variables would you consider using to

assess this question? How does time factor into your data collection? Do

inferences about students five years ago apply to students today? How do changes in technology, university policies, and teaching trends affect your conclusions?

continued...

109

Idea Exchange As an administrator, do you have this information?

Could you obtain it? What types of data quality issues do you anticipate?

Are there any ethical considerations in accessing the information in your study?

110

Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics

2.1 Overview of Techniques

2.2 Data Management

2.3 Data Difficulties

2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer

2.5 Honest Assessment2.5 Honest Assessment

2.6 Methodology

2.7 Recommended Reading

111

Objectives Explain the characteristics of a good predictive model. Describe data splitting. Discuss the advantages of using honest assessment

to evaluate a model and obtain the model with the best prediction.

112

Predictive Modeling Implementation Model Selection and Comparison

– Which model gives the best prediction? Decision/Allocation Rule

– What actions should be taken on new cases? Deployment

– How can the predictions be applied to new cases?

...

113

Predictive Modeling Implementation Model Selection and Comparison

– Which model gives the best prediction? Decision/Allocation Rule

– What actions should be taken on new cases? Deployment

– How can the predictions be applied to new cases?

114

Getting the “Best” Prediction: Fool’s Gold

My model fits thetraining data perfectly...

I’ve struck it rich!

115

2.05 PollThe best model is a model that does a good job of predicting your modeling data.

Yes

No

116

2.05 Poll – Correct AnswerThe best model is a model that does a good job of predicting your modeling data.

Yes

No

117

Model Complexity

...

118

Model Complexity

Too flexible

...

119

Model Complexity

Too flexible

...

120

Model Complexity

Too flexible

Just right

121

Data Splitting and Honest Assessment

122

Overfitting

Training Set Test Set

123

Better Fitting

Training Set Validation Set

124

Predictive Modeling Implementation Model Selection and Comparison

– Which model gives the best prediction? Decision/Allocation Rule

– What actions should be taken on new cases? Deployment

– How can the predictions be applied to new cases?

125

Decisions, Decisions

540

40

360

60

360

20

540

80

0

1

0 1

720

60

180

40

0

1

0

1

Predicted

Act

ual

CutoffAccuracy

.08

.10

.12

44%

60%

76%

Sensitivity

Lift

80%

60%

40%

1.3

1.4

1.8

126

Misclassification Costs

True Neg

False Pos

False Neg

True Pos

0

1

0 1

Predicted Class

Act

ual 0 1

9 0

OK

Fraud

Accept Deny

Action

127

Predictive Modeling Implementation Model Selection and Comparison

– Which model gives the best prediction? Decision/Allocation Rule

– What actions should be taken on new cases? Deployment

– How can the predictions be applied to new cases?

128

Scoring

Model Development

Model Deployment

129

Scoring Recipe The model results in

a formula or rules. The data requires

modifications.– Derived inputs– Transformations– Missing value

imputation

The scoring code is deployed.– To score, you do not

rerun the algorithm; apply score code (equations) obtained from the final model to the scoring data.

130

Scorability

X1

0

.2

.4

.6

.8

1

X20 .2 .4 .6 .8 1

Scoring CodeClassifier

If x1<.47and x2<.18or x1>.47and x2>.29,then red.

Tree

Training Data

New Case

131

Scoring Pitfalls: Population Drift

Data acquired

Data cleaned

Data analyzed

Model deployed

Data generated

Time

132

The Secret to Better Predictions

OK

Fraud

Transaction Amt.

Tim

e of

Day

...

133

The Secret to Better Predictions

OK

Fraud

Transaction Amt.

Tim

e of

Day

...

134

The Secret to Better Predictions

OK

Fraud

Transaction Amt.

Tim

e of

Day

Cheatin’Heart

135

Idea ExchangeThink of everything that you have done in the past week. What transactions or actions created data? For example, point-of-sale transactions, Internet activity, surveillance, and questionnaires are all data collection avenues that many people encounter daily. How do you think that the data about you will be used? How could models be deployed that use data about

you?

136

Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics

2.1 Overview of Techniques

2.2 Data Management

2.3 Data Difficulties

2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer

2.5 Honest Assessment

2.6 Methodology2.6 Methodology

2.7 Recommended Reading

137

Objectives Describe a methodology for implementing business

analytics through data mining. Discuss each of the steps, with examples, in the

methodology. Create a project and diagram in SAS Enterprise Miner.

138

MethodologyData mining is not a linear process. It is a cycle, where later results can lead back to previous steps.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

139

Why Have a Methodology? To avoid learning things that are not true To avoid learning things that are not useful

– results that arise from past marketing decisions– results that you already know– results that you already should know– results that you are not allowed to use

To create stable models To avoid making the mistakes that you made in the

past To develop useful tips from what you learned

140

Methodology1. Define the business objective and state it as a

data mining task.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

141

1) Define the Business Objective Improve the response rate for a direct

marketing campaign. Increase the average order size. Determine what drives customer acquisition. Forecast the size of the customer base in the future. Choose the right message for the right groups of

customers. Target a marketing campaign to maximize incremental

value. Recommend the next, best product for existing customers. Segment customers by behavior.

A lot of good statistical analysis is directed at solving the wrong business problem.

142

Define the Business GoalExample: Who is the yogurt lover? What is a yogurt lover? One answer prints coupons

at the cash register. Another answer mails coupons

to people’s homes. Another results in advertising.

143

Big Challenge: Defining a Yogurt Lover

LOW MEDIUM HIGH

LO

WM

ED

IUM

HIG

H

$$

Sp

en

t o

n Y

og

urt

Yogurt as %of All Purchases

“Yogurt lover” is not in the data.

You can impute it, using business rules: Yogurt lovers spend

a lot of money on yogurt.

Yogurt lovers spend a relatively large amount of their shopping dollars on yogurt.

144

Next Challenge: Profile the Yogurt LoverYou have identified a segment of customers that you believe are yogurt lovers.

But who are they? How would I know them in the store? Identify them by demographic data. Identify them by other things that they purchase (for

example, yogurt lovers are people who buy nutrition bars and sports drinks).

What action can I take? Set up “yogurt-lover-attracting” displays.

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Idea ExchangeIf a customer is identified as a yogurt lover, what action should you take? Should you give yogurt coupons, even though these individuals buy yogurt anyway? Is there a cross-sell opportunity? Is there an opportunity to identify potential yogurt lovers? What would you do?

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Profiling in the Extreme: Best BuyUsing analytical methodology, electronics retailer Best Buy discovered that a small percentage of customers accounted for a large percentage of revenue.

Over the past several years, the company has adopted a customer-centric approach to store design and flow, staffing, and even corporate acquisitions such as the Geek Squad support team.

The company’s largest competitor has gone bankrupt while Best Buy has seen growth in market share.

See Gulati (2010)

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Define the Business ObjectiveWhat Is the business objective?

Example: Telco Churn

Initial problem: Assign a churn score to all customers. Recent customers with little call history Telephones? Individuals? Families? Voluntary churn versus involuntary churn

How will the results be used?

Better objective: By September 24, provide a list of the 10,000 elite customers who are most likely to churn in October.

The new objective is actionable.

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Define the Business ObjectiveExample: Credit Churn

How do you define the target? When did a customer leave? When she has not made a new charge in six months? When she had a zero balance for three months? When the balance does not support the cost of carrying

the customer? When she cancels her card? When the contract ends?

Tenure (months)

0.0%

0.2%

0.4%

0.6%

0.8%

1.0%

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

3.0%

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Translate Business Objectives into Data Mining TasksDo you already know the answer?

In supervised data mining, the data has examples of what you are looking for, such as the following: customers who responded in the past customers who stopped transactions identified as fraud

In unsupervised data mining, you are looking for new patterns, associations, and ideas.

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Data Mining Tasks Lead to Specific Techniques

Customer Acquisition

Credit Risk

Pricing

Customer Churn

Fraud Detection

Discovery

Customer Value

Objectives

...

151

Data Mining Tasks Lead to Specific Techniques

Exploratory Data Analysis

Binary Response Modeling

Multiple Response Modeling

Estimation

Forecasting

Detecting Outliers

Pattern Detection

Customer Acquisition

Credit Risk

Pricing

Customer Churn

Fraud Detection

Discovery

Customer Value

TasksObjectives

...

152

Data Mining Tasks Lead to Specific Techniques

Decision Trees

Regression

Neural Networks

Survival Analysis

Clustering

Association Rules

Link Analysis

Hypothesis Testing

Visualization

Exploratory Data Analysis

Binary Response Modeling

Multiple Response Modeling

Estimation

Forecasting

Detecting Outliers

Pattern Detection

Customer Acquisition

Credit Risk

Pricing

Customer Churn

Fraud Detection

Discovery

Customer Value

TasksObjectives Techniques

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Data Analysis Is Pattern DetectionPatterns might not represent any underlying rule.

Some patterns reflect some underlying reality. The party that holds the White House tends to

lose seats in Congress during off-year elections.

Others do not. When the American League wins the World Series

in Major League Baseball, Republicans take the White House.

Stars cluster in constellations.

Sometimes, it is difficult to tell without analysis. In U.S. presidential contests, the taller candidate

usually wins.

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Example: Maximizing DonationsExample from the KDD Cup, a data mining competition associated with the KDD Conference (www.sigkdd.org): Purpose: Maximizing profit for a charity fundraising

campaign Tested on actual results from mailing (using data withheld

from competitors)

Competitors took multiple approaches to the modeling: Modeling who will respond Modeling how much people will give Perhaps more esoteric approaches

However, the top three winners all took the same approach (although they used different techniques, methods, and software).

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The Winning Approach:Expected Revenue

Task: Estimate responseperson, the probability that a person responds to the mailing (all customers).

Task: Estimate the value of response, dollarsperson (only customers who respond).

Choose prospects with the highest expected value,responseperson * dollarsperson.

Actual Donors

Actual Donors

Potential Donors

Potential Donors

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An Unexpected PatternAn unexpected pattern suggests an approach.

When people give money frequently, they tend to donate less money each time. In most business applications, as people take an action

more often, they spend more money. Donors to a charity are different.

This suggests that potential donors go through a two-step process: Shall I respond to this mailing? How much money should I give

this time?

Modeling can follow the same logic.

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Methodology2. Select or collect the appropriate data to address the

problem. Identify the customer signature.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

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2) Select Appropriate Data What is available? What is the right level of granularity? How much data is needed? How much history is required? How many variables should be used? What must the data contain?

Assemble results into customer signatures.

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Representativeness of the Training SampleThe model set might not reflect the relevant population. Customers differ from prospects. Survey responders differ from non-responders. People who read e-mail differ from people who do not

read e-mail. Customers who started three

years ago might differ from customers who started three months ago.

People with land lines differ from those without.

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Availability of Relevant Data Elevated printing defect rates might be due to humidity, but that information is not in press run records.

Poor coverage might be the number one reason for wireless subscribers canceling their subscriptions, but data about dropped calls is not in billing data.

Customers might already have potential cross-sell products from other companies, but that information is not available internally.

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Types of Attributes in DataReadily Supported Binary Categorical (nominal) Numeric (interval) Date and time

Require More Work Text Image Video Links

162

Idea ExchangeSuppose that you were in charge of a charity similar to the KDD example above. What type of data are you likely to have available before beginning the project? Is there additional data that you would need?

Do you have to purchase the data, or is it publicly available for free? How could you make the best use of a limited budget to acquire high quality data about individual donation patterns?

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The Customer Signature

The primary key uniquely identifies each row, often corresponding to customer ID.

A foreign key gives access to data in another table, such as ZIP code demographics.

The targetcolumns arewhat you arelooking for.Sometimes, theinformation is inmultiple columns, such as a churn flagand churn date.

Some columns are ignored because the values are not predictive or they contain future information, or for other reasons.

Each row generally corresponds to a customer.

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Data Assembly Operations

Pivoting

Aggregation

Table lookup

Summarizationof values from data

Derivation ofnew variables

Copying

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Methodology3. Explore the data. Look for anomalies. Consider time-

dependent variables. Identify key relationships among variables.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

166

3) Explore the DataExamine distributions. Study histograms. Think about extreme values. Notice the prevalence of missing values.

Compare values with descriptions.

Validate assumptions.

Ask many questions.

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Ask Many Questions Why were some customers active for 31 days in February, but

none were active for more than 28 days in January? How do some retail card holders spend more than $100,000

in a week in a grocery store? Why were so many customers born in 1911? Are they really

that old? Why do Safari users never make second purchases? What does it mean when the contract begin date is after the

contract end date? Why are there negative numbers in the sale price field? How can active customers have a non-null value in the

cancellation reason code field?

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Be Wary of Changes over TimeDoes the same code have the same meaning in historical data?

Did different data elements start being loaded at different points in time?

Did something happen at a particular point in time?

May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun

price complaint stops

Pric

e-re

late

d ca

ncel

atio

ns Price increase

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Methodology4. Prepare and repair the data. Define metadata correctly.

Partition the data and create balanced samples, if necessary.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

170

4) Prepare and Repair the Data Set up a proper temporal relationship

between the target variable and inputs. Create a balanced sample, if possible. Include multiple time frames if necessary. Split the data into training, validation, and (optionally)

test data sets.

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Temporal Relationship: Prediction or Profiling?The same techniques work for both.

In a predictive model, values of explanatoryvariables are from an earlier time frame than the target variable.

In a profiling model, the explanatory variables and the target variable might all be from the same time frame.

Earlier

Later

Same Time Frame

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Balancing the Input Data SetA very accurate model simply predicts that no one wants a brokerage account: 98.8% accurate 1.2% error rate

This is useless for differentiating among customers.

Distribution of Brokerage Target Variable

228,926

2,355

0 50,000 100,000 150,000 200,000 250,000

Brokerage = "N"

Brokerage = "Y"

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Two Ways to Create Balanced Data

174

Data Splitting and Validation

Improving the model causes the error rate to decline on the data used to build it. At the same time, the model becomes more complex.

Err

or R

ate

Models Getting More Complex

175

Validation Data Prevents Overfitting

Training Data

Validation DataSignal

Noise

Err

or R

ate

Models Getting More Complex

Sweet spot

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Partitioning the Input Data SetUse the training set to find patterns and create an initial set of candidate models.

Use the validation set to select the best model from the candidate set of models.

Use the test set to measure performance of the selected model on unseen data. The test set can be an out-of-time sample of the data, if necessary.

Partitioning data is an allowable luxury because data mining assumes a large amount of data.

Test sets do not help select the final model; they only provide an estimate of the model’s effectiveness in the population. Test sets are not always used.

TrainingTraining

ValidationValidation

TestTest

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Fix Problems with the DataData imperfectly describes the features of the real world. Data might be missing or empty. Samples might not be representative. Categorical variables might have too many values. Numeric variables might have unusual distributions

and outliers. Meanings can change over time. Data might be coded inconsistently.

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No Easy Fix for Missing ValuesThrow out the records with missing values? No. This creates a bias for the sample.

Replace missing values with a “special” value (-99)? No. This resembles any other value to a data mining algorithm.

Replace with some “typical” value? Maybe. Replacement with the mean, median, or mode changes

the distribution, but predictions might be fine.

Impute a value? (Imputed values should be flagged.) Maybe. Use distribution of values to randomly choose a value. Maybe. Model the imputed value using some technique.

Use data mining techniques that can handle missing values? Yes. One of these, decision trees, is discussed.

Partition records and build multiple models? Yes. This action is possible when data is missing for a

canonical reason, such as insufficient history.

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Methodology5. Transform data. Standardize, bin, combine, replace,

impute, log, and so on.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

180

5) Transform Data Standardize values into z-scores. Change counts into percentages. Remove outliers. Capture trends with ratios, differences, or beta values. Combine variables to bring information to the surface. Replace categorical variables with some numeric

function of the categorical values. Impute missing values. Transform using mathematical functions, such as logs. Translate dates to durations.

Example: Body Mass Index (kg/m2) is a better predictor of diabetes than either variable separately.

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A Selection of TransformationsStandardize numeric values. All numeric values are replaced by the notion of “how

far is this value from the average?” Conceptually, all numeric values are in the same range.

(The actual range differs, but the meaning is the same.) Although it sometimes has no effect on the results

(such as for decision trees and regression), it never produces worse results.

Standardization is so useful that it is often built into SAS Enterprise Miner modeling nodes.

182

A Selection of Transformations“Stretching” and “squishing” transformations Log, reciprocal, and square root are examples.

Replace categorical values with appropriate numeric values. Many techniques work better with numeric values than

with categorical values. Historical projections (such as handset churn rate or

penetration by ZIP code) are particularly useful.

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Methodology6. Apply analysis. Fit many candidate models, try different

solutions, try different sets of input variables, select the best model.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

184

6) Apply Analysis Regression Decision trees Cluster detection Association rules Neural networks Memory-based reasoning Survival analysis Link analysis Genetic algorithms

185

Train Models

MODEL 1 OUTPUT

Build candidate models by applying a data mining technique (or techniques) to the training data.

MODEL 2 OUTPUT

MODEL 3 OUTPUT

186

Assess Models

Assess models by applying the models to the validation data set.

MODEL 1 OUTPUT

MODEL 2 OUTPUT

MODEL 3 OUTPUT

187

Assess ModelsScore the validation data using the candidate models and then compare the results. Select the model with the best performance on the validation data set.

Communicate model assessments through quantitative measures graphs.

188

Look for Warnings in ModelsTrailing Indicators: Learning Things That Are Not True

What happens in month 8?

Does declining usage in month 8 predict attrition in month 9?

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Look for Warnings in ModelsPerfect Models: Things that are too good to be true.

100% of customers who spoke to a customer support representative canceled a contract.

Eureka! It’s all I need to know!

If a customer cancels, that customer is automatically flagged to get a call from customer support.

The information is useless in predicting cancellation.

Models that seem too good usually are.

190

Idea ExchangeWhat are some other warning signs that you can think of in modeling? Have you experienced any pitfalls that were memorable or that changed how you approach the data analysis objectives?

191

Methodology7. Deploy models. Score new observations, make model-

based decisions. Gather results of model deployment.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

192

7) Deploy Models and Score New Data

193

Methodology8. Assess the usefulness of the model. If the model has

gone stale, revise it.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

194

8) Assess Results Compare actual results against expectations. Compare the challenger’s results against

the champion’s. Did the model find the right people? Did the action affect their behavior? What are the characteristics of the customers

most affected by the intervention?

195

Good Test Design Measures the Impact of Both the Message and the Model

Control Group

Chosen at random; receives message.

Response measures message without model.

Target Group

Chosen by model; receives message.

Response measures message with model.

Holdout Group

Chosen at random; receives no message.

Response measures background response.

Modeled Holdout

Chosen by model; receives no message.

Response measures model without message.

Picked by Model

Mes

sage

NO

NO

YES

YE

SImpact of model on group getting message

Impact of message on group with good model scores

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Test Mailing ResultsE-mail campaign test results lift 3.5

E-Mail Test

0

0.1

0.2

0.3

0.4

0.5

0.6

0.7

0.8

Target Group Control Group Holdout Group

Res

po

nse

Rat

e

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Methodology9. As you learn from earlier model results, refine the

business goals to gain more from the data.

Select data

Define or refine business objective

Assess results

Deploy modelsExplore input

data

Prepare and repair data

Transform input data

Apply analysis

198

9) Begin AgainRevisit business objectives.

Define new objectives.

Gather and evaluate new data. model scores cluster assignments responses

Example:

A model discovers that geography is a good predictor of churn. What do the high-churn geographies have in common? Is the pattern your model discovered stable over time?

199

Lessons LearnedData miners must be careful to avoid pitfalls, particularly with regard to spurious patterns in the data: learning things that are not true or not useful confusing signal and noise creating unstable models

A methodology is a way of being careful.

200

Idea ExchangeOutline a business objective of your own in terms of the methodology described here.

What is your business objective? Can you frame it in terms of a data mining problem? How will you select the data? What are the inputs? What do you want to look at to get familiar with the data?

continued...

201

Idea ExchangeAnticipate any data quality problems that you might encounter and how you could go about fixing them.

Do any variables require transformation?

Proceed through the remaining steps of the methodology as you consider your example.

202

Basic Data ModelingA common approach to modeling customer value is RFM analysis, so named because it uses three key variables: Recency – how long it has been since the customer’s last

purchase Frequency – how many times the customer has purchased

something Monetary value – how much money the customer has

spent

RFM variables tend to predict responses to marketing campaigns effectively.

RFM is a special case of OLAP.

203

RFM Cell Approach

Recency

Frequency

Monetaryvalue

204

RFM Cell ApproachA typical approach to RFM analysis is to bin customers into (approximately) equal-sized groups on each of the rank-ordered R,F, and M variables. For example: Bin five groups on R (highest bin = most recent) Bin five groups on F (highest bin = most frequent) Bin five groups on M (highest bin = highest value)

The combination of the bins gives an RFM “score” that can be compared to some target or outcome variable.

Customer score 555 = most recent quintile, most frequent quintile, highest spending quintile.

205

Computing Profitability in RFMBreak-even response rate =

current cost of promotion per dollar of net profit.

Cost of promotion to an individual

Average net profit per sale

Example: It costs $2.00 to print and mail each catalog. Average net profit per transaction is $30.

2.00/30.00 = 0.067

Profitable RFM cells are those with a response rate greater than 6.7%.

206

RFM Analysis of the Catalog Data Recode recency so that the highest values are the

most recent. Bin the R, F, and M variables into five groups each,

numbered 1-5, so that 1 is the least valuable and 5 is the most valuable bin.

Concatenate the RFM variables to obtain a single RFM “score.”

Graphically investigate the response rates for the different groups.

207

Performing RFM Analysis of the Catalog Data

Catalog Case Study

Task: Perform RFM analysis on the catalog data.

208

Performing Graphical RFM Analysis

Catalog Case Study

Task: Perform graphical RFM analysis.

209

Limitations of RFMOnly uses three variables Modern data collection processes offer rich information about

preferences, behaviors, attitudes, and demographics.

Scores are entirely categorical 515 and 551 and 155 are equally good, if RFM variables are

of equal importance. Sorting by the RFM values is not informative and

overemphasizes recency.

So many categories The simple example above results in 125 groups.

Not very useful for finding prospective customers Statistics are descriptive.

210

Idea ExchangeWould RFM analysis apply to a business objective that you are considering? If so, what would be your R, F, and M variables?

What other basic analytical techniques could you use to explore your data and get preliminary answers to your questions?

211

Exercise ScenarioPractice with a charity direct mail example.

Analysis Goal:

A veteran’s organization seeks continued contributions from lapsing donors. Use lapsing donor response from an earlier campaign to predict future lapsing donor response.

211

...

212

Exercise ScenarioPractice with a charity direct mail example.

Analysis Goal:

A veteran’s organization seeks continued contributions from lapsing donors. Use lapsing donor response from an earlier campaign to predict future lapsing donor response.

Exercise Data (PVA97NK): The data is extracted from previous year’s campaign. The sample is balanced with regard to

response/non-response rate. The actual response rate is approximately 5%.

212

213

R, F, M Variables in the Charity Data SetIn the data set PVA97NK, the following variables should be used for RFM analysis:

GiftTimeLast Time since last gift (Recency)

GiftCntAll Gift count over all months (Frequency)

Monetary value must be computed as follows:

GiftAvgAll*GiftCntAll Average gift amount over lifetime * total gift count

Use SAS Enterprise Miner to create the RFM variables and bins, and then perform graphical RFM analysis.

213

214

Exercise

This exercise reinforces the concepts discussed previously.

215

Chapter 2: Basics of Business Analytics

2.1 Overview of Techniques

2.2 Data Management

2.3 Data Difficulties

2.4 SAS Enterprise Miner: A Primer

2.5 Honest Assessment

2.6 Methodology

2.7 Recommended Reading2.7 Recommended Reading

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Recommended ReadingDavenport, Thomas H., Jeanne G. Harris, and Robert Morison. 2010. Analytics at Work: Smarter Decisions, Better Results. Boston: Harvard Business Press. Chapters 2 through 6, the DELTA method

These chapters present a complementary perspective to this chapter on how to integrate analytics at various levels of the organization.